Author Topic: 6.180 problem  (Read 20374 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline KevMc

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Joined: Mar 2012
  • Posts: 15
  • Unit(s): 2 x solix 12, 1197
6.180 problem
« on: March 11, 2012, 06:11:19 PM »
1197c....installed 6.180 update and everything slowed down!
Key press's were delayed 1.5 sec......sonar moved in jerks, not smooth
Was not able to pan over map smoothly.....press menu button, wait 1.5-2 secs and then it would take...???
Restored defaults first and after......

Reverted to 5.840 and all is well again...without the new gadgets.  :(

ideas????


Offline sonar2000

  • Chief
  • Global Moderator
  • *
  • Joined: May 2009
  • Location: Kerr Lake NC
  • Posts: 5970
  • It is not lost ...it has been misplaced.
  • Unit(s): (1) 1197 (1) 1198
  • Software: 6.6
  • Accessories: Tow Fish
Re: 6.180 problem
« Reply #1 on: March 11, 2012, 07:07:30 PM »
Kevin...not sure.  the 6.180 works fine on my 1197 except for the contour mode on/off sequence..

Are you running only the one unit..

Chuck

Offline KevMc

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Joined: Mar 2012
  • Posts: 15
  • Unit(s): 2 x solix 12, 1197
Re: 6.180 problem
« Reply #2 on: March 11, 2012, 07:17:51 PM »
yep,, one unit

Offline sonar2000

  • Chief
  • Global Moderator
  • *
  • Joined: May 2009
  • Location: Kerr Lake NC
  • Posts: 5970
  • It is not lost ...it has been misplaced.
  • Unit(s): (1) 1197 (1) 1198
  • Software: 6.6
  • Accessories: Tow Fish
Re: 6.180 problem
« Reply #3 on: March 12, 2012, 09:43:41 AM »
Not sure except to say it looks like the code may have some small problem. We see a lot of that lately..
I will watch the sonar screen next time out on our unit.
It is getting funny to see how code affects differently in same type units..

ITG, got any thoughts on this..??
Chuck

Offline Humminbird_Greg

  • Humminbird Helper
  • Humminbird Staff
  • *
  • Joined: Mar 2009
  • Location: Eufaula, AL.
  • Posts: 6546
  • I help because I can
    • Humminbird Web Site
Re: 6.180 problem
« Reply #4 on: March 14, 2012, 02:12:37 PM »
KevMc,
Did this happen while the unit was on the water?
What accessories are connected to the unit?
Are you suing a mapping card and if so does this happen without the mapping card installed?

Greg Walters at Humminbird
gwalters@johnsonoutdoors.com

Offline KevMc

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Joined: Mar 2012
  • Posts: 15
  • Unit(s): 2 x solix 12, 1197
Re: 6.180 problem
« Reply #5 on: March 19, 2012, 10:11:45 PM »
Put it on hold till after last weekend (tournament)....
Back at it now...
1. restored defaults
2. exported nav data to sd card
3. used humminbirdpc to manage data on sd card
4. updated to 6.180 (SD card), restored defaults, slow at first, then seemed to "catch up" and ran better after 2 minutes or so...
5. seemed normal then
6. inserted sd card with waypoints, unit says loading wp's.. routes......and locked up, had to shut down with power button
7. now unit locks up when anything with mapping is used.
Try to bring up a map, change track settings (even  while on a sonar screen), or even reset defaults locks it up......
Tried to go back to 5.840, same results.....

Offline KevMc

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Joined: Mar 2012
  • Posts: 15
  • Unit(s): 2 x solix 12, 1197
Re: 6.180 problem
« Reply #6 on: March 19, 2012, 10:54:15 PM »
just the one unit, with 2 transducers thru a switch.
GPS is getting a signal, system status screen shows gps working......
It uses the sd card to update software, just won't use anything to do with a map

Offline sonar2000

  • Chief
  • Global Moderator
  • *
  • Joined: May 2009
  • Location: Kerr Lake NC
  • Posts: 5970
  • It is not lost ...it has been misplaced.
  • Unit(s): (1) 1197 (1) 1198
  • Software: 6.6
  • Accessories: Tow Fish
Re: 6.180 problem
« Reply #7 on: March 20, 2012, 02:17:26 AM »
Kev...you might try downloading the update to the computer and then copy it to an sd card instead of the HBPC process.
Restore defaults
install a  downlevel code
restore defaults
power off
insert new 6.180 card
power on


Chuck

Offline ITGEEK

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Joined: Aug 2009
  • Location: Maryland
  • Posts: 1552
  • Unit(s): 1198c -Team Watters SS - Lexerd SP
  • Software: 7.670
  • Accessories: XM Weather - Weathersense
Re: 6.180 problem
« Reply #8 on: March 20, 2012, 08:53:18 AM »
Chuck,
My only thought on this is that maybe the new update is very sensitive to waypoint
errors and/or duplicates.

