Author Topic: NMEA out in simulation mode  (Read 4354 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline mrj9600

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Joined: May 2009
  • location: Denmark
  • Posts: 163
    • Home of HumViewer
  • Unit(s): 997C SI
  • Software: 6.300
  • Accessories: Speed sensor
NMEA out in simulation mode
« on: January 20, 2012, 03:21:53 PM »
Hi
Does anyone know if the HB sends out NMEA data when started in simulation mode without anything attached. I have taken the HB with me home, and would like to play with recording some NMEA data, but I cannot get it to work. It could be the cabling or that the HB do not send anything.
I saw this old message, that is why I am asking.
http://forums.sideimagingsoft.com/index.php?topic=361.msg1381#msg1381

Also to confirm that I have connected it correctly, can anyone tell me which port and pins that are NMEA out + ground. I don't have the original cable at home either, so I am just trying to put two wires directly into the HB.

Best regards
Martin


Offline 96720

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Joined: Aug 2010
  • location: big island of hawaii
  • Posts: 34
  • Unit(s): 998c si
  • Software: v5.410

Offline sonar2000

  • Chief
  • Global Moderator
  • *
  • Joined: May 2009
  • location: Kerr Lake NC
  • Posts: 5970
  • It is not lost ...it has been misplaced.
  • Unit(s): (1) 1197 (1) 1198
  • Software: 6.6
  • Accessories: Tow Fish
Re: NMEA out in simulation mode
« Reply #2 on: January 20, 2012, 03:48:37 PM »
scroll thru this link and see if any of this helps. there is a big pin out picture towards the bottom.
Chuck

http://forums.sideimagingsoft.com/index.php?topic=1436.msg7716#msg7716

Offline Humminbird_Greg

  • Humminbird Helper
  • Humminbird Staff
  • *
  • Joined: Mar 2009
  • location: Eufaula, AL.
  • Posts: 6546
  • I help because I can
    • Humminbird Web Site
Re: NMEA out in simulation mode
« Reply #3 on: February 01, 2012, 11:29:44 AM »
Did you get this working?
If you still need it here is a drawing of the COM port connector on the unit.

Greg Walters at Humminbird
gwalters@johnsonoutdoors.com

Offline mrj9600

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Joined: May 2009
  • location: Denmark
  • Posts: 163
    • Home of HumViewer
  • Unit(s): 997C SI
  • Software: 6.300
  • Accessories: Speed sensor
Re: NMEA out in simulation mode
« Reply #4 on: February 01, 2012, 01:24:24 PM »
Actually not.
I took the HB to the boat last weekend, and the only way to get it working was to attach all cables, and even then I did not get any NMEA output before the GPS actually locked to the satellites.

One thing I was wandering though.
On the back side there are four connectors located together (power, sonar, GPS/NMEA, and the last I cannot remember what is for). It is the GPS/NMEA there that I am using.
But there are two other connectors placed in the other side on the back. One of them look very similar to the GPS/NMEA connector. What is those two connectors for ?

Best regards
Martin

Offline sonar2000

  • Chief
  • Global Moderator
  • *
  • Joined: May 2009
  • location: Kerr Lake NC
  • Posts: 5970
  • It is not lost ...it has been misplaced.
  • Unit(s): (1) 1197 (1) 1198
  • Software: 6.6
  • Accessories: Tow Fish
Re: NMEA out in simulation mode
« Reply #5 on: February 01, 2012, 01:52:25 PM »
Martin they should be the RS232 and the video out.
The 4 together are the power, communication/gps, temp / speed and the transducer.
OOOOPPPPSSSS   which unit do you have????? I amy have reference the wrong unit for you...
Chuck
« Last Edit: February 01, 2012, 02:00:25 PM by sonar2000 »

Offline Humminbird_Greg

  • Humminbird Helper
  • Humminbird Staff
  • *
  • Joined: Mar 2009
  • location: Eufaula, AL.
  • Posts: 6546
  • I help because I can
    • Humminbird Web Site
Re: NMEA out in simulation mode
« Reply #6 on: February 02, 2012, 09:00:50 AM »
According to his member info under his name he has the 997c Si unit Chuck.

