Author Topic: Using a Helix 7 SI G2 for mapping only  (Read 399 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Brunwardo

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Joined: May 2019
  • Location: Wisconsin
  • Posts: 1
  • Unit(s): Helix 7 SI GPS G2
Using a Helix 7 SI G2 for mapping only
« on: August 06, 2020, 11:48:19 AM »
Hi all!  As I've been exposed to the MEGA imaging capabilities of the new helix units, I'm committed to upgrading to one for next season.  My boat has very limited room for two units and I'm hoping that with upgrading to a Helix 7 or 9 with MEGA imaging that I can use my current Helix 7 SI GPS G2 solely for mapping and mount it to the side of the windshield, above my throttle.  Would my current unit be pretty easy to do that with?  It wouldn't be connected to a transducer and would have the Lakemaster chip running.  Do the experts here have any insight to running a new MEGA imaging unit for SI and sonar while having the separate, and older, unit for mapping only?  Thanks for any advice!
Chasing walleyes and muskies in northern Wisconsin in my trusty blue Lund.


Offline rnvinc

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Joined: Nov 2009
  • Location: Western KY
  • Posts: 3906
  • Unit(s): 1197c SI Combo, Onix 8ci SI Combo
  • Software: Dependent on whim
  • Accessories: AS GRHA, AS GPS HS, LowBird LSS 1 & 2
Re: Using a Helix 7 SI G2 for mapping only
« Reply #1 on: August 07, 2020, 07:16:51 PM »
Hi all!  As I've been exposed to the MEGA imaging capabilities of the new helix units, I'm committed to upgrading to one for next season.  My boat has very limited room for two units and I'm hoping that with upgrading to a Helix 7 or 9 with MEGA imaging that I can use my current Helix 7 SI GPS G2 solely for mapping and mount it to the side of the windshield, above my throttle.  Would my current unit be pretty easy to do that with?  It wouldn't be connected to a transducer and would have the Lakemaster chip running.  Do the experts here have any insight to running a new MEGA imaging unit for SI and sonar while having the separate, and older, unit for mapping only?  Thanks for any advice!

Your scenario is often used for users with multiple units  ...

The G2 is not networkable - but if the units are side by side = networking is not really necessary for sharing waypoints or Sonar  ...

I still use my old 1197 for full screen stand alone mapping  ... and then get all the newer bells and whistles on my newer unit  ...

Rickie



Share me

Digg  Facebook  SlashDot  Delicious  Technorati  Twitter  Google  Yahoo

 

Related Topics

  Subject / Started by Replies Last post
11 Replies
9086 Views
Last post January 22, 2013, 04:21:30 AM
by Rüdiger
0 Replies
1431 Views
Last post June 04, 2013, 09:37:21 PM
by matt 01
2 Replies
2048 Views
Last post August 05, 2013, 05:18:35 PM
by Austin358
4 Replies
2544 Views
Last post June 20, 2014, 01:19:58 PM
by DiveExplorer
2 Replies
1530 Views
Last post May 22, 2015, 02:03:10 PM
by Vinniez520
3 Replies
1832 Views
Last post July 31, 2015, 12:44:50 PM
by CamoHunter
4 Replies
2789 Views
Last post June 03, 2016, 06:26:35 PM
by afaust
1 Replies
1927 Views
Last post May 23, 2017, 08:28:56 PM
by fshndude


SimplePortal 2.3.3 © 2008-2010, SimplePortal