I took the time to go through all my waypoints very carefully and I cleaned them up.
My theory on waypoint errors is if you have a waypoint that you keyed in, and the coordinates
are off the map, then that may send your unit into oblivion.

I installed the new update on my 1197, but I haven't really messed around with it at all.
I just went through all the menus once and I set my personal settings.
There may be problems on my machine that I haven't found yet. :-\

Offline KevMc

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Joined: Mar 2012
  • Posts: 15
  • Unit(s): 2 x solix 12, 1197
Re: 6.180 problem
« Reply #9 on: March 20, 2012, 10:59:41 AM »
restore defaults = causes unit freezing.....
on phone now with hb.......bad waypoint data could lock up mapping......
updates later

Offline KevMc

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Joined: Mar 2012
  • Posts: 15
  • Unit(s): 2 x solix 12, 1197
Re: 6.180 problem
« Reply #10 on: March 20, 2012, 12:32:54 PM »
After an hour with tech support, it's on the way to Eufaula.......
They verified it wasn't the waypoint data.
Must have been the update to 6.180 that caused the problem...

Offline sonar2000

  • Chief
  • Global Moderator
  • *
  • Joined: May 2009
  • Location: Kerr Lake NC
  • Posts: 5970
  • It is not lost ...it has been misplaced.
  • Unit(s): (1) 1197 (1) 1198
  • Software: 6.6
  • Accessories: Tow Fish
Re: 6.180 problem
« Reply #11 on: March 20, 2012, 12:53:56 PM »
Kev...if you can remember
please update this thread with any info you get when the unit returns..

A lot of guys depend on threads and feedback for future references with a matching problem..

Chuck..

Offline KevMc

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Joined: Mar 2012
  • Posts: 15
  • Unit(s): 2 x solix 12, 1197
Re: 6.180 problem
« Reply #12 on: March 20, 2012, 02:29:26 PM »
I'll try to post any info I get!

Offline sonar2000

  • Chief
  • Global Moderator
  • *
  • Joined: May 2009
  • Location: Kerr Lake NC
  • Posts: 5970
  • It is not lost ...it has been misplaced.
  • Unit(s): (1) 1197 (1) 1198
  • Software: 6.6
  • Accessories: Tow Fish
Re: 6.180 problem
« Reply #13 on: March 20, 2012, 02:33:22 PM »
Kev...you are da man.  I will recommend that Robert give you a salary increase.. ;D

Thanks

Chuck

Offline seacatman

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Joined: Mar 2012
  • Location: virginia beach
  • Posts: 1
  • Unit(s): 1197
  • Software: 5.8
Re: 6.180 problem
« Reply #14 on: March 20, 2012, 10:32:41 PM »
I have an 1197 and loaded the 6.1 and everything slowed down also. I called Humingbird and they sugested going back to the 5.8. I  did that and everything is  back to normal. Humingbird said the 1198 has a faster procesor than the 1197 and maybe the 6.1 update was to much for the 1197 with the slower procesor.

Offline ITGEEK

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Joined: Aug 2009
  • Location: Maryland
  • Posts: 1552
  • Unit(s): 1198c -Team Watters SS - Lexerd SP
  • Software: 7.670
  • Accessories: XM Weather - Weathersense
Re: 6.180 problem
« Reply #15 on: March 21, 2012, 07:21:23 AM »
You would think that Humminbird would test the software on any
model that they put it out for.
They must have an 1197 in their test shop.

