Author Topic: Networking Helix 10 G2N and G1N  (Read 692 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline sra61

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Joined: Feb 2016
  • location: Kalispell, MT
  • Posts: 12
  • Unit(s): 999ci HD SI, Helix 10 SI KVD
  • Software: Unknown
  • Accessories: Terrova 80 w/IPilot Link, 5 port Etherne
Networking Helix 10 G2N and G1N
« on: August 30, 2018, 04:28:15 PM »
I couldn't resist the videos on the MEGA G2N Helix, and of course it sold me. I now have the G2N on the dash and the G1N on the mounting board at the back. I haven't had the chance to get on the water yet, but I notice when I did all of the network setup that the G1N says not supported on the side imaging and down imaging views. Does this mean that I need to have both transducers, both the Mega and the HDSI hooked up to have SI and DI on the G1N?


Offline rnvinc

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Joined: Nov 2009
  • location: Western KY
  • Posts: 3465
  • Unit(s): 1197c SI Combo, Onix 8ci SI Combo
  • Software: Dependent on whim
  • Accessories: AS GRHA, AS GPS HS, LowBird LSS 1 & 2
Re: Networking Helix 10 G2N and G1N
« Reply #1 on: August 30, 2018, 08:28:15 PM »
HELIX generation 1 can only get fixed frequency Sonar from HELIX MEGA  ..

Shut off all 3 CHIRP selections in the "CHIRP Configuration" Menu under the Setup tab  ...

Then 83/200kHz 2d and 455/800kHz imaging should populate in the HELIX g1 networking tab  ...

Rickie

« Last Edit: August 30, 2018, 08:30:18 PM by rnvinc »

Offline sra61

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Joined: Feb 2016
  • location: Kalispell, MT
  • Posts: 12
  • Unit(s): 999ci HD SI, Helix 10 SI KVD
  • Software: Unknown
  • Accessories: Terrova 80 w/IPilot Link, 5 port Etherne
Re: Networking Helix 10 G2N and G1N
« Reply #2 on: August 30, 2018, 08:54:22 PM »
Thanks. I think I should read my manual front to back to try and understand the capabilities of this unit.

Offline sra61

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Joined: Feb 2016
  • location: Kalispell, MT
  • Posts: 12
  • Unit(s): 999ci HD SI, Helix 10 SI KVD
  • Software: Unknown
  • Accessories: Terrova 80 w/IPilot Link, 5 port Etherne
Re: Networking Helix 10 G2N and G1N
« Reply #3 on: August 31, 2018, 08:22:16 AM »
So if I wanted to not have to "Toggle" the Chirp off and on could I mount the old HDSI transducer and run the G1N on it? How far from the Mega transducer would it have to be to prevent interference? I have my Cannon Digi-troll transducer on the other side.

Offline rnvinc

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Joined: Nov 2009
  • location: Western KY
  • Posts: 3465
  • Unit(s): 1197c SI Combo, Onix 8ci SI Combo
  • Software: Dependent on whim
  • Accessories: AS GRHA, AS GPS HS, LowBird LSS 1 & 2
Re: Networking Helix 10 G2N and G1N
« Reply #4 on: September 01, 2018, 04:20:34 AM »
So if I wanted to not have to "Toggle" the Chirp off and on could I mount the old HDSI transducer and run the G1N on it? How far from the Mega transducer would it have to be to prevent interference? I have my Cannon Digi-troll transducer on the other side.

Absolutely you can use the HDSI connected to the g1  ...

There may be crosstalk interference  ... because HB units transmit 200kHz all the time for digital depth  ...

Doesn't hurt to try  ...

You can still share waypoints regardless of CHIRP settings  ...

