Poll

I can use my old 798 ci SI transducer with Helix 10?

yes
0 (0%)
No
0 (0%)
Absolutely no way
0 (0%)
Are you kidding, what are you thinking
0 (0%)
Yes, with Helix setting changes
0 (0%)

Total Members Voted: 0

Author Topic: Helix 10 Mega Chirp SI G2N Trnasducer  (Read 337 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Dusty-Pants

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Joined: Apr 2012
  • Location: York, Pa
  • Posts: 25
  • Unit(s): Helix 10
Helix 10 Mega Chirp SI G2N Trnasducer
« on: October 31, 2020, 07:26:51 PM »
I cannot find the posting area so I will go with this.

I am wondering if I can use my old 798 ci SI transducer, guessing it is XNT 9 SI 180 T.  I would like to use it with my Helix 10 mega chirp SI G2N.

If it is possible are there any sonar setting changes that should be made.

Reason being that transducer will fit behind the rock guard on my trolling motor and still be clear for transmitting.

I normally boat in shallow water and I don't want to destroy my Helix transducer.

If this combo will not work I can install the 798 head but it would be easier to use the Helix.
« Last Edit: November 01, 2020, 09:18:02 AM by Dusty-Pants »


Offline FishinLite

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Joined: Oct 2017
  • Location: Crosslake, MN
  • Posts: 36
  • Unit(s): 9 SI, 9 DI, AS ETH5PXG, I-Link, 360
  • Software: 7.765
  • Accessories: HD Side Imaging Transducer
Re: Helix 10 Mega Chirp SI G2N Trnasducer
« Reply #1 on: November 01, 2020, 07:54:51 AM »
I am sure that it would work with your helix 10, but it would not support Mega imaging or chirp functions well.

The gen 1 Helix 7 units came with this transducer as the standard. You would have effectively a large screen, G1 Helix 7.

You would have to turn off Chirp, and select a 400 hz or 800 hz fixed frequency range.


Offline Dusty-Pants

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Joined: Apr 2012
  • Location: York, Pa
  • Posts: 25
  • Unit(s): Helix 10
Re: Helix 10 Mega Chirp SI G2N Trnasducer
« Reply #2 on: November 01, 2020, 09:31:02 AM »
Thanks for the info FishinLite.

I have two networked 10's and normally use the transom transducer but the network is down.

Went through the Humminbird service routine and they determined one of the units is bad.

After I figure out which one is the culprit I will have it repaired.

Until then I would like to use the bigger screen of the 10 then use the 798 if the bow unit is the bad one.
« Last Edit: November 01, 2020, 04:13:38 PM by Dusty-Pants »


Share me

Digg  Facebook  SlashDot  Delicious  Technorati  Twitter  Google  Yahoo

 

Related Topics

  Subject / Started by Replies Last post
5 Replies
8881 Views
Last post October 04, 2017, 06:33:17 PM
by Stumpy
10 Replies
7999 Views
Last post April 26, 2018, 08:35:22 PM
by rnvinc
6 Replies
6070 Views
Last post March 26, 2018, 09:48:08 PM
by rnvinc
7 Replies
2993 Views
Last post April 08, 2018, 11:21:22 PM
by rnvinc
3 Replies
4134 Views
Last post July 08, 2018, 07:55:55 PM
by rnvinc
1 Replies
2163 Views
Last post September 23, 2019, 09:36:42 AM
by ezfishn
3 Replies
1064 Views
Last post June 06, 2020, 09:52:35 PM
by rnvinc
5 Replies
926 Views
Last post August 11, 2020, 11:12:55 PM
by rnvinc


anything
SimplePortal 2.3.3 © 2008-2010, SimplePortal