Hey Greg, what's the deal with testing upgrades?
Does Humminbird test each upgrade on each model it is designed for,
or just go by the hardware specs that it should work?
Thanks.
« Last Edit: March 21, 2012, 08:26:33 AM by ITGEEK »

Offline sonar2000

  • Chief
  • Global Moderator
  • *
  • Joined: May 2009
  • Location: Kerr Lake NC
  • Posts: 5970
  • It is not lost ...it has been misplaced.
  • Unit(s): (1) 1197 (1) 1198
  • Software: 6.6
  • Accessories: Tow Fish
Re: 6.180 problem
« Reply #16 on: March 21, 2012, 10:17:31 AM »
ITG.  that is what I heard also about the processor.,  If that is true then the testing process has a flaw.

I will try and get out next week and see what the speed does on our 1197 with 6.180...
I will also take a card with 5.8 along just in case..

Let us know if you get your unit out..

Chuck

Offline ITGEEK

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Joined: Aug 2009
  • Location: Maryland
  • Posts: 1552
  • Unit(s): 1198c -Team Watters SS - Lexerd SP
  • Software: 7.670
  • Accessories: XM Weather - Weathersense
Re: 6.180 problem
« Reply #17 on: March 21, 2012, 11:03:33 AM »
Chuck,
I probably won't get on the water til after April 1st.
I'll let you know how things go: good, bad, or normal.

Offline KevMc

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Joined: Mar 2012
  • Posts: 15
  • Unit(s): 2 x solix 12, 1197
Re: 6.180 problem
« Reply #18 on: March 21, 2012, 11:06:11 AM »
I was not aware of the processor speed difference 1197/1198, but that was my first tought when I loaded 6.180.
Unit acted like an overloaded computer......processor overload :-\

Offline Troutcatcher

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Joined: Dec 2011
  • Location: Townsville,Australia
  • Posts: 9
Re: 6.180 problem
« Reply #19 on: March 22, 2012, 08:27:58 AM »
 My 1198 has done the same thing... I did notice that it returns to normal speed with the waypoints removed or when zoomed right in, also if the gps is not on screen. When zoomed out on the GPS and all the waypoints are on screen it slows up again.. I have emailed Australian support with no answer yet.

Keith

Offline sonar2000

  • Chief
  • Global Moderator
  • *
  • Joined: May 2009
  • Location: Kerr Lake NC
  • Posts: 5970
  • It is not lost ...it has been misplaced.
  • Unit(s): (1) 1197 (1) 1198
  • Software: 6.6
  • Accessories: Tow Fish
Re: 6.180 problem
« Reply #20 on: March 22, 2012, 09:43:10 AM »
Keep us updated on your findings.
It appears that there is work to be done on waypoints and ethernet usage right now.
Wouldnt it be nice to know how big the processor really is and what speed it runs.
Probably more geekie stuff than HB wants to let out or maybe even for some to want to know.

It does have the smell of an over loaded processor..

Chuck

Offline Humminbird_Greg

  • Humminbird Helper
  • Humminbird Staff
  • *
  • Joined: Mar 2009
  • Location: Eufaula, AL.
  • Posts: 6546
  • I help because I can
    • Humminbird Web Site
Re: 6.180 problem
« Reply #21 on: March 22, 2012, 10:04:33 AM »
Keep us updated on your findings.
It appears that there is work to be done on waypoints and ethernet usage right now.
Wouldnt it be nice to know how big the processor really is and what speed it runs.
Probably more geekie stuff than HB wants to let out or maybe even for some to want to know.

It does have the smell of an over loaded processor..

Chuck

It wouldn’t help to know this as there is nothing that the user can do about it.
Greg Walters at Humminbird
gwalters@johnsonoutdoors.com

Offline sonar2000

  • Chief
  • Global Moderator
  • *
  • Joined: May 2009
  • Location: Kerr Lake NC
  • Posts: 5970
  • It is not lost ...it has been misplaced.
  • Unit(s): (1) 1197 (1) 1198
  • Software: 6.6
  • Accessories: Tow Fish
Re: 6.180 problem
« Reply #22 on: March 22, 2012, 10:19:56 AM »
I know we cant do anything with this (like rewrite the code) ...but for those who are techie geekie it does help in problem determination assistance.

This is not just sonar and these are microprocessors and that adds a new dimension to the world of PD..

Chuck

Offline Sigler

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Joined: Feb 2011
  • Location: West Frankfort Il
  • Posts: 56
  • Unit(s): 1198c 788ci di
  • Accessories: interlink
Re: 6.180 problem
« Reply #23 on: March 24, 2012, 09:12:46 AM »
I have the 1198 interlinked with the 788 should I hold of on updating the 1198?

