Author Topic: Configuring contours on a Humminbird Device: Tutorial  (Read 11060 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline matt@reefmaster

  • Moderator
  • *
  • Joined: Mar 2010
  • Location: Sydney
  • Posts: 115
  • Unit(s): 997
  • Software: 4.75
Configuring contours on a Humminbird Device: Tutorial
« on: June 14, 2013, 06:04:07 PM »
Hi,
There is a new tutorial up which goes through the process of configuring tracks for display as contours on a Humminbird unit.

thanks,
Matt
ReefMaster - Waypoint Management and Underwater Mapping Software for Fishermen


Offline Terrible45

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Joined: May 2013
  • Location: France
  • Posts: 21
    • French Humminbird Forum
  • Unit(s): 998 HD SI - 998 SI
  • Software: V6.680 - Reefmaster
  • Accessories: TERROVA I pilot Link/Weathersense/360
Re: Configuring contours on a Humminbird Device: Tutorial
« Reply #1 on: June 15, 2013, 02:27:58 AM »
Hi Matt,

(sorry for my poor english  :'()

Thanks and very nice tuto.

The contours works great, but I personally have not done the option in my Humminbird. I will try in the next trial.

Matt, is it possible to have an option to select by group is done automatically by the software to the principle of contours lines (3 m, 4 m, 5 m, etc.) instead of doing it manually?

Matt, actually in this Reefmaster page's (http://media-content.reefmaster.com.au/images/configure-humminbird/write-file-dialog.png) when you want export a file Track this is on .ht, and waypoints on .Hwr. Is it possible to have an option to export a Track in file to .hit ? ( Track .ht but no depth, just a line picture) 

Best regards

Xavier "France"
LOL and VERY LOL

Offline matt@reefmaster

  • Moderator
  • *
  • Joined: Mar 2010
  • Location: Sydney
  • Posts: 115
  • Unit(s): 997
  • Software: 4.75
Re: Configuring contours on a Humminbird Device: Tutorial
« Reply #2 on: June 15, 2013, 05:55:56 AM »
Hi Xavier,
We are really keen to implement this, so that, for example, you could select an individual contour within ReefMaster and export it for use as an iTrack. Is there not way currently to convert a standard track to and iTrack on the Humminbird device? If there is, you could select a single contour and export that as a track.
We have implemented import of .HIT files into RM, but we need a bit more test data (more iTrack .HIT files) in order to properly determine the format for writing. From what I have seen of the format so far, it is quite simple but there are still a number of fields unknown to us, and we don't want to release something without knowing the impact that it might have on the unit. We do not currently have an iPilot/iTrack setup for testing.

thanks,
Matt
ReefMaster - Waypoint Management and Underwater Mapping Software for Fishermen

Offline Terrible45

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Joined: May 2013
  • Location: France
  • Posts: 21
    • French Humminbird Forum
  • Unit(s): 998 HD SI - 998 SI
  • Software: V6.680 - Reefmaster
  • Accessories: TERROVA I pilot Link/Weathersense/360
Re: Configuring contours on a Humminbird Device: Tutorial
« Reply #3 on: June 15, 2013, 03:07:10 PM »
I did some tests, on the water,  and it doesn't work. I call a speciallist Humminbird  France, to find a solution but nothing.

Map contour / map line, it does work  on the I Pilot Link only with a I track = file with extended .hit create since a I pilot link. With a Humminbird sonar i have a track with extended . ht and isn't compatible....

