Author Topic: Helix 9 mega SI 2nd transducer  (Read 531 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Sodaksam

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Joined: Feb 2011
  • Location: minnesota
  • Posts: 21
  • Unit(s): Helix 9 Mega SI G2N
Helix 9 mega SI 2nd transducer
« on: May 06, 2019, 11:04:05 PM »
I bought a new Helix mega SI G2N last Fall. Got a chance to run it through the paces a few times this Spring finally.  I like it except for one thing.  On plane the depth reads 425 ft or some random number. I read about a 2nd old school transducer and a splitter wire.  I believe I read that this works on fiberglass boats w/ shoot through the hull transducers.  I have a Crestliner aluminum bass hawk.  Would this work?  I know most of the lakes I fish, but when I go to Canada or a new lake I donít want to strictly rely on the Lakemaster chip.  Any thoughts would be appreciated, Sam


Offline rnvinc

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Joined: Nov 2009
  • Location: Western KY
  • Posts: 3647
  • Unit(s): 1197c SI Combo, Onix 8ci SI Combo
  • Software: Dependent on whim
  • Accessories: AS GRHA, AS GPS HS, LowBird LSS 1 & 2
Re: Helix 9 mega SI 2nd transducer
« Reply #1 on: May 06, 2019, 11:13:57 PM »
I bought a new Helix mega SI G2N last Fall. Got a chance to run it through the paces a few times this Spring finally.  I like it except for one thing.  On plane the depth reads 425 ft or some random number. I read about a 2nd old school transducer and a splitter wire.  I believe I read that this works on fiberglass boats w/ shoot through the hull transducers.  I have a Crestliner aluminum bass hawk.  Would this work?  I know most of the lakes I fish, but when I go to Canada or a new lake I donít want to strictly rely on the Lakemaster chip.  Any thoughts would be appreciated, Sam


HB does not offer a transducer that will transmit thru aluminum   ... (Vexilar Alumaducer is an option http://www.vexilar.com/blog/2014/08/28/aluma-ducer-faq)  ...

Another option would be to mount an XNT 9 20 T transom style 2d xducer lower on the hull to get high speed depth reading and connect with the 9 M SIDB Y cable  ...

The transom mount XNT 9 20 is much more designed for hydro-dynamic capabilities in getting high speed depth readings  ...

https://humminbird.johnsonoutdoors.com/accessories/transducers/xnt-9-20-t-transom-singledualbeam-transducer?_ga=2.243168770.1876485735.1557111532-937050909.1552444399

https://humminbird.johnsonoutdoors.com/accessories/cables/9-m-sidb-y-9-pin-side-imaging-dual-beam-splitter-cable

Rickie


Offline Sodaksam

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Joined: Feb 2011
  • Location: minnesota
  • Posts: 21
  • Unit(s): Helix 9 Mega SI G2N
Re: Helix 9 mega SI 2nd transducer
« Reply #2 on: May 07, 2019, 12:06:03 PM »
Thanks.  My rigging guy will install it soon.

Offline Sodaksam

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Joined: Feb 2011
  • Location: minnesota
  • Posts: 21
  • Unit(s): Helix 9 Mega SI G2N
Re: Helix 9 mega SI 2nd transducer
« Reply #3 on: May 08, 2019, 10:53:04 PM »
Iím not real tech savvy.  Does the unit know to use the info from the 2nd transducer?  Do i need to change something in the settings? Or, is the unit smart enough to know?  Thanks

Offline rnvinc

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Joined: Nov 2009
  • Location: Western KY
  • Posts: 3647
  • Unit(s): 1197c SI Combo, Onix 8ci SI Combo
  • Software: Dependent on whim
  • Accessories: AS GRHA, AS GPS HS, LowBird LSS 1 & 2
Re: Helix 9 mega SI 2nd transducer
« Reply #4 on: May 09, 2019, 08:55:47 PM »
Iím not real tech savvy.  Does the unit know to use the info from the 2nd transducer?  Do i need to change something in the settings? Or, is the unit smart enough to know?  Thanks

The M 9 SIDB Y cable disconnects the wire channel going to the 2d piezo in the SI xducer - and connects the wire channel going to the 2d xducer in its place  ... so 2d Sonar and digital depth will always come from the 2d xducer  ...

The Y cable is simply wires - the unit still "sees" the connection as one xducer = no transducer selection needs to be changed  ...

Rickie
« Last Edit: May 09, 2019, 08:58:04 PM by rnvinc »

Offline Sodaksam

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Joined: Feb 2011
  • Location: minnesota
  • Posts: 21
  • Unit(s): Helix 9 Mega SI G2N
Re: Helix 9 mega SI 2nd transducer
« Reply #5 on: May 09, 2019, 11:02:36 PM »
Well put.  I actually get it.  Thanks

Offline Sodaksam

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Joined: Feb 2011
  • Location: minnesota
  • Posts: 21
  • Unit(s): Helix 9 Mega SI G2N
Re: Helix 9 mega SI 2nd transducer
« Reply #6 on: June 11, 2019, 10:28:35 PM »
I had the high speed transducer installed.  It works great.  He raised the SI/DI transducer a bit.  No rooster tail.  It feels good to get it working at peak performance


Share me

Digg  Facebook  SlashDot  Delicious  Technorati  Twitter  Google  Yahoo

 

Related Topics

  Subject / Started by Replies Last post
15 Replies
7245 Views
Last post July 05, 2017, 12:05:04 AM
by rnvinc
3 Replies
1962 Views
Last post May 08, 2017, 08:34:39 PM
by fshndude
2 Replies
3271 Views
Last post June 04, 2017, 09:08:36 PM
by Stickfish36
2 Replies
2469 Views
Last post August 15, 2017, 12:57:21 AM
by Oz306
1 Replies
1628 Views
Last post February 15, 2018, 09:11:02 PM
by rnvinc
2 Replies
866 Views
Last post October 07, 2018, 11:04:29 AM
by rnvinc
2 Replies
595 Views
Last post March 25, 2019, 02:01:28 PM
by RivRunR
3 Replies
497 Views
Last post May 05, 2019, 10:56:54 PM
by rnvinc


anything
SimplePortal 2.3.3 © 2008-2010, SimplePortal