Those connectors are not used on the 997 units.
They were used for factory based testing of the 997 units when we made them.

Greg Walters at Humminbird
gwalters@johnsonoutdoors.com

Offline mrj9600

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Joined: May 2009
  • location: Denmark
  • Posts: 163
    • Home of HumViewer
  • Unit(s): 997C SI
  • Software: 6.300
  • Accessories: Speed sensor
Re: NMEA out in simulation mode
« Reply #7 on: February 02, 2012, 10:43:48 AM »
Hi
Yes I have a 997C SI.

So those two connectors are not used, then I am sure I was using the correct connector.

Then I am also pretty sure that the 997 do not send out any NMEA output without being connected and have GPS fix.

Thanks for the help

/Martin

Offline Humminbird_Greg

  • Humminbird Helper
  • Humminbird Staff
  • *
  • Joined: Mar 2009
  • location: Eufaula, AL.
  • Posts: 6546
  • I help because I can
    • Humminbird Web Site
Re: NMEA out in simulation mode
« Reply #8 on: February 02, 2012, 12:59:58 PM »
Martin,
The 997 should output NMEA data if you are playing back a Sonar Recording but may not if it is running in the Simulator mode.

Greg Walters at Humminbird
gwalters@johnsonoutdoors.com

Offline sonar2000

  • Chief
  • Global Moderator
  • *
  • Joined: May 2009
  • location: Kerr Lake NC
  • Posts: 5970
  • It is not lost ...it has been misplaced.
  • Unit(s): (1) 1197 (1) 1198
  • Software: 6.6
  • Accessories: Tow Fish
Re: NMEA out in simulation mode
« Reply #9 on: February 02, 2012, 03:07:50 PM »
Some members do not alweays update their info so that is why I asked what he had.
Chuck

Offline Humminbird_Greg

  • Humminbird Helper
  • Humminbird Staff
  • *
  • Joined: Mar 2009
  • location: Eufaula, AL.
  • Posts: 6546
  • I help because I can
    • Humminbird Web Site
Re: NMEA out in simulation mode
« Reply #10 on: February 03, 2012, 10:23:37 AM »
Good point Chuck.  Maybe we need a reminder post to update this information once a year?
Greg Walters at Humminbird
gwalters@johnsonoutdoors.com

Offline sonar2000

  • Chief
  • Global Moderator
  • *
  • Joined: May 2009
  • location: Kerr Lake NC
  • Posts: 5970
  • It is not lost ...it has been misplaced.
  • Unit(s): (1) 1197 (1) 1198
  • Software: 6.6
  • Accessories: Tow Fish
Re: NMEA out in simulation mode
« Reply #11 on: February 03, 2012, 02:24:23 PM »
Or better is to post a notice just prior to changing the website especially if it dealy with profiles...
It might be beneficial to check several times a year. 
Chuck


Share me

Digg  Facebook  SlashDot  Delicious  Technorati  Twitter  Google  Yahoo

 

Related Topics

  Subject / Started by Replies Last post
3 Replies
1975 Views
Last post August 14, 2010, 08:24:01 PM
by rnvinc
22 Replies
5581 Views
Last post January 31, 2013, 10:18:59 AM
by Humminbird_Greg
20 Replies
6990 Views
Last post February 08, 2013, 09:11:48 PM
by newkid4si
4 Replies
2267 Views
Last post February 07, 2013, 08:21:40 AM
by Humminbird_Greg
6 Replies
1503 Views
Last post November 15, 2013, 01:26:01 PM
by Humminbird_Greg
2 Replies
1326 Views
Last post September 19, 2015, 06:35:38 PM
by N9Phil
9 Replies
2764 Views
Last post July 01, 2016, 09:54:08 PM
by mike fish
1 Replies
340 Views
Last post December 03, 2017, 07:07:29 AM
by rnvinc


anything
SimplePortal 2.3.3 © 2008-2010, SimplePortal