Author Topic: is a 200m Cat7a cable possible?  (Read 2355 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline babafeit

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Joined: Nov 2019
  • Location: canada
  • Posts: 1
  • Unit(s): onix 10 si
is a 200m Cat7a cable possible?
« on: January 07, 2020, 03:24:30 PM »
Hi all,

I think that the typical limitation of Cat 7a cable without some sort of booster is around 100m. I own a Onix 10ci SI and I am trying to build a towfish to side scan in lake/ocean with depth between 200m and 250m. The aim is to locate shipwrecks.

I was wondering if any of you had tried a 200m or 300m cable and what kind of attenuation on signals/noise was present?  Was is usable?

Thanks.


Offline Rüdiger

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Joined: Feb 2011
  • Location: Hjältevad Sweden
  • Posts: 448
  • He who seeks finds
  • Unit(s): 898 CX SI ;EAGLE 500CDF
  • Software: DrDepth BT+SS
  • Accessories: Towfish and Towcam
Re: is a 200m Cat7a cable possible?
« Reply #1 on: January 08, 2020, 05:25:16 AM »
Hi babafeit

Welcome to the forum

Nothing is known to me over 100m, you have to try that yourself. However, you should also seal the cable entry on the transducer when used at such a great depth, there have already been problems. You should also consider the tensile load with such a large cable length.
Please continue to report on your project here.

mvh
Rüdiger
Sorry
English is not my first language !

German Forum
http://SOB-International.com/

Offline Chris_NSB

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Joined: Jan 2021
  • Location: New Smyrna Beach, FL, USA
  • Posts: 3
  • Unit(s): 798ci si and Helix 9 MEGA Gen 2
  • Software: latest
  • Accessories: Heading sensor & through hall transducer
Re: is a 200m Cat7a cable possible?
« Reply #2 on: January 09, 2021, 10:29:45 PM »
It should be possible with the correct cable. Not sure if CAT7A is it or not but on this site https://www.edimax.com/landing/long_range_poe_solutions/en/ it does show a PoE range of 100m extended out to 200m. I'm thinking that is just from voltage drop. I'm guessing that is going to the same problem with the transducer cable. There are other ways to prevent voltage drop. You could use a cable that has a heavier gauge wire. I would test it on an extension cable before destroying your transducer cable.

Offline Rüdiger

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Joined: Feb 2011
  • Location: Hjältevad Sweden
  • Posts: 448
  • He who seeks finds
  • Unit(s): 898 CX SI ;EAGLE 500CDF
  • Software: DrDepth BT+SS
  • Accessories: Towfish and Towcam
Re: is a 200m Cat7a cable possible?
« Reply #3 on: January 10, 2021, 06:09:52 AM »
Hi Chris

With very long cables, the ohmic resistance and the associated voltage loss become a problem.
But maybe you will find something here:

https://www.novasub.com/product-categorie/cables/video-data-cables/

mvh
Rüdiger
Sorry
English is not my first language !

German Forum
http://SOB-International.com/


Share me

Digg  Facebook  SlashDot  Delicious  Technorati  Twitter  Google  Yahoo

 

Related Topics

  Subject / Started by Replies Last post
4 Replies
4293 Views
Last post June 28, 2014, 08:39:09 PM
by jrapose
40 Replies
23716 Views
Last post July 13, 2013, 06:51:56 AM
by rnvinc
0 Replies
3339 Views
Last post March 05, 2012, 12:46:10 PM
by sonar2000
6 Replies
5538 Views
Last post July 05, 2012, 03:16:10 AM
by Rüdiger
0 Replies
3173 Views
Last post September 11, 2012, 07:30:05 AM
by gros21
5 Replies
4613 Views
Last post November 16, 2012, 02:23:21 PM
by ITGEEK
6 Replies
4987 Views
Last post November 03, 2014, 09:41:00 PM
by sfw1960
1 Replies
2289 Views
Last post March 05, 2019, 08:35:53 AM
by rnvinc


SimplePortal 2.3.3 © 2008-2010, SimplePortal