LOL and VERY LOL

Offline matt@reefmaster

  • Moderator
  • *
  • Joined: Mar 2010
  • Location: Sydney
  • Posts: 115
  • Unit(s): 997
  • Software: 4.75
Re: Configuring contours on a Humminbird Device: Tutorial
« Reply #4 on: June 16, 2013, 05:59:12 PM »
Hi Xavier,
Which part of the process didn't work, or are you talking about .HIT files?
If you want to send more information/files to support@reefmaster.com.au I will take a look.
thanks,
Matt
ReefMaster - Waypoint Management and Underwater Mapping Software for Fishermen

Offline Ken L

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Joined: Jan 2013
  • Location: Morristown, NJ
  • Posts: 48
  • Unit(s): 598C HD DI-SI
  • Software: 6.460
  • Accessories: none
Re: Configuring contours on a Humminbird Device: Tutorial
« Reply #5 on: September 14, 2013, 10:49:07 AM »
I have a 598c HD SI. It doesn't seem to have the Waypoints, Routes and Tracks topic that will allow me to configure my map. I have imported data as per the tutorial and it all shows but not as contours, only as the individual depth recordings. No depth readings are present either. Can this not be done on a 598?

Offline matt@reefmaster

  • Moderator
  • *
  • Joined: Mar 2010
  • Location: Sydney
  • Posts: 115
  • Unit(s): 997
  • Software: 4.75
Re: Configuring contours on a Humminbird Device: Tutorial
« Reply #6 on: September 15, 2013, 03:38:50 PM »
Hi Ken,
I don't have first-hand experience with the 598 but I had a look through the manual and it does appear to have the Waypoints, Routes and Tracks menu option, under the NAV menu. The configuration screen looks like it should work just fine for styling the track lines. Are you saying that you cannot find the menu option, or the menu option doesn't give you the track styling options? You need to select the track you want to style in the WRT screen, and then the config options should show.
See how you go and get back to me if there is still an issue.

thanks,
Matt
ReefMaster - Waypoint Management and Underwater Mapping Software for Fishermen

Offline Ken L

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Joined: Jan 2013
  • Location: Morristown, NJ
  • Posts: 48
  • Unit(s): 598C HD DI-SI
  • Software: 6.460
  • Accessories: none
Re: Configuring contours on a Humminbird Device: Tutorial
« Reply #7 on: September 16, 2013, 04:01:41 PM »
I followed the instructions, trying to import a map. I turned on the unit and then inserted the SD card to which I had transferred the map. A window opened allowing me to select a WRT option. This I did and got a very small depiction of my map with only contour lines. When I zoomed in the lines went away and all I got was dots. When I repeat this procedure the window that opens says no new data available when I insert the card and there's no sign of the map. The track icons are still there but there are two other icons that aren't named and show no listing for data.

Offline Ken L

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Joined: Jan 2013
  • Location: Morristown, NJ
  • Posts: 48
  • Unit(s): 598C HD DI-SI
  • Software: 6.460
  • Accessories: none
Re: Configuring contours on a Humminbird Device: Tutorial
« Reply #8 on: September 16, 2013, 04:59:25 PM »
well I didn't really follow the instructions, DUh, buy when I did I found my map. The edit screen doesn't give me any other option buy dots. how can I get lies? 

Offline Kokanee

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Joined: Mar 2013
  • Location: Puget Sound, WA
  • Posts: 41
  • Unit(s): 598ci HD SI w/HDSI xducer , 561, 400ID
  • Software: 6.460
Re: Configuring contours on a Humminbird Device: Tutorial
« Reply #9 on: September 16, 2013, 05:35:15 PM »
Hi Matt,

I have a 598ci SI and have created many user maps with ReefMaster. When I load the SD into the 598, a dialog screen asks if I want to upload nav data - yes/no? I don't get a screen asking about Waypoints, etc. like the above posts say. It sounds to me like he is not putting his user maps into a Matrix folder on his SD card, and this is why they are not loading properly. If one follows your tutorial, exactly, it works great on a 598 (which is identical to a 798 without the dual SD and Ethernet).

