Author Topic: Using AC Power to run software updates  (Read 1992 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline walleyerich

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Joined: May 2009
  • location: Chanhassen, MN
  • Posts: 3
  • Unit(s): 1 1197csi, 1 997csi, 1 997c, 1 788ci
  • Accessories: AS BP, Interlink
Using AC Power to run software updates
« on: March 25, 2010, 11:53:57 AM »
I have observed a few posts that talk about ways to convert your 1197 so that you can view your recordings on it "in your kitchen".  I live in a climate where we are still ice bound on our lakes but would like to run the software upgrades on my units.  If you purchase a new power cord and attach it to a 12 converter do you risk harming your product?  And are there any issues in upgrading your software?  I love this site!


Offline Humminbird_Greg

  • Humminbird Helper
  • Humminbird Staff
  • *
  • Joined: Mar 2009
  • location: Eufaula, AL.
  • Posts: 6546
  • I help because I can
    • Humminbird Web Site
Re: Using AC Power to run software updates
« Reply #1 on: March 25, 2010, 12:03:29 PM »
It should not be a problem Walleyerich as many have updated their software this way.  Just make sure and force it into the Simulator mode when you reset the menus to the factory settings or it will not take – which can potentially cause a problem.

Forced Simulator: power the unit on and while it is showing the start up title screen (will show something like: “Humminbird 798c SI”, you will need to press the MENU button.  This should bring up some menu options.  Select the one that says “Simulator” and let it time out.  This is the forced Simulator mode (because you had to force it into this mode) and it will remember all menu settings like the unit does while in the Normal operation mode.  If you were to just have the power connected and powered the unit on it would automatically go into the Point Of Sale Simulator mode which does not remember menu settings and will automatically reset itself after two minutes of not pressing a button.

Greg Walters at Humminbird
gwalters@johnsonoutdoors.com

Offline sonar2000

  • Chief
  • Global Moderator
  • *
  • Joined: May 2009
  • location: Kerr Lake NC
  • Posts: 5970
  • It is not lost ...it has been misplaced.
  • Unit(s): (1) 1197 (1) 1198
  • Software: 6.6
  • Accessories: Tow Fish
Re: Using AC Power to run software updates
« Reply #2 on: March 25, 2010, 12:04:18 PM »
The only caution is to connect positive to positive and negative to negative.  Use a 3amp inline fuse on the positive lead.  Use a power source 10v dc to 20 volts dc.  make secure connections and on the unit plug try to make it as secure as possible.  Disastrous things happen if your power is interrupted during the upgrading process.     chuck
« Last Edit: March 25, 2010, 12:05:52 PM by sonar2000 »


Share me

Digg  Facebook  SlashDot  Delicious  Technorati  Twitter  Google  Yahoo

 

Related Topics

  Subject / Started by Replies Last post
0 Replies
33432 Views
Last post April 11, 2009, 08:09:32 PM
by RGecy
1 Replies
2292 Views
Last post December 20, 2010, 08:21:35 AM
by Humminbird_Greg
22 Replies
7843 Views
Last post February 15, 2013, 03:14:16 PM
by Bob B
3 Replies
1100 Views
Last post March 07, 2014, 08:49:24 AM
by Rotus623
1 Replies
911 Views
Last post March 18, 2015, 07:16:30 AM
by Bob B
11 Replies
3403 Views
Last post August 16, 2016, 07:52:51 PM
by mike fish
3 Replies
1399 Views
Last post February 18, 2017, 01:58:43 PM
by gammo42
1 Replies
236 Views
Last post June 24, 2018, 10:41:54 PM
by rnvinc


SimplePortal 2.3.3 © 2008-2010, SimplePortal