Offline sonar2000

  • Chief
  • Global Moderator
  • *
  • Joined: May 2009
  • Location: Kerr Lake NC
  • Posts: 5970
  • It is not lost ...it has been misplaced.
  • Unit(s): (1) 1197 (1) 1198
  • Software: 6.6
  • Accessories: Tow Fish
Re: 6.180 problem
« Reply #24 on: March 24, 2012, 11:58:53 AM »
I would for a minute...Until HB gets a handle on the update and the several issues with it..

Chuck

Offline LittleGazoo

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Joined: Jan 2011
  • Location: Big Sandy, TX
  • Posts: 214
  • Unit(s): SOLIX 15 G2, SOLIX 12 G2
  • Software: 3.640
  • Accessories: Ethernet
Re: 6.180 problem
« Reply #25 on: March 27, 2012, 11:27:46 AM »
Computer guy here.

It could be processor speed or available memory size.

1198 has Linux I here. 1197 has "something else"(I would like to know.)  So operating system differences make increase or decrease available memory.  Humminbird also might be removing all Linux components not required and likewise on the"something else" to varying degrees of efficiency.
The ethernet components might differ between the 1198 vs 1197.  Buffers might differ is size and memory leaks exsist in one and not other.  Memory might be interleaved on one and not other.

Close to a million possibile code areas.

I would like Humminbird to display total memory/available memory on diagnositic screen cause a memory chip could go bad.  And on a dual-slot memory system a slowdown could result with no other indication.


Offline KevMc

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Joined: Mar 2012
  • Posts: 15
  • Unit(s): 2 x solix 12, 1197
Re: 6.180 problem
« Reply #26 on: March 27, 2012, 09:05:44 PM »
Fed-ex says mine will be back from Eufaula tomorrow (Wed.)........soon find out...???

Offline DRBass

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Joined: Mar 2009
  • Posts: 15
Re: 6.180 problem
« Reply #27 on: March 28, 2012, 10:37:42 PM »
Kev-

Had similar issues.  In my case, what I thought was the unit "locking up" was it just taking awhile to load waypoints.  When I forced interruption of this process (by powering pressing buttons and then powering unit off) it was caught in some kind of loop where it would power on and off repeatedly.  I went back to update 5.5 and then erased waypoints (of which only 400+ were loaded of the 1300 or so I had on the card).  After I reinstalled 6.180, I then inserted card with waypoints and the unit acted like it had froze again (after prompt that it was loading data).  This time I just waited it out and eventually it loaded all waypoints and acted normally. 
« Last Edit: March 28, 2012, 10:38:59 PM by DRBass »

Offline KevMc

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Joined: Mar 2012
  • Posts: 15
  • Unit(s): 2 x solix 12, 1197
Re: 6.180 problem
« Reply #28 on: March 28, 2012, 10:49:45 PM »
How long did you have to "wait it out"?

Offline LittleGazoo

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Joined: Jan 2011
  • Location: Big Sandy, TX
  • Posts: 214
  • Unit(s): SOLIX 15 G2, SOLIX 12 G2
  • Software: 3.640
  • Accessories: Ethernet
Re: 6.180 problem
« Reply #29 on: March 28, 2012, 11:07:38 PM »
If you loading waypoints, you need to stay out of WMS and possibly other NAV functions or I have experienced you go into a "long pause".

Offline KevMc

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Joined: Mar 2012
  • Posts: 15
  • Unit(s): 2 x solix 12, 1197
Re: 6.180 problem
« Reply #30 on: March 29, 2012, 09:18:19 AM »
Got the unit back,,,fired it up. Came back from the shop with 5.840 loaded.........seemed to run normal.
Checked it out good, reset defaults, checked all mapping pages, waypoint pages.....all good.
Loaded waypoints, that took awhile. Start loading and walk away!!! Don't touch anything until "loading waypoints" message
is gone! I left it for an hour....done when I returned.  Seemed to be running so well, I figured to try 6.180 again.
Loaded 6.180, normal load and now seems to be fine. Only issue is if your zoomed out, 200 mi range or so, panning can be a bit jerky.  zoom in and panning is smooth.
I can reset defaults, work with waypoints/tracks and use mapping pages normally now, things that previously had it locking up.....       
All this in the garage, haven't been on the water with it yet.     Hope it continues to work well, if not I'll be back to this thread.

