Author Topic: Waypoints  (Read 5469 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Rev

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Joined: Sep 2010
  • Location: australia
  • Posts: 10
  • Unit(s): 798
  • Software: Not Sure
  • Accessories: Not Yet
Waypoints
« on: February 28, 2011, 09:59:39 PM »
Can i have more than the standard 3000 waypoints load on my maps? Do they just all save in the SD Card?


Offline RGecy

  • Administrator
  • *
  • Joined: Mar 2009
  • Location: Beaufort, SC
  • Posts: 1981
    • SideImagingSoft.com
  • Unit(s): 1197c SI, 997c SI & 785c2
  • Software: 4.950 & 4.510
  • Accessories: Interlink & GRHA
Re: Waypoints
« Reply #1 on: March 01, 2011, 02:25:20 AM »
I dont know anyone who has ever exceeded the 3000 waypoints.  I have around 1000 on mine.  I think something magical happens on the unit when you go over 3000!  Just don't know if its good or bad!

It's not designed to handle more than 3000!

Robert
Humminbird Guru and Forum Administrator

Offline Ddorriety

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Joined: Nov 2009
  • Location: Alabama
  • Posts: 26
  • Unit(s): 797 997
  • Accessories: Interlink
Re: Waypoints
« Reply #2 on: March 01, 2011, 07:03:25 AM »
I have well over 3000 points.
The unit loads the waypoints from the SD card.
The unit will load no more than 3000 points.
The unit stops loading points when the 3000 mark is reached.
I fish Saltwater so I loaded one SD card with points inside 25 miles and another with points outside 20 miles. This gave me a 5 mile overlap.  Remember to keep your point count well below 3000 in order to allow
space to mark new waypoints while fishing. When Humminbird adds File Management to the Firmware this should help ease some of the hassles.

Dennis

Offline sonar2000

  • Chief
  • Global Moderator
  • *
  • Joined: May 2009
  • Location: Kerr Lake NC
  • Posts: 5970
  • It is not lost ...it has been misplaced.
  • Unit(s): (1) 1197 (1) 1198
  • Software: 6.6
  • Accessories: Tow Fish
Re: Waypoints
« Reply #3 on: March 01, 2011, 09:54:48 AM »
waypoint management would be a great idea. As our units get older we have a lot of data stored.
It clutters the cpu with all this information.
Rather than manage the waypoints with sd cards a file index would really help..
Gee our wish list is getting large.  Maybe HB can help the economy by hiring programmers.  ::).. :-X... :P
Chuck

Offline Rev

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Joined: Sep 2010
  • Location: australia
  • Posts: 10
  • Unit(s): 798
  • Software: Not Sure
  • Accessories: Not Yet
Re: Waypoints
« Reply #4 on: March 01, 2011, 05:41:20 PM »
Dennis - do you just export all your waypoints and then delete them when you are turning them over?

Rev.

Offline Ddorriety

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Joined: Nov 2009
  • Location: Alabama
  • Posts: 26
  • Unit(s): 797 997
  • Accessories: Interlink
Re: Waypoints
« Reply #5 on: March 03, 2011, 06:00:25 AM »

Yes I export the waypoints.
I keep a database of my points in OpenOffice Calc and LoaranGPS.
 I then convert the exported points to a text file (comma delimited) using GPSbabel. I then open my database and the exported points  in OpenOffice or LoranGPS. I cut and paste any new points from the export to the main database. I then add comments to the new points and save as a CSV file if using Openoffice or directly to a Humminbird file if using LoranGPS.If using OpenOffice I then convert to Humminbird using GPSbabbel. I then delete the waypoints in the unit and load my new points. I keep a printed copy of all my points on the boat. I can then lookup the point while fishing and read the comments.

Dennis




Offline Trytoofish

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Joined: Aug 2009
  • Location: Minnesota
  • Posts: 216
  • Unit(s): Onix 8, 998HD, 798HD, Ice 55
  • Software: 2.0, 7.51,
  • Accessories: Cannonlink,Eithernet,Mag 20, Ipilot Link
Re: Waypoints
« Reply #6 on: March 03, 2011, 07:38:38 AM »
With all that exporting and Importing do your waypoints with depth attached maintain that depth?
 I use Fugawi ENC and Humminbird pc. But when I import to Fugawi I loose the depth for good. wish I could change that!
Try Too Fish  Forced To Work

Offline Ddorriety

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Joined: Nov 2009
  • Location: Alabama
  • Posts: 26
  • Unit(s): 797 997
  • Accessories: Interlink
Re: Waypoints
« Reply #7 on: March 05, 2011, 07:42:48 AM »
After you ask the question I looked at my waypoints and indeed my depth is missing.
Next time I go fishing I will mark a few points and see if can find out why.I have never
noticed before. I mostly fish the gulf and I know the depth based on the distance from
shore but now you have me curious.

