Author Topic: Connecting Airmar Chirp B175M transducer to Helix 10 MSI chirp g2n  (Read 930 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Luke20000

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Joined: Oct 2019
  • Location: Croatia
  • Posts: 5
  • Unit(s): Helix 10 chirp mega SI g2n. 797 SI
Hello All,

I have scrolled through the forum trying to find some info on the above subject but no luck. I do apologise if this was topic before. Is it possible to connect additional chirp transducer to my helix. I would like to add Airmar chirp b175m 1kW transducer. Can this be done via Y cable or transducer switch - my understanding is that they don't support chirp and/or MSI. Do I need ethernet box instead and then connect HB transducer through the ethernet and Airmar transducer into device?
Thank you.


Offline reso

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Joined: Mar 2009
  • Posts: 34
  • Unit(s): Matrix 37, 997 CSI,Helix 12 Chirp
  • Software: latest
  • Accessories: interlink, high accuracy gps,360 TM
Re: Connecting Airmar Chirp B175M transducer to Helix 10 MSI chirp g2n
« Reply #1 on: October 19, 2019, 07:08:48 PM »
I use a TM150 on my helix 12 chirp G1N and it works perfectly with the switch. Only downside is that you always have to go through the menus and select the non - HB transducer and set the chirp range manually. That takes time and is frustrating on the water.
Perhaps I will upgrade to a GN3 with better low Q chirp built in, but the price difference right now is too big to justify.

what i usually do now, is to use the 2D from the TM150 and the SI from my 360 transducer ,that way I dont need to select the hdsi again and go through all the menus every time. 360 SI uses a compact SI transducer so the image quality is a bit worse compared to the hdsi but perfectly suited for my fishing in coastal waters.






« Last Edit: October 19, 2019, 07:13:53 PM by reso »

Offline rnvinc

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Joined: Nov 2009
  • Location: Western KY
  • Posts: 3733
  • Unit(s): 1197c SI Combo, Onix 8ci SI Combo
  • Software: Dependent on whim
  • Accessories: AS GRHA, AS GPS HS, LowBird LSS 1 & 2

Offline Luke20000

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Joined: Oct 2019
  • Location: Croatia
  • Posts: 5
  • Unit(s): Helix 10 chirp mega SI g2n. 797 SI
Re: Connecting Airmar Chirp B175M transducer to Helix 10 MSI chirp g2n
« Reply #3 on: October 19, 2019, 11:59:03 PM »
Thank you Reso, that was very helpful.
HB indicates, on the their webpage, that the switch is  "Not Compatible with CHIRP Digital Sonar, MEGA Side Imaging or MEGA Down Imaging". My concern was that I will not get those modes using the switch. Unfortunately HB doesnt have two connections for transducer on the unit like some other makers do, which makes life a bit more complicated.


Ricky, thank you for the drawing. I take it switch will  work then.

Offline reso

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Joined: Mar 2009
  • Posts: 34
  • Unit(s): Matrix 37, 997 CSI,Helix 12 Chirp
  • Software: latest
  • Accessories: interlink, high accuracy gps,360 TM
Re: Connecting Airmar Chirp B175M transducer to Helix 10 MSI chirp g2n
« Reply #4 on: October 20, 2019, 03:15:26 PM »
I have a gen 1, so no mega here. The chirp works good with the TS3  switch, no problems as far as I have noted.

Offline Luke20000

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Joined: Oct 2019
  • Location: Croatia
  • Posts: 5
  • Unit(s): Helix 10 chirp mega SI g2n. 797 SI
Re: Connecting Airmar Chirp B175M transducer to Helix 10 MSI chirp g2n
« Reply #5 on: October 21, 2019, 06:16:50 AM »
Thank you once again. That is my main concern and I am trying to find an answer. It seems noone knows the answer. I am not sure why it has to be so complicated to connect it. I have asked HB, but haven't got any response yet. I am at the point to simply go to a different maker. I have been using HB for over 30 years now with different units. I love it, however, the top of the line products feel to be a bit outdated in some areas comparing to the others. I don't really have a need to buy additional unit to accomodate two different transducers knowing that some other simply placed two transducer connections on the unit.

Offline rnvinc

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Joined: Nov 2009
  • Location: Western KY
  • Posts: 3733
  • Unit(s): 1197c SI Combo, Onix 8ci SI Combo
  • Software: Dependent on whim
  • Accessories: AS GRHA, AS GPS HS, LowBird LSS 1 & 2
Re: Connecting Airmar Chirp B175M transducer to Helix 10 MSI chirp g2n
« Reply #6 on: October 21, 2019, 09:50:29 PM »
It may be important to note that the HB TS3 Switch and the M 9 SIDB Y cables are simply "wires"  ... Wires do not care what "type" of signal is pushed them - fixed frequency or CHIRP  ...

It's also important to note that the HB TS3 Switch does not have a DI channel connection - so you will lose DI capability using the HB TS3 Switch  ... Meaning the "Connected Transducer" Menu under the Sonar tab should be set to a selection that, in effect, shuts off the DI transmitter - such that the DI transmitter is not firing to an open channel   ...

