Author Topic: High speed transducer  (Read 4661 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline wisconsin chad

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Joined: Mar 2016
  • Location: Wisconsin
  • Posts: 10
  • Unit(s): 898SI,999SIHD,Terrova
  • Software: 7.46
  • Accessories: network
High speed transducer
« on: March 14, 2017, 10:28:23 PM »
I have just upgraded to a helix 10 si g2n, I was wondering what high speed transducer I will need and what y cable I will need?
Also can I use my same network hub to network 2 helix g2n models as I used for my old 899 and 999 ?



Offline rnvinc

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Joined: Nov 2009
  • Location: Western KY
  • Posts: 3733
  • Unit(s): 1197c SI Combo, Onix 8ci SI Combo
  • Software: Dependent on whim
  • Accessories: AS GRHA, AS GPS HS, LowBird LSS 1 & 2
Re: High speed transducer
« Reply #1 on: March 14, 2017, 10:50:05 PM »
You will need the XP 9 20 ...
http://www.humminbird.com/Products/XP-9-20/

You will need the MSIDB Y cable ...
http://www.humminbird.com/Products/MSIDB-Y/

You will need the AS ETH 5PXG ... (If you have the older AS ETH 5PS) ...
http://www.humminbird.com/Products/AS-ETH-5PXG/

Rickie



Offline Whistler

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Joined: May 2011
  • Location: Roswell, GA
  • Posts: 125
  • Unit(s): 1198c SI, 1199ci, Helix 12 SI G2N
  • Software: 7.510,7.460,1.460
  • Accessories: Heading Sensor, NMEA
Re: High speed transducer
« Reply #2 on: March 15, 2017, 05:25:53 PM »
Rickie,

Are you saying that the AS ETH 5PS won't work with the newest Helix units and instead they require the AS ETH 5PXG?

Offline Bob B

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Joined: Oct 2010
  • Location: Creve Coeur, Il
  • Posts: 1568
  • Unit(s): 1197c si, 1198c si
  • Software: 6.310, 6.490
Re: High speed transducer
« Reply #3 on: March 15, 2017, 07:12:12 PM »
I saw a response to that question a Humminbird customer service rep posted on another forum ..... They said the new switch is required for the new units.
**Looking for the one that makes it all worthwhile**

Offline wisconsin chad

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Joined: Mar 2016
  • Location: Wisconsin
  • Posts: 10
  • Unit(s): 898SI,999SIHD,Terrova
  • Software: 7.46
  • Accessories: network
Re: High speed transducer
« Reply #4 on: March 15, 2017, 08:25:01 PM »
Thanks for the info. Much appreciated

Offline rnvinc

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Joined: Nov 2009
  • Location: Western KY
  • Posts: 3733
  • Unit(s): 1197c SI Combo, Onix 8ci SI Combo
  • Software: Dependent on whim
  • Accessories: AS GRHA, AS GPS HS, LowBird LSS 1 & 2
Re: High speed transducer
« Reply #5 on: March 15, 2017, 10:31:12 PM »
I saw a response to that question a Humminbird customer service rep posted on another forum ..... They said the new switch is required for the new units.

That is indeed my understanding that the old switch won't work with the new units ...

Rickie

Offline Whistler

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Joined: May 2011
  • Location: Roswell, GA
  • Posts: 125
  • Unit(s): 1198c SI, 1199ci, Helix 12 SI G2N
  • Software: 7.510,7.460,1.460
  • Accessories: Heading Sensor, NMEA
Re: High speed transducer
« Reply #6 on: March 16, 2017, 11:29:57 AM »
I read that somewhere else after I saw your post as well.  And, well, quite frankly, I'm kinda ticked about it.

1.  Charging $250 for a 5 port gigabit Ethernet switch is highway robbery.
2.  Ethernet is a protocol.  Which means it is a defined standard method of communication that any other Ethernet device can communicate with as well...Presumably, Humminbird is running IP on top of that...another standard protocol. 

