Author Topic: 1198 networking  (Read 2000 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline bill1wts

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Joined: Dec 2012
  • location: VA
  • Posts: 9
  • Unit(s): 1198
1198 networking
« on: January 05, 2013, 12:52:12 PM »
Been awhile but finally got it done. Earlier post i was having problem networking two 1198's. They didnt know they were connected ... no network menu option. You all said to upgrade software and try again. Finally upgraded software everything seems to work fine on both units. I have two gps receivers - one hooked to each unit. I used an ethernet cable to connect the two units. Network option comes up and shows options for sharing waypoints. Also I can choose which transducer to pick on head 1 and which gps receiver to use. Dont have any tracks saved so dont know if i can share those yet. But everything seems to work in garage and is what i expected.

In the mean time a friend gave me an interlink controller network connection unit - brand new with all the cables...my question is will I gain anything using the interlink controller instead of the ethernet cable? I have two gps receivers but no other accessories. Was wondering if it is worth hooking the interlink up.

thanks for the help


Offline LocDown

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Joined: Apr 2011
  • location: Wichita, Ks
  • Posts: 484
    • Fishing Videos
  • Unit(s): 998HD Matrix12 360
  • Software: 7.080/4.750/2.030
  • Accessories: weathersense
Re: 1198 networking
« Reply #1 on: January 05, 2013, 02:24:50 PM »
Interlink is the old network interface. The ethernet network is a lot faster than the interlink, plus with ethernet you can share more info than interlink.

Offline rnvinc

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Joined: Nov 2009
  • location: Western KY
  • Posts: 3464
  • Unit(s): 1197c SI Combo, Onix 8ci SI Combo
  • Software: Dependent on whim
  • Accessories: AS GRHA, AS GPS HS, LowBird LSS 1 & 2
Re: 1198 networking
« Reply #2 on: January 06, 2013, 09:45:55 AM »
Interlink allows 1 advantage (to some)..

Waypoints marked on 1 unit are actually copied into the Interlink and the 2nd unit memory...

Ethernet only allows waypoints to be "seen" in the other unit's memory....

If the unit with the "residing" waypoint data is powered off ....the powered on unit cannot "see" the other's waypoint data....

Rickie
« Last Edit: January 06, 2013, 09:49:47 AM by rnvinc »

Offline TroyBoy30

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Joined: Oct 2012
  • location: Lake Lanier
  • Posts: 92
  • Unit(s): 1198
Re: 1198 networking
« Reply #3 on: January 07, 2013, 01:07:47 PM »
If that's important, then just export them from one unit and import them into the other


Share me

Digg  Facebook  SlashDot  Delicious  Technorati  Twitter  Google  Yahoo

 

Related Topics

  Subject / Started by Replies Last post
19 Replies
21300 Views
Last post August 21, 2018, 08:36:30 AM
by rnvinc
2 Replies
2629 Views
Last post February 22, 2011, 08:02:00 PM
by Rmax
1 Replies
1152 Views
Last post June 05, 2013, 03:49:33 PM
by rnvinc
2 Replies
2016 Views
Last post October 07, 2013, 10:51:21 PM
by racing2fast
1 Replies
1619 Views
Last post January 07, 2014, 10:11:19 AM
by Humminbird_Greg
5 Replies
1924 Views
Last post February 18, 2014, 08:09:50 AM
by Humminbird_Greg
3 Replies
1628 Views
Last post February 28, 2014, 07:54:08 AM
by Humminbird_Greg
3 Replies
911 Views
Last post October 11, 2017, 06:59:13 PM
by rnvinc


anything
SimplePortal 2.3.3 © 2008-2010, SimplePortal