It's also important to note that the M 9 SIDB Y cable "disconnects" the wire channel going to the 2d piezo of the SI xducer and connects in its place the wire channel going to the secondary 2d piezo  ... There is no "switching" involved  ... The unit does not even recognize this configuration because there is no XID function in HB core units  ... You tell the unit what frequencies to transmit by the "Connected Transducer" selection  ...
-----
-----

It is unlikely HB will give you the answer you seek because it's an "unconventional scenario"  that they cannot adhere to due to warranty directives outside of normal  ... (Warranty protects the company as much as warranty protects the customer)  ...

I've performed dozens of "unconventional" xducer setups with HB units thru the years  ...  and its rare that HB would even acknowledge the results I've found  ... (HB won't even release pinouts of newer  cables like they used to)  ...

Rickie
« Last Edit: October 21, 2019, 10:26:14 PM by rnvinc »

Offline Luke20000

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Joined: Oct 2019
  • Location: Croatia
  • Posts: 5
  • Unit(s): Helix 10 chirp mega SI g2n. 797 SI
Re: Connecting Airmar Chirp B175M transducer to Helix 10 MSI chirp g2n
« Reply #7 on: October 22, 2019, 06:04:04 AM »
Hello Rickie,

Thank you so much. This was really helpful. As a matter of fact, there is more useful information in your post then in everything I have researched in weeks.

Is the helix msi chirp g2n transducer supported by the HB ethernet box?
In other words could I connect that transducer via ethernet box into the head unit and than other transducer directly into HB head unit.

Alternatively, I am thinking to get a suitable switch with enough channels to connect it (to have DI capability too).
I am also thinking whether i should have two switches, one for each transducer with a cables leading into head unit through a switch via Y cable. In that way there would be a clear separation between transducers and i would have them both connected to the head unit. All i have to is have one off and other on

Offline Luke20000

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Joined: Oct 2019
  • Location: Croatia
  • Posts: 5
  • Unit(s): Helix 10 chirp mega SI g2n. 797 SI
Re: Connecting Airmar Chirp B175M transducer to Helix 10 MSI chirp g2n
« Reply #8 on: October 22, 2019, 08:10:58 AM »
I think I will just get Helix g3n or Solix g2.....

Offline rnvinc

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Joined: Nov 2009
  • Location: Western KY
  • Posts: 3733
  • Unit(s): 1197c SI Combo, Onix 8ci SI Combo
  • Software: Dependent on whim
  • Accessories: AS GRHA, AS GPS HS, LowBird LSS 1 & 2
Re: Connecting Airmar Chirp B175M transducer to Helix 10 MSI chirp g2n
« Reply #9 on: October 22, 2019, 09:25:43 AM »
All HB xducers (except current 360) connect directly to the xducer port on the head unit  ... and there's only 1 xducer port on the head unit  ...

Rickie

Offline reso

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Joined: Mar 2009
  • Posts: 34
  • Unit(s): Matrix 37, 997 CSI,Helix 12 Chirp
  • Software: latest
  • Accessories: interlink, high accuracy gps,360 TM
Re: Connecting Airmar Chirp B175M transducer to Helix 10 MSI chirp g2n
« Reply #10 on: October 27, 2019, 04:49:01 AM »
Getting  a G3N solves most of your problems Lol. But if you want a cheaper solution , and have a 360 and an airmar. I have the best 2D from the airmar and through the 360 ethernet I get the SI too at 455 Khz (option on the 360 menu), more than enough for my fishing in coastal waters. At high speed I take the 360 out of the water and use the airmar stand alone.
But ofcourse spending 2500$ will get you also Mega and low Q chirp in one package..
I would spent that kind of money if it were too really improve my fishing, but I see structure and fish at 455 so adding Mega especially in the salt wont change that much I guess, unless some of you can convince me with some really  good mega images in the salt (100-150 feet)





Share me

Digg  Facebook  SlashDot  Delicious  Technorati  Twitter  Google  Yahoo

 

Related Topics

  Subject / Started by Replies Last post
6 Replies
3824 Views
Last post November 01, 2015, 11:10:32 PM
by rnvinc
1 Replies
2655 Views
Last post January 24, 2016, 09:38:56 PM
by Bob B
4 Replies
1291 Views
Last post March 22, 2018, 04:03:54 AM
by barfoot
2 Replies
1624 Views
Last post May 19, 2018, 07:07:57 AM
by rchristie
4 Replies
1899 Views
Last post June 16, 2018, 01:53:20 PM
by sfw1960
2 Replies
1112 Views
Last post September 01, 2018, 10:01:16 PM
by George N.
2 Replies
991 Views
Last post March 25, 2019, 02:01:28 PM
by RivRunR
3 Replies
926 Views
Last post May 05, 2019, 10:56:54 PM
by rnvinc


anything
SimplePortal 2.3.3 © 2008-2010, SimplePortal