Author Topic: help please  (Read 3047 times)

Offline Hutchy

• Unit(s): 798 CI SI HD
  • Software: NAVIONICS GOLD
  • Accessories: NONE
help please
« on: September 11, 2012, 08:19:45 AM »
Hello  all I am a newbie. I have got  a 798ci si hd. I fish estuary and close inshore ocean. My side scanning doesn't seem to have the detail it should. Cruising through the three bridge crossings and I could detect pylons. Any suggestions. Thanks  for your help.

Offline Humminbird_Greg

• Humminbird Helper
  • Humminbird Staff
  • I help because I can
    • Humminbird Web Site
Re: help please
« Reply #1 on: September 11, 2012, 01:27:00 PM »
Try posting a Screen Snapshot of what your unit is showing you.  Most can than make setting suggestions based on what they see.  It would also help to post you Si-sonar menu settings as well when you post the pictures.

Greg Walters at Humminbird
gwalters@johnsonoutdoors.com

Offline Hutchy

« Reply #2 on: September 12, 2012, 07:33:30 AM »
Thanks Greg for the suggestion, do I take screens shots with my camera phones. If its not seeing bridge pylons, its gotta be in the settings somewhere, yeah?
Rgds
Hutchy

Offline rnvinc

• Unit(s): 1197c SI Combo, SOLIX G2 MSI
  • Software: Dependent on whim
  • Accessories: AS GRHA, MEGA 360, LowBird LSS 1 & 2
« Reply #3 on: September 12, 2012, 09:30:12 AM »
Vertical structures such as bridge pilings are a challenge with SI technology...

The first thing to understand is that the SI sonar beam is very thin front to back..(less than 1 inch at the xducer)...

Then consider the speed at which you pass by the vertical structure...

Taking those 2 points to mind...it is very likely that there are actually very few sound wave "pings" that come into contact with the vertical structure to be reflected back to the xducer...

Just for explaination sake let's say you are SI scanning by a bridge piling that is 3ft wide...
Let's say the boat is travelling by the piling at 3mph...