Offline bigbass

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Joined: Apr 2011
  • Location: canada
  • Posts: 54
  • Unit(s): 1198c
  • Software: 590362-1_v5.500
Re: 6.180 problem
« Reply #31 on: April 24, 2012, 05:02:18 AM »
Guys, is it safe to load 6.18 firmware to 1198c unit? or shoud i wait a bit longer...

Thanks Philip

Offline bigbass

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Joined: Apr 2011
  • Location: canada
  • Posts: 54
  • Unit(s): 1198c
  • Software: 590362-1_v5.500
Re: 6.180 problem
« Reply #32 on: April 24, 2012, 05:18:59 AM »
By the way, is The last released version of software ( version 5)for the 1198c Si unit is 5.700 ?



Offline KevMc

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Joined: Mar 2012
  • Posts: 15
  • Unit(s): 2 x solix 12, 1197
Re: 6.180 problem
« Reply #33 on: April 24, 2012, 08:31:31 AM »
I've now been running 6.180 smoothly for almost a month.
Seems to be just fine now.
Once you start downloading waypoints to your unit.....do not interrupt!
6.180 is working for me........

Offline stratofisher

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Joined: Jul 2011
  • Location: Platte City, MO
  • Posts: 19
  • Unit(s): 1197C SI NVB
  • Software: 5.840
Re: 6.180 problem
« Reply #34 on: May 22, 2012, 08:22:30 PM »
Just to add another 6.180 vote of confidence for anyone looking to update.  I saved all the old waypoints to card and then deleted.  Imported them into the new HB pc.  Then cut them back to card.  Restored defaults and then did the update.  Finally reloaded waypoints.  Everything has been working fine for me after the update.  Time to try the new 6.3

Offline sonar2000

  • Chief
  • Global Moderator
  • *
  • Joined: May 2009
  • Location: Kerr Lake NC
  • Posts: 5970
  • It is not lost ...it has been misplaced.
  • Unit(s): (1) 1197 (1) 1198
  • Software: 6.6
  • Accessories: Tow Fish
Re: 6.180 problem
« Reply #35 on: May 23, 2012, 07:40:59 PM »
We are starting to have some sonar issues with the 1197. Dont know if it is related to 6.180.  Swapped transducer and same problem. Am trying to determine if code or unit. Will drop back a level in code and see. More later..

Chuck

Offline stratofisher

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Joined: Jul 2011
  • Location: Platte City, MO
  • Posts: 19
  • Unit(s): 1197C SI NVB
  • Software: 5.840
Re: 6.180 problem
« Reply #36 on: May 23, 2012, 11:04:34 PM »
Interesting thing happened when I updated to 6.3 last night.  During the bootup on 6.18 after restoring defaults it came up with a message that the AS-1 XM weather was not supported.  I restarted and uploaded the 6.3 without issue.  My XM weather worked in the driveway, and I have yet to have it on the water.  Not sure if it was a hidden 6.180 problem or not.  Time to see what 6.3 brings to the table.  Hope to get a good on water check this weekend.  Will have a card loaded to revert back in case it does not go well.

Offline ITGEEK

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Joined: Aug 2009
  • Location: Maryland
  • Posts: 1552
  • Unit(s): 1198c -Team Watters SS - Lexerd SP
  • Software: 7.670
  • Accessories: XM Weather - Weathersense
Re: 6.180 problem
« Reply #37 on: May 24, 2012, 07:25:16 AM »
My XM weather on my 1197c would not work with version 6.180 either.
But, I never got any messages saying XM was unsupported.

I don't see the point of doing these upgrades anymore.
They're just going to contain more code, which will slow down
the machine, and you'll have to go through all the menus items
to see what is new, and then figure out what to set it at.
Very time consuming affair.

stratofisher:
I'd be interested if you think that your unit responds slower since
your last update.  With 6.180, my unit slowed to a crawl.
As far as responding to pressed keys, it was the worst/slowest I had
ever seen.

