Author Topic: Transfering waypoints  (Read 5966 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Rough House

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Joined: Nov 2011
  • location: pa
  • Posts: 118
    • Rough House Charters
  • Unit(s): 1198c si / Helix 10
  • Software: latest
Transfering waypoints
« on: April 24, 2012, 05:08:35 PM »
Hi Guys.  Just wondering if anyone can help me before i start.  I recently purchased the 1198 and just installed on my boat.  My old unit "garmin 2010c" has all of my waypoints and my info for my fishing region.  Is there a way i can transfer my waypoints from my garmin to my humminbird without using lat. and long. and manually putting them in the humminbird?
any help would be awesome.
thanks.
Rough House Charters
Lake Erie Fishing out of Erie, Pa


Offline depark1

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Joined: Feb 2012
  • location: Kelowna, BC
  • Posts: 46
  • Unit(s): 998CX SI
  • Software: 6.180
Re: Transfering waypoints
« Reply #1 on: April 24, 2012, 06:00:14 PM »
Try this.  It came from HB's site.

http://www.humminbird.com/FAQ.aspx?ContentId=1738

Offline Rough House

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Joined: Nov 2011
  • location: pa
  • Posts: 118
    • Rough House Charters
  • Unit(s): 1198c si / Helix 10
  • Software: latest
Re: Transfering waypoints
« Reply #2 on: April 24, 2012, 06:31:55 PM »
Thanks.  ill give it a try tomorrow.
Rough House Charters
Lake Erie Fishing out of Erie, Pa

Offline Rough House

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Joined: Nov 2011
  • location: pa
  • Posts: 118
    • Rough House Charters
  • Unit(s): 1198c si / Helix 10
  • Software: latest
Re: Transfering waypoints
« Reply #3 on: April 25, 2012, 03:50:52 PM »
Well spent half the day trying to figure out how to transfer my waypoints from my Garmin 2010c to my new 1198 to no avail.  My garmin doesn't have an sd slot. It has a very old outdated card slot that i cant find blank cards on the internet anywhere. And they dont make the card reader for these cards anymore so i would have no way of getting them on my computer.  I do have a cord that goes from my garmin unit to computer via a comm port but i have no program to transfer waypoints to.  I tried easygps but my unit wasn't listed in the program so i could do anything.  I contacted garmin and they told me of a program Mapsense trip and waypoint manager, but I have to buy the program.  Im not going to purchase a program just to get my files out and never use the program again.  Guess ill have to put them in manually.  :-\
Rough House Charters
Lake Erie Fishing out of Erie, Pa

Offline sonar2000

  • Chief
  • Global Moderator
  • *
  • Joined: May 2009
  • location: Kerr Lake NC
  • Posts: 5970
  • It is not lost ...it has been misplaced.
  • Unit(s): (1) 1197 (1) 1198
  • Software: 6.6
  • Accessories: Tow Fish
Re: Transfering waypoints
« Reply #4 on: April 25, 2012, 04:30:07 PM »
RH...if you have to manually enter the waypoints you might consider at this time of sorting the way points by lake and storing them on your PC by lake. Then just load your lake you are going  to..on an sd card.
I would also delete any other lake wayponts on your unit before putting on a particular lake..
I know.  computer data management ...a pain.  but in the long run you will free the unit propcessor and memory for other things,
Let us know where you go with this..

Chuck

Offline Rough House

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Joined: Nov 2011
  • location: pa
  • Posts: 118
    • Rough House Charters
  • Unit(s): 1198c si / Helix 10
  • Software: latest
Re: Transfering waypoints
« Reply #5 on: April 25, 2012, 06:54:58 PM »
Thanks chuck.  The only body of water im using the unit on is Lake Erie.  So thats good i only have to deal with one lake.  I dont have a ton of waypoints (about 100) but there for spots that are good at different times of the season which is info put together over the last 15 years.  I guess ill go by lat. and long. to be as close to accurate as i can get between the 2 units.
Rough House Charters
Lake Erie Fishing out of Erie, Pa