Lou
Oncorhynchus nerka

Offline matt@reefmaster

  • Moderator
  • *
  • Joined: Mar 2010
  • Location: Sydney
  • Posts: 115
  • Unit(s): 997
  • Software: 4.75
Re: Configuring contours on a Humminbird Device: Tutorial
« Reply #10 on: September 17, 2013, 04:58:43 AM »
Hi Ken,
I'm not exactly sure what is going on, but when you open up the waypoints, routes and tracks window can you see tracks with the name of your user map in the list? You may need to scroll through the list to see them, but - depending on how you exported the map (separate tracks for minors/color cycling), you should find one or more tracks with the name of your map. Major contours will have a 'C' suffix (additionally with numbers 1-3 if color cycling), minors an 'M' and shoreline 'S'. For now that doesn't matter - just scroll to one of the map tracks, if you can see them, and press the right-arrow button on your unit. That should bring up the "Edit Track" box in the image below, where you can set color, line style etc. Scroll down to "Style", press the right-arrow again and then scroll through the list of options. When you're done, press left-arrow, down until you get to "Save", then right-arrow to save.
See how you go and get back to me.

ila_rendered
ila_rendered

cheers,
Matt
ReefMaster - Waypoint Management and Underwater Mapping Software for Fishermen

Offline Ken L

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Joined: Jan 2013
  • Location: Morristown, NJ
  • Posts: 48
  • Unit(s): 598C HD DI-SI
  • Software: 6.460
  • Accessories: none
Re: Configuring contours on a Humminbird Device: Tutorial
« Reply #11 on: September 17, 2013, 09:10:37 AM »
I see the name but not the C. There is hope.

Offline Ken L

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Joined: Jan 2013
  • Location: Morristown, NJ
  • Posts: 48
  • Unit(s): 598C HD DI-SI
  • Software: 6.460
  • Accessories: none
Re: Configuring contours on a Humminbird Device: Tutorial
« Reply #12 on: September 17, 2013, 12:52:49 PM »
Just to clarify, I do get a list of my tracks and my map is also on the list. I bring up the edit screen but the style selection will not give the line choice. Apparently all I'm getting is a long, 1599, series of dots, presumably representing each of my individual readings. This I can see on my unit but lines would be better.
I'm getting the feeling that i'm running out of things i can do wrong or so i hope.

Offline matt@reefmaster

  • Moderator
  • *
  • Joined: Mar 2010
  • Location: Sydney
  • Posts: 115
  • Unit(s): 997
  • Software: 4.75
Re: Configuring contours on a Humminbird Device: Tutorial
« Reply #13 on: September 17, 2013, 12:55:50 PM »
Ken,
So if you scroll to the track, and click the right arrow, do you get the Edit Track window at all? If you do, what does it show? I can't be 100% that it is possible on a 598 because I haven't tried it - maybe someone else can help here?
Matt
ReefMaster - Waypoint Management and Underwater Mapping Software for Fishermen

Offline Ken L

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Joined: Jan 2013
  • Location: Morristown, NJ
  • Posts: 48
  • Unit(s): 598C HD DI-SI
  • Software: 6.460
  • Accessories: none
Re: Configuring contours on a Humminbird Device: Tutorial
« Reply #14 on: September 17, 2013, 03:15:24 PM »
Baby steps. I managed to actually transfer the map to my unit but in addition to the map the tracks from which it was generated are superimposed. it leaves it looking very cluttered and hard to read. Is there  away to eliminate the tracks and leave just the map?

Offline matt@reefmaster

  • Moderator
  • *
  • Joined: Mar 2010
  • Location: Sydney
  • Posts: 115
  • Unit(s): 997
  • Software: 4.75
Re: Configuring contours on a Humminbird Device: Tutorial
« Reply #15 on: September 17, 2013, 04:09:53 PM »
Ken,
My guess is that you have more than one copy of the map tracks on your machine - once you set the style to solid (did you find that option?) then the dots should disappear. Maybe try looking through that track list, or even removing all your nav data and reimporting - assuming you have it all backed up.

cheers,
Matt
ReefMaster - Waypoint Management and Underwater Mapping Software for Fishermen

Offline Ken L

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Joined: Jan 2013
  • Location: Morristown, NJ
  • Posts: 48
  • Unit(s): 598C HD DI-SI
  • Software: 6.460
  • Accessories: none
Re: Configuring contours on a Humminbird Device: Tutorial
« Reply #16 on: September 17, 2013, 05:46:07 PM »
I found the line option and it transferred nicely. The problem is that all my tracks did too. I will attempt to clean it all up.

