Author Topic: NMEA OUTPUT FOR DEPTH  (Read 3644 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Iowa

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Joined: Oct 2012
  • Posts: 5
  • Unit(s): 998csi
NMEA OUTPUT FOR DEPTH
« on: October 04, 2012, 01:10:25 PM »
I am trying to output the digital depth to my lap top.  I am in simulation mode.  I do not see any data sentences.  Should I see data in simulation, or do I need a satellite  fix?.  I followed  the FAQ.  Got the correct cable and using Hyperterminal.


Thanks


Offline Humminbird_Greg

  • Humminbird Helper
  • Humminbird Staff
  • *
  • Joined: Mar 2009
  • Location: Eufaula, AL.
  • Posts: 6546
  • I help because I can
    • Humminbird Web Site
Re: NMEA OUTPUT FOR DEPTH
« Reply #1 on: October 04, 2012, 01:37:20 PM »
I don’t think that it will output any NMEA data while running in the Simulation mode.  I can’t check this to be sure either as my work PC does not have HyperTerminal on it.  Try forcing the unit into the Normal operating mode and see if you get any sort of NMEA output or play back a sonar recording.

Are you from Iowa?  I have family up there in Rockford, Garner and Atlantic.

Greg Walters at Humminbird
gwalters@johnsonoutdoors.com

Offline Iowa

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Joined: Oct 2012
  • Posts: 5
  • Unit(s): 998csi
Re: NMEA OUTPUT FOR DEPTH
« Reply #2 on: October 04, 2012, 02:27:11 PM »
Thanks,

'Iowa' is the vessel the Hummingbird will be on.  I am in an office building in Chicago.

I moved the unit to a window to get a Satellite fix.  Now I the receiver is getting position. And transducer is in a bucket. 

Not in simulation any more.

But still no NMEA output.  I have the PC connect marked NMEA Com plugged right into the back of the unit..
Do I need the Y cable that split the port into NMEA Comm  and ACCY Com plugged in?


Is the output Baud fixed?

Offline Iowa

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Joined: Oct 2012
  • Posts: 5
  • Unit(s): 998csi
Re: NMEA OUTPUT FOR DEPTH
« Reply #3 on: October 04, 2012, 02:45:28 PM »
Also do I need a Null MODEM cable between PC Connect cable and laptop?

Thanks for your help.

Offline Iowa

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Joined: Oct 2012
  • Posts: 5
  • Unit(s): 998csi
Re: NMEA OUTPUT FOR DEPTH
« Reply #4 on: October 04, 2012, 04:48:28 PM »
Thank you Dawn T. from Hummingbird Service.

The GPS receiver pigtail had to get spliced to the AS-PC cable for NMEA data to be outputted to a laptop.

Offline Rüdiger

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Joined: Feb 2011
  • Location: Hjältevad Sweden
  • Posts: 433
  • He who seeks finds
  • Unit(s): 898 CX SI ;EAGLE 500CDF
  • Software: DrDepth BT+SS
  • Accessories: Towfish and Towcam
Re: NMEA OUTPUT FOR DEPTH
« Reply #5 on: October 05, 2012, 02:54:01 AM »
Hi Iowa

From the pigtail you will only get the position no depthinformations :-[
HB does not have a NEMA output with full information ( depth, positon, temperature ).

mvh
Rüdiger
Sorry
English is not my first language !
http://de.groups.yahoo.com/group/SOB-International/

Offline Humminbird_Greg

  • Humminbird Helper
  • Humminbird Staff
  • *
  • Joined: Mar 2009
  • Location: Eufaula, AL.
  • Posts: 6546
  • I help because I can
    • Humminbird Web Site
Re: NMEA OUTPUT FOR DEPTH
« Reply #6 on: October 05, 2012, 01:28:05 PM »
Iowa,
I was wondering how you had the GPS Receiver and a PC connected to your 998c Si unit at the same time…  Yes, you will have to tap into the NMEA pigtail wire.  If you use the White and Black connection wires you will get water depth and temperature sent out with the rest of the NMEA 0183 sentences.  Connecting to the Green and Black connection wires will be the NMEA data straight from the GPS Receiver without the water depth and temp.  Yes, fixed baud rate of 4800.

Greg Walters at Humminbird
gwalters@johnsonoutdoors.com

Offline Iowa

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Joined: Oct 2012
  • Posts: 5
  • Unit(s): 998csi
Re: NMEA OUTPUT FOR DEPTH
« Reply #7 on: October 08, 2012, 05:15:56 PM »
Used black and white...

NMEA Data to Computer Connection
Using AS-PC Computer Connection Cable and
NMEA ‘Pigtail’ Connection from GPS Receiver
Prep the PC Connect cable by removing the NMEA-COM Male Connector and stripping the
Black/Bare and White wires.
Prep the NMEA ‘Pigtail’ wire by removing the black plastic cap.
Connections are simple:
1. Connect the Black/Bare wires from each cable together.
2. Connect the White wires from each cable together.
NOTE: The Green and Red wires from these cables are not used and so need to be terminated in
such a way that they make no electrical contact with anything else.


Share me

Digg  Facebook  SlashDot  Delicious  Technorati  Twitter  Google  Yahoo

 

Related Topics

  Subject / Started by Replies Last post
12 Replies
8121 Views
Last post July 15, 2009, 11:01:58 AM
by Humminbird_Greg
0 Replies
1761 Views
Last post October 09, 2009, 03:55:58 AM
by kucai
0 Replies
1615 Views
Last post June 06, 2010, 07:19:31 AM
by Timo
20 Replies
13818 Views
Last post July 21, 2012, 10:46:47 AM
by erocks4u
4 Replies
1748 Views
Last post May 28, 2015, 12:20:03 PM
by ITGEEK
3 Replies
2943 Views
Last post June 14, 2017, 09:55:22 AM
by Juicegoose
1 Replies
1142 Views
Last post July 10, 2018, 02:02:23 PM
by marknfish
1 Replies
1333 Views
Last post August 13, 2018, 11:01:30 PM
by rnvinc


SimplePortal 2.3.3 © 2008-2010, SimplePortal