Offline sonar2000

  • Chief
  • Global Moderator
  • *
  • Joined: May 2009
  • location: Kerr Lake NC
  • Posts: 5970
  • It is not lost ...it has been misplaced.
  • Unit(s): (1) 1197 (1) 1198
  • Software: 6.6
  • Accessories: Tow Fish
Re: Transfering waypoints
« Reply #6 on: April 26, 2012, 06:43:17 AM »
OK, that will not be a lot of work.... :P
Now when you catch that big string of fish post some pictures. (of the fish) ;D

Chuck

Offline Humminbird_Greg

  • Humminbird Helper
  • Humminbird Staff
  • *
  • Joined: Mar 2009
  • location: Eufaula, AL.
  • Posts: 6546
  • I help because I can
    • Humminbird Web Site
Re: Transfering waypoints
« Reply #7 on: April 26, 2012, 07:59:24 AM »
Rough House,
Can you export or copy the data from your Garmin 2010c in any way?  If so, let us know what file format it is in and maybe someone will know of a free program (or own a program and offer to convert for free) your waypoints.  I would think that if you can connect it to your computer that the computer would recognize it as another memory drive and allow file transfers; at least my Garmin does.

You could also split your waypoints up by season as opposed to lakes – it would work the same.

Greg Walters at Humminbird
gwalters@johnsonoutdoors.com

Offline Rough House

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Joined: Nov 2011
  • location: pa
  • Posts: 118
    • Rough House Charters
  • Unit(s): 1198c si / Helix 10
  • Software: latest
Re: Transfering waypoints
« Reply #8 on: April 26, 2012, 08:06:19 AM »
I dont think so greg.  The only way i can connect it to my computer is via comm/serial port.  So it doesn't show up on "my computer" page.  Garmin said it needs a program to communicate with.  And that mapsense trip and waypoint manager is the only one that will.
Rough House Charters
Lake Erie Fishing out of Erie, Pa

Offline sonar2000

  • Chief
  • Global Moderator
  • *
  • Joined: May 2009
  • location: Kerr Lake NC
  • Posts: 5970
  • It is not lost ...it has been misplaced.
  • Unit(s): (1) 1197 (1) 1198
  • Software: 6.6
  • Accessories: Tow Fish
Re: Transfering waypoints
« Reply #9 on: April 26, 2012, 08:22:07 AM »
It sounds like the easy way is to reenter the points..by hand
Hmmm a good cup of tea on a rainy day project..

Chuck

Offline Humminbird_Greg

  • Humminbird Helper
  • Humminbird Staff
  • *
  • Joined: Mar 2009
  • location: Eufaula, AL.
  • Posts: 6546
  • I help because I can
    • Humminbird Web Site
Re: Transfering waypoints
« Reply #10 on: April 26, 2012, 08:22:55 AM »
Looks like you will have to start tapping on your computer’s keyboard to enter them than.

Greg Walters at Humminbird
gwalters@johnsonoutdoors.com

Offline depark1

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Joined: Feb 2012
  • location: Kelowna, BC
  • Posts: 46
  • Unit(s): 998CX SI
  • Software: 6.180
Re: Transfering waypoints
« Reply #11 on: April 26, 2012, 04:28:18 PM »
I don't think so greg.  The only way i can connect it to my computer is via comm/serial port.  So it doesn't show up on "my computer" page.  Garmin said it needs a program to communicate with.  And that mapsense trip and waypoint manager is the only one that will.


Of course Garmin is going to try and sell you something.  You can download MapSource for free and use that to retrieve your waypoints.  Here is the download link: http://www8.garmin.com/support/download_details.jsp?id=209 .  I have looked at the manual for the 2010C and confirmed it will work.  It is on page 75 of the manual.  Just download and install it.  It will walk you through everything.  If you need help let me know.

