Author Topic: Transducer mounting  (Read 1626 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline hgv

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Joined: Apr 2012
  • Location: usa
  • Posts: 110
  • Unit(s): 798ci HD SI
  • Software: 6.x
Transducer mounting
« on: February 20, 2015, 06:41:24 PM »
Anyone have any experience mounting a transducer on a tunnel hull (see picture)? Star marks the purposed location. Wondering though if the live well intakes would interfere with side imaging.


Offline bobcoy

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Joined: Sep 2011
  • Location: arkansas
  • Posts: 286
  • Unit(s): 1197 & 1198
  • Software: 6.640 & 7.670
  • Accessories: iPilot-Link,GRHA GPS-HS,ETH 5PS
Re: Transducer mounting
« Reply #1 on: February 20, 2015, 07:46:33 PM »
intakes will block some signal. I would be more concerned about the flow through the tunnel being turbulent at low speeds. At on plane speeds the transducer will be high and dry.

Offline rnvinc

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Joined: Nov 2009
  • Location: Western KY
  • Posts: 3745
  • Unit(s): 1197c SI Combo, Onix 8ci SI Combo
  • Software: Dependent on whim
  • Accessories: AS GRHA, AS GPS HS, LowBird LSS 1 & 2
Re: Transducer mounting
« Reply #2 on: February 20, 2015, 10:57:59 PM »
Does the xducer mounted to the left function correctly in its location ...??

Rickie

Offline hgv

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Joined: Apr 2012
  • Location: usa
  • Posts: 110
  • Unit(s): 798ci HD SI
  • Software: 6.x
Re: Transducer mounting
« Reply #3 on: February 21, 2015, 10:06:44 AM »
Yes it does I mounted there originally due to the only way to get in the boat was a small step on the other side and I was afraid someone would mistake it for a step and break it off or worse cut a foot. Plan on moving now that I have added a ladder, transducer needs to be higher

Offline rnvinc

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Joined: Nov 2009
  • Location: Western KY
  • Posts: 3745
  • Unit(s): 1197c SI Combo, Onix 8ci SI Combo
  • Software: Dependent on whim
  • Accessories: AS GRHA, AS GPS HS, LowBird LSS 1 & 2
Re: Transducer mounting
« Reply #4 on: February 21, 2015, 11:14:04 PM »
As bobcoy mentioned ... The intakes will block some of the signal with the xducer mounted above the intakes ...

You could add a mounting board to your position with the star to possibly get the xducer to set back far enough for the beams to miss the intakes ...

I would guess your possible location on the transom will have the xducer completely out of the water when on plane ...

You can bypass this obstacle by adding a XP 9 20  in the bilge with the AS SIDB Y cable for allowing the 2d depth readings to come from the bilge mounted XP 9 20 ...

Rickie
« Last Edit: February 21, 2015, 11:15:44 PM by rnvinc »


Share me

Digg  Facebook  SlashDot  Delicious  Technorati  Twitter  Google  Yahoo

 

Related Topics

  Subject / Started by Replies Last post
2 Replies
3581 Views
Last post May 12, 2012, 11:51:38 PM
by newkid4si
2 Replies
5975 Views
Last post January 09, 2013, 02:34:14 PM
by jgcox6
4 Replies
3245 Views
Last post February 13, 2013, 09:50:14 AM
by hgv
5 Replies
3775 Views
Last post July 09, 2013, 01:22:25 PM
by Humminbird_Greg
3 Replies
1469 Views
Last post March 24, 2016, 09:48:24 AM
by ctsalt12
2 Replies
1727 Views
Last post June 01, 2016, 11:05:29 AM
by tellicorick
1 Replies
1247 Views
Last post August 23, 2016, 10:05:55 AM
by rnvinc
4 Replies
2881 Views
Last post September 27, 2016, 03:40:27 PM
by Mukwah


anything
SimplePortal 2.3.3 © 2008-2010, SimplePortal