Author Topic: Help with exporting an old track  (Read 1532 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline coy

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Joined: Dec 2014
  • location: OH
  • Posts: 38
  • Unit(s): HELIX 5 SI GPS, HELIX 5 DI
  • Software: Default
  • Accessories: Default
Help with exporting an old track
« on: March 05, 2016, 07:00:16 PM »
Please see the picture.  You can see that I have recorded a track before.  I think?  I cannot locate the file to export though. The only thing it exports is a .hwr file.  Is there something I am missing?  Thanks


Offline bobcoy

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Joined: Sep 2011
  • location: arkansas
  • Posts: 286
  • Unit(s): 1197 & 1198
  • Software: 6.640 & 7.670
  • Accessories: iPilot-Link,GRHA GPS-HS,ETH 5PS
Re: Help with exporting an old track
« Reply #1 on: March 05, 2016, 07:55:17 PM »
Did you save that track? Do you use HBPC? Have you downloaded the waypoint management manual? Bob

Offline coy

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Joined: Dec 2014
  • location: OH
  • Posts: 38
  • Unit(s): HELIX 5 SI GPS, HELIX 5 DI
  • Software: Default
  • Accessories: Default
Re: Help with exporting an old track
« Reply #2 on: March 05, 2016, 08:03:58 PM »
Bob.   I don't know if I saved it.   If it is showing up,  isn't it somewhere saved?   Yes.  I have HBPC.   What is the way point manager?

Offline bobcoy

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Joined: Sep 2011
  • location: arkansas
  • Posts: 286
  • Unit(s): 1197 & 1198
  • Software: 6.640 & 7.670
  • Accessories: iPilot-Link,GRHA GPS-HS,ETH 5PS
Re: Help with exporting an old track
« Reply #3 on: March 05, 2016, 09:33:48 PM »
I think you must save a track before you can export it.Untill it is saved it is the current track(no name). Waypoint management is what humminbird uses on all current updates. All the procedures are listed in the manual. Bob

Offline rnvinc

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Joined: Nov 2009
  • location: Western KY
  • Posts: 3405
  • Unit(s): 1197c SI Combo, Onix 8ci SI Combo
  • Software: Dependent on whim
  • Accessories: AS GRHA, AS GPS HS, LowBird LSS 1 & 2
Re: Help with exporting an old track
« Reply #4 on: March 07, 2016, 09:20:38 AM »
Bob is correct ...

A track must have a beginning and an end to export ...

You should be able to Save Track under the Chart Xpress menu (1 Menu button press with a Chart active) ...

Rickie 

Offline coy

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Joined: Dec 2014
  • location: OH
  • Posts: 38
  • Unit(s): HELIX 5 SI GPS, HELIX 5 DI
  • Software: Default
  • Accessories: Default
Re: Help with exporting an old track
« Reply #5 on: March 07, 2016, 09:29:48 AM »
Thanks guys.   That was a small miss step on my part.   I didn't realize it keeps all of the track in the internal memory just waiting to be saved.   Isaved the track and then deleted it not realizing all of my data was on that track.   I lost a year of data...  :'(  live and learn!

Offline rnvinc

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Joined: Nov 2009
  • location: Western KY
  • Posts: 3405
  • Unit(s): 1197c SI Combo, Onix 8ci SI Combo
  • Software: Dependent on whim
  • Accessories: AS GRHA, AS GPS HS, LowBird LSS 1 & 2
Re: Help with exporting an old track
« Reply #6 on: March 07, 2016, 09:48:42 AM »
Thanks guys.   That was a small miss step on my part.   I didn't realize it keeps all of the track in the internal memory just waiting to be saved.   Isaved the track and then deleted it not realizing all of my data was on that track.   I lost a year of data...  :'(  live and learn!

The current track continues until you "Stop Tracking" or "Save Track" or "Delete current track" ...

Rickie

Offline bobcoy

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Joined: Sep 2011
  • location: arkansas
  • Posts: 286
  • Unit(s): 1197 & 1198
  • Software: 6.640 & 7.670
  • Accessories: iPilot-Link,GRHA GPS-HS,ETH 5PS
Re: Help with exporting an old track
« Reply #7 on: March 07, 2016, 11:22:32 AM »
Coy(makes me feel like I am talking to myself) You really didn't loose as much as you think. If you did not change the trackpoint time or distance parameters you probably didn't have more than a days worth. After 20,000 trackpoints available before the track records over itself. Default is 1 per second. It is also dependent on the minimum distance setting. Default being 16 feet. You might get 10 or so hours to the track length. From now on if you need all the track info I would save it every day. Personally I clear the current track everyday unless there was a reason to save it. Good luck fishing. Bob


Share me

Digg  Facebook  SlashDot  Delicious  Technorati  Twitter  Google  Yahoo

 

Related Topics

  Subject / Started by Replies Last post
4 Replies
2800 Views
Last post August 05, 2011, 05:32:03 AM
by sonar2000
2 Replies
1070 Views
Last post November 23, 2012, 02:51:13 PM
by huntingrev
5 Replies
3309 Views
Last post February 03, 2014, 02:54:56 PM
by JD88
1 Replies
827 Views
Last post June 02, 2014, 07:22:33 AM
by Humminbird_Greg
2 Replies
1308 Views
Last post July 07, 2014, 10:00:07 AM
by crappie60
2 Replies
1192 Views
Last post October 01, 2014, 02:00:53 PM
by fishermanatr
17 Replies
4548 Views
Last post June 06, 2015, 05:24:03 PM
by Bubba Canuck
4 Replies
2596 Views
Last post August 22, 2015, 03:06:41 PM
by bigdaddyguns


anything
SimplePortal 2.3.3 © 2008-2010, SimplePortal