Offline stratofisher

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Joined: Jul 2011
  • Location: Platte City, MO
  • Posts: 19
  • Unit(s): 1197C SI NVB
  • Software: 5.840
Re: 6.180 problem
« Reply #38 on: May 24, 2012, 07:45:06 AM »
Everything appeared to work fine on my last outing with the 6.180.  No real speed change on things.  The XM did work with 6.180.  One interesting thing was that my XM account did get dropped over the winter for some reason.  I had to call and get it reactivated.  On the machine it said weather was authorized, but the signal was not being sent.  Made it look like the issue was the machine vs the account.  After that I had XM working with 6.180.  It was just that during the last boot in the driveway before putting 6.3 on the system that I noticed that it said XM not supported.  That was a bit strange.  Anyways I am hoping that 6.3 is the fix to 6.180 since it came out so quick after and is only for the 1197

Offline ITGEEK

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Joined: Aug 2009
  • Location: Maryland
  • Posts: 1552
  • Unit(s): 1198c -Team Watters SS - Lexerd SP
  • Software: 7.670
  • Accessories: XM Weather - Weathersense
Re: 6.180 problem
« Reply #39 on: May 24, 2012, 08:03:54 AM »
What is hard for me to understand is how two exact same units,
with the exact same software can act so differently.

My XM was solid through all of the prior updates.
The first time I looked at it after installing 6.180, it didn't work.
I checked my account online with Sirius, refreshed the signal several times and
even called Sirius to check that my account was still active.  Everything checked
OK, but I never got it to work with 6.180.

Also, when I would press keys, it's like the unit was saving them in some kind of
buffer, then executing them.  I couldn't believe how slow the system was responding.

Maybe on some units, there are memory chips that maybe go bad or get corrupted.

You never know what is going to happen when you install a new
update.

Good luck with your 6.3

I went back to 4.7, and the system is fast and everything works great.
It gives me a little peace of mind.
Installing a new update may give you a stroke. :)

« Last Edit: May 24, 2012, 08:13:00 AM by ITGEEK »

Offline sonar2000

  • Chief
  • Global Moderator
  • *
  • Joined: May 2009
  • Location: Kerr Lake NC
  • Posts: 5970
  • It is not lost ...it has been misplaced.
  • Unit(s): (1) 1197 (1) 1198
  • Software: 6.6
  • Accessories: Tow Fish
Re: 6.180 problem
« Reply #40 on: May 24, 2012, 04:33:06 PM »
My confusion also ITG.  How do or why do two units act differently?
Really confuses me..

Chuck

Offline sonar2000

  • Chief
  • Global Moderator
  • *
  • Joined: May 2009
  • Location: Kerr Lake NC
  • Posts: 5970
  • It is not lost ...it has been misplaced.
  • Unit(s): (1) 1197 (1) 1198
  • Software: 6.6
  • Accessories: Tow Fish
Re: 6.180 problem
« Reply #41 on: May 24, 2012, 06:16:47 PM »
Update on sonar runs:
Both transducers work and display the same screens. Both do the same thing on the screen.
Now during the run, (recording) the screen would freeze.  I continued with the recording and at the end of the run stopped recording.  Did this twice. Took the recording to humviewer and it was complete. So we have a freezing screen problem but recording is still working ok.
Next during record I press the preprogrammed key and it goes to the screen but says no snapshots on file..I have to hit menu to get the stop recording screen up.

Review of files in humviewer. Bottom information is there but not good detail.

OK next step. going back one level and retry.
I am thinking code and not hardware.

Chuck


 

Offline newkid4si

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Joined: Mar 2010
  • Location: Meadville PA. 16335
  • Posts: 815
  • Unit(s): 998c si
  • Software: v 5.70
Re: 6.180 problem
« Reply #42 on: May 24, 2012, 11:53:34 PM »
I followed ITGEEK's lead and went back to 5.700 from 6.18 on my 998.  Unit was updated by HB repair while in for service. Not my choice, but their test equipment is setup
for latest software. Overall, more satisfied with 5.700 that 6.18. Still not happy with sharpness of the image on the screen. Going to review some recordings from 2 years ago
and go duplicate the run again. Then I'll know if it's the unit or me.

