Author Topic: Max Depth: Has anyone mfg a sys to go 450-500' depth?  (Read 4836 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Roddy

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Joined: Feb 2011
  • Location: Mount Pleasant,Charleston Co,SC. USA
  • Posts: 607
  • Scan,scan and rescan
  • Unit(s): 797c2, 947c,987SI/DI,570di,1198,1155,Ip
  • Accessories: wx/Tow Fish,Drop Cam's,ROV''s
Max Depth: Has anyone mfg a sys to go 450-500' depth?
« on: April 12, 2011, 01:10:45 PM »
Just rec the 300' ext for the cctv in TF#3. It's raining today. I have 2500' CAT6 cable. Off to the work shope! ;D >:D Roddy
Scan,Scan and Rescan Roddy


Offline Rickard

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Joined: May 2009
  • Location: Mariefred, Sweden
  • Posts: 512
  • Unit(s): 999, 981, M37, LowBird-1, LowBird-2
Re: Max Depth: Has anyone mfg a sys to go 450-500' depth?
« Reply #1 on: April 21, 2011, 04:17:29 PM »
Roddy,

As you must have noticed by now, nobody has tried with a 450' extention and got presentable results. The reason is most likely the expected very high attenuation in such a long cable, the screen will show noise, and that's it. The longest functional cable, confirmed with images, I'm aware of is our french friend Abra's 60 m (180') "space technology cable".

Regards,
Rickard

Offline Roddy

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Joined: Feb 2011
  • Location: Mount Pleasant,Charleston Co,SC. USA
  • Posts: 607
  • Scan,scan and rescan
  • Unit(s): 797c2, 947c,987SI/DI,570di,1198,1155,Ip
  • Accessories: wx/Tow Fish,Drop Cam's,ROV''s
Re: Max Depth: Has anyone mfg a sys to go 450-500' depth?
« Reply #2 on: April 21, 2011, 05:26:32 PM »
Thanks Richard; I have got to try it. Maybe MFG a filter/amp or something.  >:D There are too many nice wk around Charleston,SC. USA to look at. Roddy :) >:D
Scan,Scan and Rescan Roddy

Offline Rickard

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Joined: May 2009
  • Location: Mariefred, Sweden
  • Posts: 512
  • Unit(s): 999, 981, M37, LowBird-1, LowBird-2
Re: Max Depth: Has anyone mfg a sys to go 450-500' depth?
« Reply #3 on: April 21, 2011, 05:36:40 PM »
Please, try it!

But manufacturing an amplifier seems difficult. I have asked people for years to come up with a device that can survive the 1000 V transmit voltage and amplify the millivolt receive signals.

Rickard

Offline Roddy

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Joined: Feb 2011
  • Location: Mount Pleasant,Charleston Co,SC. USA
  • Posts: 607
  • Scan,scan and rescan
  • Unit(s): 797c2, 947c,987SI/DI,570di,1198,1155,Ip
  • Accessories: wx/Tow Fish,Drop Cam's,ROV''s
Re: Max Depth: Has anyone mfg a sys to go 450-500' depth?
« Reply #4 on: April 22, 2011, 12:33:43 AM »
If the Navy can get high power sonor why can't I !!! Roddy >:D
Scan,Scan and Rescan Roddy

Offline Rüdiger

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Joined: Feb 2011
  • Location: Hjältevad Sweden
  • Posts: 454
  • He who seeks finds
  • Unit(s): 898 CX SI ;EAGLE 500CDF
  • Software: DrDepth BT+SS
  • Accessories: Towfish and Towcam
Re: Max Depth: Has anyone mfg a sys to go 450-500' depth?
« Reply #5 on: April 22, 2011, 03:13:09 AM »
Hey all  :)

Is it possible to create a booster between the unit and the transducer ?

mvh
Rüdiger
Sorry
English is not my first language !

German Forum
Side Scanning and more
https://www.sob-international.com/

Offline sonar2000

  • Chief
  • Global Moderator
  • *
  • Joined: May 2009
  • Location: Kerr Lake NC
  • Posts: 5970
  • It is not lost ...it has been misplaced.
  • Unit(s): (1) 1197 (1) 1198
  • Software: 6.6
  • Accessories: Tow Fish
Re: Max Depth: Has anyone mfg a sys to go 450-500' depth?
« Reply #6 on: April 22, 2011, 09:40:50 AM »
Roddy, the Navy units cost a whole lot more than the HB stuff.
If we really are serious about side scan then it is the bucks that do the job...
Chuck

Offline Roddy

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Joined: Feb 2011
  • Location: Mount Pleasant,Charleston Co,SC. USA
  • Posts: 607
  • Scan,scan and rescan
  • Unit(s): 797c2, 947c,987SI/DI,570di,1198,1155,Ip
  • Accessories: wx/Tow Fish,Drop Cam's,ROV''s
Re: Max Depth: Has anyone mfg a sys to go 450-500' depth?
« Reply #7 on: April 22, 2011, 11:04:47 AM »
Rudiger; Booster/amp/filter I'am going to give it a shot! It looks good   on paper.

Chuck; I do not have to pay off everyone in DC to get the job done!    Enjoy All  Roddy >:D
Scan,Scan and Rescan Roddy


Share me

Digg  Facebook  SlashDot  Delicious  Technorati  Twitter  Google  Yahoo

 

Related Topics

  Subject / Started by Replies Last post
9 Replies
4733 Views
Last post March 29, 2010, 01:17:11 PM
by sonar2000
5 Replies
5640 Views
Last post April 06, 2010, 03:38:06 PM
by Chiboo
6 Replies
5811 Views
Last post July 21, 2010, 10:54:35 AM
by ETnSC
5 Replies
3962 Views
Last post May 18, 2010, 12:29:28 PM
by Humminbird_Greg
8 Replies
8778 Views
Last post June 23, 2010, 09:24:55 PM
by reelman
2 Replies
6300 Views
Last post June 11, 2010, 08:42:41 PM
by majflyboy
3 Replies
3253 Views
Last post July 12, 2010, 01:47:34 PM
by RGecy
6 Replies
4552 Views
Last post October 25, 2014, 02:56:14 PM
by DiveExplorer


anything
SimplePortal 2.3.3 © 2008-2010, SimplePortal