Here is a link to the  Garmin 2010C Manual: http://static.garmincdn.com/pumac/41_OwnersManual.pdf

Offline Rough House

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Joined: Nov 2011
  • location: pa
  • Posts: 118
    • Rough House Charters
  • Unit(s): 1198c si / Helix 10
  • Software: latest
Re: Transfering waypoints
« Reply #12 on: April 26, 2012, 09:09:16 PM »
Thanks for the help depark.  I tried to install that but its just an update (6.16.3) and you have to have the previous software installed on the computer first, which i dont. I get half way through the install and it boots me saying i dont have a previous version of mapsource.   But thanks for trying man.  I appreciate it.
Rough House Charters
Lake Erie Fishing out of Erie, Pa

Offline depark1

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Joined: Feb 2012
  • location: Kelowna, BC
  • Posts: 46
  • Unit(s): 998CX SI
  • Software: 6.180
Re: Transfering waypoints
« Reply #13 on: April 26, 2012, 10:12:31 PM »
How to install MapSource without a disk, or previous installation
Step 1: Download latest version of MapSource from Garmin.
Step 2: Rename file extension to a .rar instead of .exe
Step 3: Use WinRar to extract to a folder (instead of running exe).
Step 4: Run MSmain.msi file, not Setup.exe.
Step 5: Be happy.


Note that "setup.exe" runs the check to see if you already have MapSource installed, then it executes the MSmain.msi file to install the application. By executing MSmain.msi file directly, you skip that step and just get a clean installation.

Offline depark1

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Joined: Feb 2012
  • location: Kelowna, BC
  • Posts: 46
  • Unit(s): 998CX SI
  • Software: 6.180
Re: Transfering waypoints
« Reply #14 on: April 26, 2012, 10:16:53 PM »
Or try this way

You need MapSource to view maps or tracks. Since you don't have a Garmin GPS, you don't have this program. They don't give it away (directly) either.

However.
Download the Garmin Training Center (exercise stuff) software.
http://www8.garmin.com/support/download_details.jsp?id=835

Download the update to MapSource.
http://www8.garmin.com/support/download_details.jsp?id=209

Install Training Center.
Install the MapSource update (Training Center tricks the MapSource updater into think a regular copy of MapSource is installed).

Now fire up MapSource.

Offline depark1

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Joined: Feb 2012
  • location: Kelowna, BC
  • Posts: 46
  • Unit(s): 998CX SI
  • Software: 6.180
Re: Transfering waypoints
« Reply #15 on: April 26, 2012, 10:19:12 PM »
The last one

How To Install MapSource If It Didn't Come With Your GPS

Author: Dan Blomberg | Last updated September 14th, 2011 at 05:33pm
Introduction

This short tutorial will detail how to download and install Garmin MapSource on your PC if it wasn't included with your GPS unit (such as the Garmin Nuvi).  MapSource or BaseCamp (Windows or Mac) is required to install any maps released on GPSFileDepot.

Note: Today BaseCamp is available without as much restriction as Garmin MapSource.  BaseCamp is capable of viewing and loading all maps.  GPSFileDepot encourages everyone to use BaseCamp.
The How-To

These steps must be completed in order for success.

    Download and install Garmin BaseCamp
    Download and install Garmin MapSource

Conclusion

Although this tutorial was very simple it is currently the best way to get Garmin MapSource when it doesn't come with your Garmin GPS or purchased map.  If you have limited bandwidth you can download Garmin Training Center as step one and then MapSource.  After this is complete make sure to browse our maps section and download maps that can be installed on your GPS unit.


Share me

Digg  Facebook  SlashDot  Delicious  Technorati  Twitter  Google  Yahoo

 

Related Topics

  Subject / Started by Replies Last post
1 Replies
2729 Views
Last post April 04, 2010, 04:31:41 AM
by Jolly Roger
7 Replies
3200 Views
Last post August 04, 2010, 10:50:47 AM
by The Country Toad
Waypoints

Started by Rev 798c SI

11 Replies
4320 Views
Last post March 06, 2011, 04:38:31 PM
by Ddorriety
4 Replies
2291 Views
Last post March 09, 2011, 05:49:30 PM
by Hollywood
8 Replies
3248 Views
Last post August 08, 2012, 01:57:03 AM
by mako101
0 Replies
918 Views
Last post June 21, 2014, 10:06:39 PM
by crankin007
1 Replies
660 Views
Last post July 10, 2015, 08:16:06 PM
by rnvinc
3 Replies
1165 Views
Last post February 16, 2017, 01:54:48 PM
by Bob B


SimplePortal 2.3.3 © 2008-2010, SimplePortal