Rickie
« Last Edit: September 01, 2018, 05:02:26 AM by rnvinc »

Offline sra61

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Joined: Feb 2016
  • location: Kalispell, MT
  • Posts: 12
  • Unit(s): 999ci HD SI, Helix 10 SI KVD
  • Software: Unknown
  • Accessories: Terrova 80 w/IPilot Link, 5 port Etherne
Re: Networking Helix 10 G2N and G1N
« Reply #5 on: September 04, 2018, 09:57:02 AM »
I'm showing my ignorance, which I really hate but there's just no way around it. If I was to get a XNT 9 20 T - Transom Single/DualBeam Transducer and a Humminbird® 9 M SIDB Y Cable, would I be able to go to the accessories menu on the dash unit ( Helix 10 Chirp Mega SI G2N) and when at high speed switch to the XNT 9 20 T high speed transducer to see depths when I'm running at plane? Then when I get to where I want to fish just go back to that menu and switch to the Mega transducer for the enhanced images for jigging or trolling? Or could I just use the HDSI transducer that I currently have the same way? I was able to see depths at plane with it too. The contour maps for our lakes up here are not very accurate, and they can be pretty far off depth wise. Would I be able to filter out the interference at all, and how bad would that be? If I understand it right, even though I'm using the one transducer, the second transducer is always  transmitting whether It's being used for the current readings or not.

Offline rnvinc

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Joined: Nov 2009
  • location: Western KY
  • Posts: 3465
  • Unit(s): 1197c SI Combo, Onix 8ci SI Combo
  • Software: Dependent on whim
  • Accessories: AS GRHA, AS GPS HS, LowBird LSS 1 & 2
Re: Networking Helix 10 G2N and G1N
« Reply #6 on: September 04, 2018, 07:00:22 PM »
The 9 M SIDB Y cable disconnects the 2d piezo in the imaging xducer and connects the 2d piezo from the 2d xducer in its place  ...

You can connect the HDSI and the XNT 9 20 T to the g1 with the 9 M SIDB Y cable  ...

Then the G2N can get 2d and/or SI from the HDSI/XNT 9 20 T/9 M SIDB Y xducer Setup by selections in the G2N networking Menu  ... (G2N will not get DI from the HDSI because there is no DI piezo in the HDSI xducer)  ...

Remember  ... All 3 CHIRP selections in the "CHIRP Configuration" Menu under the Setup tab must be shut off before either unit can share sonar from the other unit's attached xducer  ...

Rickie
« Last Edit: September 04, 2018, 07:01:53 PM by rnvinc »

Offline sra61

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Joined: Feb 2016
  • location: Kalispell, MT
  • Posts: 12
  • Unit(s): 999ci HD SI, Helix 10 SI KVD
  • Software: Unknown
  • Accessories: Terrova 80 w/IPilot Link, 5 port Etherne
Re: Networking Helix 10 G2N and G1N
« Reply #7 on: September 10, 2018, 02:02:53 PM »
So I finally got to get back out after adjusting the Mega transducer as high up on the mounting board as I could. Low and behold there's my depth at full speed which is only 32 mph, but who cares! I have a bit of interference, but the depth shows all of the time. It doesn't waver at all! I'm plumb happy with that. I have an extended transom on my boat so I can't really adjust it higher without mounting another board closer to the keel, that would get me a little higher, but as far as I'm concerned I'm happy right where I am.


Share me

Digg  Facebook  SlashDot  Delicious  Technorati  Twitter  Google  Yahoo

 

Related Topics

  Subject / Started by Replies Last post
3 Replies
1902 Views
Last post December 25, 2015, 06:04:09 PM
by rnvinc
6 Replies
2578 Views
Last post February 22, 2016, 11:29:19 AM
by lblanchette
4 Replies
2222 Views
Last post May 01, 2017, 04:47:45 AM
by marknfish
7 Replies
1863 Views
Last post January 21, 2018, 09:31:39 AM
by suvowner
1 Replies
548 Views
Last post July 02, 2017, 05:53:37 PM
by rnvinc
2 Replies
513 Views
Last post July 20, 2017, 10:29:24 AM
by kelvin
3 Replies
1365 Views
Last post May 28, 2018, 06:28:20 AM
by rnvinc
4 Replies
105 Views
Last post December 02, 2018, 01:19:34 PM
by Fresnoron


SimplePortal 2.3.3 © 2008-2010, SimplePortal