Offline gimez

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Joined: Dec 2014
  • Location: Portugal
  • Posts: 20
  • Unit(s): matrix97 797
Re: Configuring contours on a Humminbird Device: Tutorial
« Reply #17 on: January 20, 2015, 02:17:47 PM »
hello, i try the reffmaster, and I'm thinking in buy one, but i have one question: humminbird 797 ci can suport segmented tracks? i try with GPX tracks and the unit draw a line conecting the segments. this will appens with reefmaster? or is just a GPX track problem?

Thanks

Offline matt@reefmaster

  • Moderator
  • *
  • Joined: Mar 2010
  • Location: Sydney
  • Posts: 115
  • Unit(s): 997
  • Software: 4.75
Re: Configuring contours on a Humminbird Device: Tutorial
« Reply #18 on: January 20, 2015, 02:35:25 PM »
Hi Gimez,
Yes the 797 can support segmented tracks but not in the GPX format. Segmented tracks must be created in the Humminbird Track (.HT) format, which can be done in ReefMaster.

Matt
ReefMaster - Waypoint Management and Underwater Mapping Software for Fishermen

Offline gimez

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Joined: Dec 2014
  • Location: Portugal
  • Posts: 20
  • Unit(s): matrix97 797
Re: Configuring contours on a Humminbird Device: Tutorial
« Reply #19 on: January 24, 2015, 05:08:32 PM »
Hello Matt,
I try to view some segmented tracks in my unit and I notice the tracks are conected, not segmented. Its wired because the same track is not connected (continuos) in other units. The tracks are not created by reefmaster, but they are segmented
Are you shure about 797 and segmented tracks? i like to buy reefmaster but only if my unit suport segmented Tracks...

thanks

Offline matt@reefmaster

  • Moderator
  • *
  • Joined: Mar 2010
  • Location: Sydney
  • Posts: 115
  • Unit(s): 997
  • Software: 4.75
Re: Configuring contours on a Humminbird Device: Tutorial
« Reply #20 on: January 25, 2015, 03:18:20 AM »
The 797 definitely supports segmented tracks - what was the source of the file you used to test with? HBPC does not support segmented gpx tracks, or at least it doesn't create segmented HT files from them which can be used in the unit.
If you PM me your email address I can send you some example files to try.

Matt
ReefMaster - Waypoint Management and Underwater Mapping Software for Fishermen


Share me

Digg  Facebook  SlashDot  Delicious  Technorati  Twitter  Google  Yahoo

 

Related Topics

  Subject / Started by Replies Last post
15 Replies
6981 Views
Last post April 24, 2010, 11:34:39 PM
by Dam Yankee
1 Replies
2984 Views
Last post June 09, 2010, 01:11:03 PM
by Peter
12 Replies
15393 Views
Last post April 07, 2016, 10:27:19 PM
by dakota
0 Replies
2256 Views
Last post January 20, 2014, 12:05:41 AM
by salado
1 Replies
2052 Views
Last post October 28, 2014, 08:46:28 AM
by Humminbird_Greg
1 Replies
1646 Views
Last post April 25, 2015, 07:57:56 PM
by MT-ED
8 Replies
3969 Views
Last post June 10, 2015, 11:50:43 PM
by rnvinc
1 Replies
875 Views
Last post August 20, 2019, 05:44:24 PM
by rnvinc


anything
SimplePortal 2.3.3 © 2008-2010, SimplePortal