For Humminbird to purposely obsolete one, gigabit switch, for a new one and then purposely have its devices not communicate over the previous Ethernet switch is a scam.  Unless, they are running a proprietary protocol and not Ethernet.  But, I suspect, they are just putting something in the Ethernet header portion of the packet that prevents the new devices from working with the old switch.  Which is scamming its customers by forcing them to re-buy the same technology they already own.

I'd love to hear the technical "reason" for having done this.  But will be surprised if they are willing to share one.

Offline Terrible45

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Joined: May 2013
  • Location: France
  • Posts: 21
    • French Humminbird Forum
  • Unit(s): 998 HD SI - 998 SI
  • Software: V6.680 - Reefmaster
  • Accessories: TERROVA I pilot Link/Weathersense/360
Re: High speed transducer
« Reply #7 on: March 29, 2017, 03:04:44 PM »
The switch TS3 doesn't work with the Mega Side Imaging  look HERE

What is the one for the mega because on the site Humminbird I have seen nothing ?

Sorry for my poor english school...




 
LOL and VERY LOL

Offline Bob B

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Joined: Oct 2010
  • Location: Creve Coeur, Il
  • Posts: 1568
  • Unit(s): 1197c si, 1198c si
  • Software: 6.310, 6.490
Re: High speed transducer
« Reply #8 on: March 29, 2017, 03:22:41 PM »
I read that somewhere else after I saw your post as well.  And, well, quite frankly, I'm kinda ticked about it.

1.  Charging $250 for a 5 port gigabit Ethernet switch is highway robbery.
2.  Ethernet is a protocol.  Which means it is a defined standard method of communication that any other Ethernet device can communicate with as well...Presumably, Humminbird is running IP on top of that...another standard protocol. 

For Humminbird to purposely obsolete one, gigabit switch, for a new one and then purposely have its devices not communicate over the previous Ethernet switch is a scam.  Unless, they are running a proprietary protocol and not Ethernet.  But, I suspect, they are just putting something in the Ethernet header portion of the packet that prevents the new devices from working with the old switch.  Which is scamming its customers by forcing them to re-buy the same technology they already own.

I'd love to hear the technical "reason" for having done this.  But will be surprised if they are willing to share one.


I think it was necessary to change some stuff in their Ethernet communications a few years ago because of the old one was too slow to support the data demands of the 360 along with the increasing processor speeds in the units.  I saw a little bit of technical info about it at the time, but don't remember the specifics.
It's always a bummer to have the stuff you have become obsolete, but that's just the way Electronic stuff is .... As far as the cost of the switch ...That is another matter.
**Looking for the one that makes it all worthwhile**

Offline Bob B

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Joined: Oct 2010
  • Location: Creve Coeur, Il
  • Posts: 1568
  • Unit(s): 1197c si, 1198c si
  • Software: 6.310, 6.490
Re: High speed transducer
« Reply #9 on: March 29, 2017, 03:26:08 PM »
The switch TS3 doesn't work with the Mega Side Imaging  look HERE

What is the one for the mega because on the site Humminbird I have seen nothing ?

Sorry for my poor english school... 


I haven't seen anything about a new switch ..... I'd recommend giving Humminbird a call about it so they know there is still interest in having a transducer switch.  This is probably a low demand item ....Hope they don't discontinue the ability to switch transducer ..... Rickie may have to design one.
**Looking for the one that makes it all worthwhile**

Offline rnvinc

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Joined: Nov 2009
  • Location: Western KY
  • Posts: 3733
  • Unit(s): 1197c SI Combo, Onix 8ci SI Combo
  • Software: Dependent on whim
  • Accessories: AS GRHA, AS GPS HS, LowBird LSS 1 & 2
Re: High speed transducer
« Reply #10 on: March 29, 2017, 09:05:51 PM »
The switch TS3 doesn't work with the Mega Side Imaging  look HERE

What is the one for the mega because on the site Humminbird I have seen nothing ?

Sorry for my poor english school...


The HB TS3 switch does not have wire channels to connect the dedicated DI piezo in the MEGA xducer ...

It would connect the 2d/left SI/right SI/Temp wire channels ...