                 Mike

Offline sonar2000

  • Chief
  • Global Moderator
  • *
  • Joined: May 2009
  • Location: Kerr Lake NC
  • Posts: 5970
  • It is not lost ...it has been misplaced.
  • Unit(s): (1) 1197 (1) 1198
  • Software: 6.6
  • Accessories: Tow Fish
Re: 6.180 problem
« Reply #43 on: May 25, 2012, 03:30:48 PM »
Update.....checked the connector to the unit and it is a possible problem area. 
Have downloaded earlier code and installed.
Will try unit on water.
If still with issues I will remove the TS3 switch and hook direct to transducer.
Whew, this one is taking its time to figure out..
It is really hard to tell what is causing the issue at this time..
As ITG said before.  Baby Steps..One at a time

Chuck
« Last Edit: May 25, 2012, 03:43:26 PM by sonar2000 »

Offline Patty

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Joined: Apr 2012
  • Location: Manitoba, Canada
  • Posts: 70
  • Unit(s): 898c SI
  • Software: 6.4??
Re: 6.180 problem
« Reply #44 on: May 25, 2012, 04:10:49 PM »
what kind of mapping card do you use? my unit was freezing up when I put my navionics card in.... my solution was to zoom all the way out til I could see all of north america and it would load and not freeze up... been working good ever since....

Offline sonar2000

  • Chief
  • Global Moderator
  • *
  • Joined: May 2009
  • Location: Kerr Lake NC
  • Posts: 5970
  • It is not lost ...it has been misplaced.
  • Unit(s): (1) 1197 (1) 1198
  • Software: 6.6
  • Accessories: Tow Fish
Re: 6.180 problem
« Reply #45 on: May 25, 2012, 05:19:10 PM »
We dont use HB or nav maps or waypoints on the HB because of the issues with them. We use a totally different brand for mapping, tracks, waypoints. Our only use for the HB is sonar.
Chuck

Offline ITGEEK

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Joined: Aug 2009
  • Location: Maryland
  • Posts: 1552
  • Unit(s): 1198c -Team Watters SS - Lexerd SP
  • Software: 7.670
  • Accessories: XM Weather - Weathersense
Re: 6.180 problem
« Reply #46 on: May 25, 2012, 07:36:48 PM »
I use a Navionics chip, but it has highly detailed 1 foot contour
lines for only one lake, and one river I fish in my area.

If I'm going to be fishing an area that is not on that chip,
I'll leave that chip at home.  That will keep some memory free
on my unit.

Offline cloudman

  • Capt
  • Newbie
  • *
  • Joined: Jun 2010
  • Location: Hong Kong
  • Posts: 7
  • Salt water fishing for Marlin
  • Unit(s): 1197c si
  • Software: 4.95
  • Accessories: nil
Re: 6.180 problem
« Reply #47 on: June 01, 2012, 11:40:30 AM »
Had a power outage while updating Now all I get is what appears to be a DOS test program, any ideas? my computer is a Mac so difficult to run HB software

Offline sonar2000

  • Chief
  • Global Moderator
  • *
  • Joined: May 2009
  • Location: Kerr Lake NC
  • Posts: 5970
  • It is not lost ...it has been misplaced.
  • Unit(s): (1) 1197 (1) 1198
  • Software: 6.6
  • Accessories: Tow Fish
Re: 6.180 problem
« Reply #48 on: June 01, 2012, 12:16:49 PM »
A good reason to always use a battery for updating. It is good to have a AC converter but it is dependent on the electricity being there. 

Do you have a friend that has a PC with windows who can load the  HBPC and use the bootstrap to possibly recover your unit..

http://forums.sideimagingsoft.com/index.php?topic=661.0
Chuck
« Last Edit: June 01, 2012, 12:17:50 PM by sonar2000 »


Share me

Digg  Facebook  SlashDot  Delicious  Technorati  Twitter  Google  Yahoo

 

Related Topics

  Subject / Started by Replies Last post
3 Replies
4082 Views
Last post July 25, 2009, 02:24:11 PM
by Humminbird_Greg
2 Replies
3329 Views
Last post December 18, 2009, 03:24:41 AM
by IRC Kevin
11 Replies
5855 Views
Last post August 29, 2012, 10:51:48 AM
by Humminbird_Greg
17 Replies
8446 Views
Last post February 09, 2011, 02:04:08 PM
by terry0540
4 Replies
2925 Views
Last post May 12, 2011, 04:34:08 PM
by Humminbird_Greg
21 Replies
6729 Views
Last post March 24, 2012, 10:01:04 AM
by KevMc
1 Replies
1985 Views
Last post November 12, 2015, 08:37:21 PM
by rnvinc
2 Replies
2177 Views
Last post April 06, 2016, 06:41:58 PM
by Highrubicon


anything
SimplePortal 2.3.3 © 2008-2010, SimplePortal