Author Topic: 1198 switching GPS source  (Read 358 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline T Hora

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Joined: Aug 2015
  • location: Iowa Sity,IA.
  • Posts: 3
  • Unit(s): 1198c 798c
  • Software: 7.510 7.600
  • Accessories: External GPS I-Pilot/Link Temp
1198 switching GPS source
« on: May 02, 2018, 01:31:13 PM »
I have 1159 1198 and 798 all Ethernet linked together  I also have a directional GPS puck [hooked directly into the 1159] My problem is the 1198 keeps switching GPS sources from the external puck to the 798 source [which is the Ulterra ] Anybody got any ideas on how to remedy this issue I've tried everything that i think of
Thanks for your help in advance
Terry


Offline rnvinc

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Joined: Nov 2009
  • location: Western KY
  • Posts: 3426
  • Unit(s): 1197c SI Combo, Onix 8ci SI Combo
  • Software: Dependent on whim
  • Accessories: AS GRHA, AS GPS HS, LowBird LSS 1 & 2
Re: 1198 switching GPS source
« Reply #1 on: May 04, 2018, 06:58:23 PM »
A source usually only changes when it loses the source of the item selected in the Network Menu  ...

Does the 1159 ever try to change GPS source to the 798 also  ...??

Have you tried Restore Defaults  ...??

Rickie

Offline T Hora

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Joined: Aug 2015
  • location: Iowa Sity,IA.
  • Posts: 3
  • Unit(s): 1198c 798c
  • Software: 7.510 7.600
  • Accessories: External GPS I-Pilot/Link Temp
Re: 1198 switching GPS source
« Reply #2 on: May 07, 2018, 07:18:04 AM »
Neither the 1159 or the 798 ever try to change  I can in and change the source selection on the 1198 and within a minute a message appears on the screen that the 1198  has lost it GPS source and asks if I want to change sources. 
 No i haven't gone back to defaults 

Offline rnvinc

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Joined: Nov 2009
  • location: Western KY
  • Posts: 3426
  • Unit(s): 1197c SI Combo, Onix 8ci SI Combo
  • Software: Dependent on whim
  • Accessories: AS GRHA, AS GPS HS, LowBird LSS 1 & 2
Re: 1198 switching GPS source
« Reply #3 on: May 08, 2018, 08:03:19 PM »

If the GPS antenna is connected to the 1198 - and the GPS antenna is failing = the 1198 will automatically look for a different GPS source on the network  ...

You might try disconnecting all units from the Ethernet and test the 1198 for a time by itself to see if the GPS may be failing  ...


Rickie
« Last Edit: May 08, 2018, 08:05:48 PM by rnvinc »


Share me

Digg  Facebook  SlashDot  Delicious  Technorati  Twitter  Google  Yahoo

 

Related Topics

  Subject / Started by Replies Last post
6 Replies
3278 Views
Last post October 27, 2011, 04:46:29 AM
by bigkahuna
5 Replies
2574 Views
Last post February 24, 2012, 11:19:27 AM
by Humminbird_Greg
26 Replies
8756 Views
Last post July 24, 2012, 08:31:27 AM
by Roddy
4 Replies
1568 Views
Last post April 12, 2012, 03:50:35 PM
by Papa
1 Replies
1199 Views
Last post June 05, 2012, 07:16:20 AM
by wolfs4evr
4 Replies
1521 Views
Last post February 14, 2013, 08:44:59 AM
by Gattlin
6 Replies
2477 Views
Last post April 23, 2013, 03:44:09 PM
by Alloutdoors
2 Replies
1272 Views
Last post April 05, 2014, 09:06:25 AM
by LittleGazoo


SimplePortal 2.3.3 © 2008-2010, SimplePortal