Author Topic: Operating 798 with only thru-hull transducer  (Read 742 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline groundloop

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Joined: May 2017
  • location: Alabama (Lake Weiss - Crappie Capital of the World)
  • Posts: 1
  • Unit(s): 798 Ci
  • Software: 6.30
  • Accessories: none
Operating 798 with only thru-hull transducer
« on: May 19, 2017, 01:40:18 PM »
I have two boats, on my fishing boat I have an HD side imaging transducer in addition to an XP-9-20 thru-hull transducer connected to the 798 with the Y cable - everything works as it should.  On my non-fishing boat I just have the SP-9-20 epoxied in the hull and have yet to have it work properly.  I'm afraid the answer is just that it's not going to work for whatever reason, but want to pick the brains of some experts before I give up on it.

First off, I was stupid and accidentally cut the transducer cable.  I've spliced the coaxial cable, soldered it, and wrapped it in electrical tape.  I'd think this should be an acceptable fix for the relatively low frequencies involved (If we were dealing with a few hundred MHz I could see where this wouldn't work, but at just a few hundred kHz I'm assuming it shouldn't be a problem).  Am I 'all wet' on this assumption?

I've tried the thru-hull transducer connected to the 798 both directly and with the Y cable with identical results, a continuous readout of about 3 feet.  I tried all 3 settings for the transducer select option and nothing works.

Any help is greatly appreciated.






Offline rnvinc

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Joined: Nov 2009
  • location: Western KY
  • Posts: 3464
  • Unit(s): 1197c SI Combo, Onix 8ci SI Combo
  • Software: Dependent on whim
  • Accessories: AS GRHA, AS GPS HS, LowBird LSS 1 & 2
Re: Operating 798 with only thru-hull transducer
« Reply #1 on: May 20, 2017, 05:24:00 AM »
The 2d xducer should work with the 798 when the "Transducer Select" menu (under the Sonar tab) is set to "Dual Beam" or "US2" (selection dependent on software version)  ...

A constant reading of 3ft from an xducer epoxied in the hull of a fiberglass boat usually means either  the epoxied-in xducer is not working or has come loose from the hull  ...

You can try adding some water to the bilge to fill any air voids that may have been created if the epoxy has failed  ...

Rickie
« Last Edit: May 20, 2017, 05:28:14 AM by rnvinc »

Offline rnvinc

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Joined: Nov 2009
  • location: Western KY
  • Posts: 3464
  • Unit(s): 1197c SI Combo, Onix 8ci SI Combo
  • Software: Dependent on whim
  • Accessories: AS GRHA, AS GPS HS, LowBird LSS 1 & 2
Re: Operating 798 with only thru-hull transducer
« Reply #2 on: May 20, 2017, 05:31:51 AM »
And BTW... Splicing xducer cables is not danger dependent on frequency....

The danger is shorting out a channel wire circuit which could potentially fry a transmitter  ...

I've spliced many - but I understand and accept the possibility of frying my unit  ...

Rickie


Share me

Digg  Facebook  SlashDot  Delicious  Technorati  Twitter  Google  Yahoo

 

Related Topics

  Subject / Started by Replies Last post
6 Replies
5502 Views
Last post April 14, 2010, 11:45:32 AM
by Humminbird_Greg
6 Replies
4119 Views
Last post May 27, 2012, 06:37:02 PM
by choc_e
4 Replies
1712 Views
Last post April 24, 2013, 10:55:50 AM
by fishesman
2 Replies
1204 Views
Last post March 12, 2014, 10:12:41 AM
by Bayou Basser
5 Replies
2281 Views
Last post March 20, 2014, 09:49:02 AM
by Rotus623
4 Replies
1666 Views
Last post May 08, 2015, 07:56:16 PM
by rnvinc
3 Replies
954 Views
Last post May 24, 2015, 09:18:02 AM
by rnvinc
2 Replies
873 Views
Last post August 31, 2015, 09:39:17 PM
by battleborn


anything
SimplePortal 2.3.3 © 2008-2010, SimplePortal