Author Topic: 798 ci si transducer placement  (Read 5042 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline mattpurcell

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Joined: Aug 2012
  • Location: michigan
  • Posts: 3
  • Unit(s): 798 ci si combo
798 ci si transducer placement
« on: August 10, 2012, 12:25:26 PM »
Please advise on best location for transducer mount.

2000 procraft pro 175

I am looking at :

On lower stepped transom right above center drain

Or

Centered on roof of step more towards back

Feel free to give recommendation


Offline Humminbird_Greg

  • Humminbird Helper
  • Humminbird Staff
  • *
  • Joined: Mar 2009
  • Location: Eufaula, AL.
  • Posts: 6546
  • I help because I can
    • Humminbird Web Site
Re: 798 ci si transducer placement
« Reply #1 on: August 10, 2012, 12:50:03 PM »
Are you trying to use this one CSi transducer for high-speed depth readings?
If so, then I think that you will have to install it just to the right of the rightmost drain hole/outlet.  This of course will expose it to possible damage from stumps rocks and the like.

Instead I recommend that you install it just to the right of the motor mount (up on the transom, not the step) and install an XP-9-20 inside-the-hull DualBeam transducer and an AS-Si-DB-Y cable to connect both to your 798ci Si unit.  This will help protect the CSi transducer and give the best possible high-speed depth readings.

Greg Walters at Humminbird
gwalters@johnsonoutdoors.com

Offline mattpurcell

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Joined: Aug 2012
  • Location: michigan
  • Posts: 3
  • Unit(s): 798 ci si combo
Re: 798 ci si transducer placement
« Reply #2 on: August 10, 2012, 01:29:11 PM »
I am prefering to utilize for high speed depth as well as low speed side imaging.  Unfortunately the step is bowed and the only "perpindicular" mounting location would be centered above the drains.  That is what made me consider the possibility of mounting to the roof of the step  (I had seen some examples of this installation, but because someone did it does not mean it works).  I am open to the idea of adding another inside the hull transducer but was looking to make this as simple and inexpensive as possible.  However I am willing to "do it right" rather than to do it over.

Offline Humminbird_Greg

  • Humminbird Helper
  • Humminbird Staff
  • *
  • Joined: Mar 2009
  • Location: Eufaula, AL.
  • Posts: 6546
  • I help because I can
    • Humminbird Web Site
Re: 798 ci si transducer placement
« Reply #3 on: August 10, 2012, 01:46:22 PM »
Well if you place it over the drain plug it will either not work at high speeds or could cause problems with the water flow through the propeller and possibly the water intake for the motor (anything sticking down in the water can cause an air cavitation bubble to form behind it at high speeds).  No way to know if it will work for sure without mounting it and trying it.  I think your best bet is the two transducer system as many have done.

Greg Walters at Humminbird
gwalters@johnsonoutdoors.com

Offline mattpurcell

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Joined: Aug 2012
  • Location: michigan
  • Posts: 3
  • Unit(s): 798 ci si combo
Re: 798 ci si transducer placement
« Reply #4 on: August 12, 2012, 06:54:29 PM »
OK, I am following your advice.  What are the options for transducer (dual beam -quad beam)  How does that work with the Y cable?  will I need to toggle my system between or is it using info from both?    Ignore details of last picture.  Represents temp install untill verification of operation, at which point cables will be secured.
 

ps could you come hook it up for me (LOL) JK

Matt
« Last Edit: August 13, 2012, 03:43:23 PM by mattpurcell »

Offline Humminbird_Greg

  • Humminbird Helper
  • Humminbird Staff
  • *
  • Joined: Mar 2009
  • Location: Eufaula, AL.
  • Posts: 6546
  • I help because I can
    • Humminbird Web Site
Re: 798 ci si transducer placement
« Reply #5 on: August 16, 2012, 03:38:08 PM »
If you are using the AS-Si-DB-Y cable than you really only should buy the DualBeam transducer.  If a QuadraBeam transducer is connected through they AS-Si-DB-Y cable the added side beams will not work as the AS-Si-DB-Y cable will not electrically connect them to the unit.

If using the AS-Si-DB-Y cable you do not need to make any changes to the Transducer Select menu.


Now if you instead decide to use a QuadraBeam transducer and the TS3 Transducer Switch: the additional side beams of the QuadraBeam transducer will work but you will have to toggle the switch and Transducer Select menu back and forth when you want to use this transducer.

Greg Walters at Humminbird
gwalters@johnsonoutdoors.com


Share me

Digg  Facebook  SlashDot  Delicious  Technorati  Twitter  Google  Yahoo

 

Related Topics

  Subject / Started by Replies Last post
1 Replies
7897 Views
Last post June 01, 2012, 12:07:47 AM
by Brian37075
8 Replies
6112 Views
Last post November 21, 2013, 07:54:40 AM
by freezerfiller
4 Replies
3755 Views
Last post February 02, 2014, 09:44:52 PM
by rnvinc
17 Replies
9779 Views
Last post July 13, 2014, 03:56:55 PM
by squam
40 Replies
17919 Views
Last post September 28, 2014, 05:51:31 PM
by mike fish
5 Replies
2721 Views
Last post September 10, 2014, 12:16:32 PM
by Humminbird_Greg
4 Replies
3152 Views
Last post June 12, 2017, 01:30:38 PM
by Juicegoose
1 Replies
963 Views
Last post May 02, 2019, 08:09:22 AM
by rnvinc


SimplePortal 2.3.3 © 2008-2010, SimplePortal