Dennis

Offline Trytoofish

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Joined: Aug 2009
  • Location: Minnesota
  • Posts: 216
  • Unit(s): Onix 8, 998HD, 798HD, Ice 55
  • Software: 2.0, 7.51,
  • Accessories: Cannonlink,Eithernet,Mag 20, Ipilot Link
Re: Waypoints
« Reply #8 on: March 05, 2011, 09:11:38 AM »
I posted here,it may be looked at by Humminbird people. I'm not sure but it looks like the depth is lost when you bring the waypoints back in to Humminbird pc. I looked at my files in several other software's and the depth is there. that is all I know for now. Any waypoint marked on the water in the humminbird units will show the depth it was, at the time of marking.
 If you have any waypoints on your unit or in Hum pc that have not been exported,there should be a depth. to see the depth on your unit,you need to go it to edit the waypoint and the depth should be there. in hum pc it lists it in the last column.
http://forums.sideimagingsoft.com/index.php?topic=2214.msg12172;topicseen#new
« Last Edit: March 05, 2011, 09:18:49 AM by Trytoofish »
Try Too Fish  Forced To Work

Offline Ddorriety

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Joined: Nov 2009
  • Location: Alabama
  • Posts: 26
  • Unit(s): 797 997
  • Accessories: Interlink
Re: Waypoints
« Reply #9 on: March 06, 2011, 05:25:09 PM »
I took a deeper look into this and found the depth in indeed in the GPX file example"<h:depth>182.0</h:depth>"(centimeters);  But LoranGPS did not import it.
I emailed the software distributor(LoranGPS)  and he confirmed it was not handled in the GPX file it was however handled when using the "data.hwr" file. He stated it needed to be handled and he would take care of it.
This is not a Humminbird problem this is a problem with the third party software.I would recommend you email  Fujiwara maybe they will take care.

Dennis

Offline Trytoofish

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Joined: Aug 2009
  • Location: Minnesota
  • Posts: 216
  • Unit(s): Onix 8, 998HD, 798HD, Ice 55
  • Software: 2.0, 7.51,
  • Accessories: Cannonlink,Eithernet,Mag 20, Ipilot Link
Re: Waypoints
« Reply #10 on: March 06, 2011, 05:33:48 PM »
its not a Fugawi problem,it shows the depth. there are others looking at this . and they think its hum pc.  the depth shows up every where except when you import back to Hum pc. Hum pc is fine with the original data from your unit .
Try Too Fish  Forced To Work

Offline Ddorriety

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Joined: Nov 2009
  • Location: Alabama
  • Posts: 26
  • Unit(s): 797 997
  • Accessories: Interlink
Re: Waypoints
« Reply #11 on: March 06, 2011, 06:38:31 PM »
Create and open a GPX test file in a text editor such as Notepad before the import and after the export .
Look for "<h:depth>XXX.X</h:depth>", in both files. I suspect you will find the problem when you compare the two.

Dennis


Share me

Digg  Facebook  SlashDot  Delicious  Technorati  Twitter  Google  Yahoo

 

Related Topics

  Subject / Started by Replies Last post
2 Replies
5834 Views
Last post May 20, 2009, 03:15:58 PM
by inshorecatch
1 Replies
3014 Views
Last post September 21, 2009, 01:11:10 PM
by Humminbird_Greg
1 Replies
3809 Views
Last post April 04, 2010, 07:31:41 AM
by Jolly Roger
7 Replies
4103 Views
Last post August 04, 2010, 01:50:47 PM
by The Country Toad
2 Replies
2900 Views
Last post February 12, 2011, 12:46:39 PM
by Humminbird_Greg
4 Replies
2535 Views
Last post February 17, 2011, 06:19:51 PM
by bflippen
4 Replies
3118 Views
Last post March 09, 2011, 07:49:30 PM
by Hollywood
1 Replies
3377 Views
Last post March 18, 2011, 04:57:12 AM
by stillbear


anything
SimplePortal 2.3.3 © 2008-2010, SimplePortal