Rickie

Offline Terrible45

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Joined: May 2013
  • Location: France
  • Posts: 21
    • French Humminbird Forum
  • Unit(s): 998 HD SI - 998 SI
  • Software: V6.680 - Reefmaster
  • Accessories: TERROVA I pilot Link/Weathersense/360
Re: High speed transducer
« Reply #11 on: March 30, 2017, 05:01:49 AM »
Ok. 
My boat is equipped with a single central sonar with a transducer (I thought to put the Mega) in the back and front the 2D by the US2 TERROVA + the 360 . How can I do ?
 In the current state, isn't possible, am disgusted ...

Not everyone has the means to have 2 or 3 sonars on his boat !!!
LOL and VERY LOL

Offline rnvinc

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Joined: Nov 2009
  • Location: Western KY
  • Posts: 3733
  • Unit(s): 1197c SI Combo, Onix 8ci SI Combo
  • Software: Dependent on whim
  • Accessories: AS GRHA, AS GPS HS, LowBird LSS 1 & 2
Re: High speed transducer
« Reply #12 on: March 30, 2017, 09:41:47 PM »
Ok. 
My boat is equipped with a single central sonar with a transducer (I thought to put the Mega) in the back and front the 2D by the US2 TERROVA + the 360 . How can I do ?
 In the current state, isn't possible, am disgusted ...

Not everyone has the means to have 2 or 3 sonars on his boat !!!

Your Setup us definitely challenging to wanting 2d on the transom and 2d on the bow with 1 MEGA head unit ...

There is the possibility of having the MEGA xducer and a 2d xducer on the transom Connected to the MSIDB-Y cable at the head unit ...

Then simply unplug the transom 2d xducer from the MSIDB-Y cable  and plug in the bow 2d xducer into the MSIDB-Y cable ...

Or ... The HB TS3 switch will work with the two separate 2d xducers ... (Still would need a 2d xducer on the transom) ...

Then both 2d xducers connect to the HB TS3 switch ... and HB TS3 switch connects to the Dual Beam leg of the MSIDB-Y cable ...

 (The Imaging DI channel in the MEGA xducer is what is not compatible with the HB TS3 switch  ... The Dual Beam leg of the MSIDB-Y should be the same as the Dual Beam leg of the AS SIDB Y cable) ...

----

360 is an Ethernet accessory so it won't have any effect on xducer connections ...

Rickie
« Last Edit: March 30, 2017, 09:56:08 PM by rnvinc »

Offline Terrible45

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Joined: May 2013
  • Location: France
  • Posts: 21
    • French Humminbird Forum
  • Unit(s): 998 HD SI - 998 SI
  • Software: V6.680 - Reefmaster
  • Accessories: TERROVA I pilot Link/Weathersense/360
Re: High speed transducer
« Reply #13 on: March 31, 2017, 04:24:54 AM »
Thank you for your support I will find a solution that will be a compromise.

Make a trandsucer cable with 7 connectors and in the switch TS3 there are 7 but only 5 connect and 2 aren't conected is very very stupid !!!
LOL and VERY LOL


Share me

Digg  Facebook  SlashDot  Delicious  Technorati  Twitter  Google  Yahoo

 

Related Topics

  Subject / Started by Replies Last post
5 Replies
4384 Views
Last post July 05, 2014, 11:05:56 AM
by Bryson
9 Replies
7698 Views
Last post August 11, 2011, 10:37:55 AM
by sonar2000
22 Replies
19808 Views
Last post March 05, 2012, 07:38:21 AM
by Doc Stressor
6 Replies
4226 Views
Last post February 24, 2014, 03:20:19 AM
by Nitro78
2 Replies
1832 Views
Last post July 05, 2014, 06:41:00 PM
by Trout Bum
5 Replies
2592 Views
Last post June 20, 2015, 11:33:01 AM
by starkyb
2 Replies
4076 Views
Last post June 04, 2017, 09:08:36 PM
by Stickfish36
1 Replies
421 Views
Last post July 18, 2019, 12:34:10 AM
by rnvinc


anything
SimplePortal 2.3.3 © 2008-2010, SimplePortal