Author Topic: Can I mount a 141c transducer and a 570DI tranducer on the transom  (Read 2795 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline ctf58

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Joined: Aug 2011
  • Location: Henderson Ky
  • Posts: 36
  • Unit(s): 570 DI
I have a HB 141c on the console and the transducer mounted on the right side of the transom of my BassCat Sabre. I thinking about moving my bow 570DI transducer from the trolling motor to the transom as well because I thing I will get a better image because the transom is more stable than the trolling motor. Will I have to worry about cross talk? I would like to be able to leave the 570DI in 200kHz for the wider coverage but if I can eliminate the chance of crosstalk by simply running the 570DI in 455kHz I can live with that. Honestly I plan on using it mostly in Down Imaging or dual mode.

I had added/asked this in a older post of mine but did not get much feedback. Sorry if I offend anyone due to asking the same question in two post.
Asked towards bottom of this linked post
http://forums.sideimagingsoft.com/index.php?topic=2913.0
Whistler was good enough to reply to it and I thank him for his time.

Here are the specs on both so no one has to look them up.

Humminbird 141c
Sonar
Single Beam
200 kHz / 20° @ -10db
Depth: 600 ft.
    150 Watts (RMS)
    1200 Watts (Peak-to-Peak)

Humminbird 570DI
 
Down Imaging®
Sonar Coverage    

    455 kHz / 75° @ -10db
    800 kHz / 45° @ -10db

Dual Beam PLUS™
Sonar Coverage    

    200 kHz / 25° @ -10db
    455 kHz / 16° @ -10db

Target Separation:    2.5 inches
Power Output (RMS):    500 Watts (RMS)
Power Output (Peak to Peak): 4000 Watts (Peak-to-Peak)

PS Sorry for all the posting but I herniated 2 disc in my back and am off work and board out of my mind so my boat is all I got to think about. ::)
 

« Last Edit: January 12, 2012, 09:34:08 AM by ctf58 »


Offline ctf58

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Joined: Aug 2011
  • Location: Henderson Ky
  • Posts: 36
  • Unit(s): 570 DI
Re: Can I mount a 141c transducer and a 570DI tranducer on the transom
« Reply #1 on: January 12, 2012, 09:26:00 PM »
anyone Home??? :-[

Offline ITGEEK

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Joined: Aug 2009
  • Location: Maryland
  • Posts: 1552
  • Unit(s): 1198c -Team Watters SS - Lexerd SP
  • Software: 7.670
  • Accessories: XM Weather - Weathersense
Re: Can I mount a 141c transducer and a 570DI tranducer on the transom
« Reply #2 on: January 13, 2012, 02:29:26 PM »
Greg can confirm this, but I think you are going to have problems if you try to
run both units at the same time.
I think both units will be pinging for depth at 200khz.
Having both transducers on the transom will probably be way too close to each other.
If I was going to do that, I'd have one as far left and one as far right as possible.
You will still most likely get interference.

Good Luck.

Offline sonar2000

  • Chief
  • Global Moderator
  • *
  • Joined: May 2009
  • Location: Kerr Lake NC
  • Posts: 5970
  • It is not lost ...it has been misplaced.
  • Unit(s): (1) 1197 (1) 1198
  • Software: 6.6
  • Accessories: Tow Fish
Re: Can I mount a 141c transducer and a 570DI tranducer on the transom
« Reply #3 on: January 13, 2012, 03:43:10 PM »
Multiple transducers regardless of boat can have interference affects. It seems a bit more prevalent on the HB products.
Si more so than 2d. I would guess the beams make some of the difference.
Some work fine and then there are those who have isues...
Just search this forum for the hits.
Chuck

Offline Humminbird_Greg

  • Humminbird Helper
  • Humminbird Staff
  • *
  • Joined: Mar 2009
  • Location: Eufaula, AL.
  • Posts: 6546
  • I help because I can
    • Humminbird Web Site
Re: Can I mount a 141c transducer and a 570DI tranducer on the transom
« Reply #4 on: January 16, 2012, 02:24:13 PM »
Sorry ctf58 but I was busy with my normal job duties all last week so I did not get out on this board to answer questions.

ITGEEK is right.
You may experience some sonar-to-sonar interference between the units as they both use the same 200kHz to determine water depth.  No guarantee that it will happen and none that it won’t.  If it does you can try setting the Noise Filter menu to a higher setting but that is about it.  It may not be enough to overcome the interference.

Greg Walters at Humminbird
gwalters@johnsonoutdoors.com


Share me

Digg  Facebook  SlashDot  Delicious  Technorati  Twitter  Google  Yahoo

 

Related Topics

  Subject / Started by Replies Last post
2 Replies
4285 Views
Last post September 01, 2010, 12:37:02 PM
by stoporilshoot
3 Replies
3373 Views
Last post September 02, 2010, 02:45:53 AM
by stoporilshoot
7 Replies
5629 Views
Last post June 09, 2011, 10:54:04 PM
by Roddy
0 Replies
3428 Views
Last post August 19, 2011, 01:42:45 AM
by RGecy
3 Replies
3990 Views
Last post January 08, 2012, 05:37:08 PM
by sonar2000
20 Replies
34485 Views
Last post March 28, 2012, 12:59:28 PM
by SternSaver
8 Replies
3421 Views
Last post November 11, 2012, 12:14:59 AM
by gawnfishin
18 Replies
8109 Views
Last post May 27, 2014, 01:14:46 AM
by rnvinc


anything
SimplePortal 2.3.3 © 2008-2010, SimplePortal