Author Topic: Shoot thru hull transducer selection?  (Read 7056 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline basszilla

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Joined: Feb 2012
  • location: South Texas
  • Posts: 34
  • Unit(s): 898c SI & 587ci & 998c HD SI
  • Software: Current
Shoot thru hull transducer selection?
« on: March 24, 2012, 06:18:53 AM »
How do I know I'm selecting my shoot through hull transducer?   I went into the sonar option and I see dual beam and dual beam 50/200 and of course all other options.


Offline basszilla

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Joined: Feb 2012
  • location: South Texas
  • Posts: 34
  • Unit(s): 898c SI & 587ci & 998c HD SI
  • Software: Current
Re: Shoot thru hull transducer selection?
« Reply #1 on: March 25, 2012, 12:22:53 PM »
Let me elaborate a lil more.  My unit is running the SI ducer when I am scanning, but when I run full speed I want to switch to my shoot thru hull 2d sonar. My under standing is the SI ducer also produces 2d sonar. How do I know I am selecting the shoot thru hull ducer and not the SI ducer?  I have both duckers connected with the Y cable humminbird sells.

Offline Humminbird_Greg

  • Humminbird Helper
  • Humminbird Staff
  • *
  • Joined: Mar 2009
  • location: Eufaula, AL.
  • Posts: 6546
  • I help because I can
    • Humminbird Web Site
Re: Shoot thru hull transducer selection?
« Reply #2 on: March 26, 2012, 11:23:49 AM »
The AS-SI-DB-Y cable does not allow the selection of a 2D sonar source.  It hard wires the 2D sonar from the inside-the-hull transducer to the unit and at the same time disconnects the 2D sonar of the Si transducer.  To do what you want you need to take the AS-Si-DB-Y cable out of your setup and connect a TS3 Transducer Switch.

Greg Walters at Humminbird
gwalters@johnsonoutdoors.com

Offline sonar2000

  • Chief
  • Global Moderator
  • *
  • Joined: May 2009
  • location: Kerr Lake NC
  • Posts: 5970
  • It is not lost ...it has been misplaced.
  • Unit(s): (1) 1197 (1) 1198
  • Software: 6.6
  • Accessories: Tow Fish
Re: Shoot thru hull transducer selection?
« Reply #3 on: March 26, 2012, 02:45:31 PM »
Wow, another $80 to solve an issue...

No wonder Hb is not a big pricey unit.

they make up the money in add ons..

Chuck
« Last Edit: March 26, 2012, 02:46:36 PM by sonar2000 »

Offline Humminbird_Greg

  • Humminbird Helper
  • Humminbird Staff
  • *
  • Joined: Mar 2009
  • location: Eufaula, AL.
  • Posts: 6546
  • I help because I can
    • Humminbird Web Site
Re: Shoot thru hull transducer selection? .
« Reply #4 on: March 26, 2012, 02:53:18 PM »
Chuck.  How is this an "issue"?
We do not design boats so we cannot control the shape of the boat hull or just where a transducer can be mounted.  If we did than you would have to buy a boat that either fit brand X, Y, or K sonar unit.
Greg Walters at Humminbird
gwalters@johnsonoutdoors.com

Offline sonar2000

  • Chief
  • Global Moderator
  • *
  • Joined: May 2009
  • location: Kerr Lake NC
  • Posts: 5970
  • It is not lost ...it has been misplaced.
  • Unit(s): (1) 1197 (1) 1198
  • Software: 6.6
  • Accessories: Tow Fish
Re: Shoot thru hull transducer selection?
« Reply #5 on: March 26, 2012, 03:01:37 PM »
Greg, what I am saying is that the software and a menu choice should do this procedure as a user selection.

All these cables and switches. ::).... :-[

Software could do this itsself in a menu..

chuck

Offline basszilla

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Joined: Feb 2012
  • location: South Texas
  • Posts: 34
  • Unit(s): 898c SI & 587ci & 998c HD SI
  • Software: Current
Re: Shoot thru hull transducer selection?
« Reply #6 on: March 27, 2012, 05:19:53 AM »
If I disconnect the shoot thru hull ducer from the AS-SI-DB-Y cable will the 2D sonar from the SI ducer automatically turn on?  Can that be done while the unit is powered on?  Can I plug in and out with out a problem or would I have to reboot my unit everytime?  I don't think I would do that. Just wanting know if that can be done. Humminbird should put that as an option in their menu. Just saying.   

Offline Humminbird_Greg

  • Humminbird Helper
  • Humminbird Staff
  • *
  • Joined: Mar 2009
  • location: Eufaula, AL.
  • Posts: 6546
  • I help because I can
    • Humminbird Web Site
Re: Shoot thru hull transducer selection?
« Reply #7 on: March 27, 2012, 08:37:11 AM »
Basszilla,
The AS-Si-DB-Y cable is just a bunch of wires and connectors.  There are no other electronics inside of it.  So what it does is take the wires that should have gone to the 2D sonar (200/83kHz) portion of the Side Imaging transducer and reroute them to the inside-the-hull DualBeam transducer.  So there is no physical connection to the 2D sonar in the Side imaging transducer.  Unplugging the 2D sonar transducer will result in no 2D sonar for the unit.  If you want to be able to select the 2D sonar from the Side Imaging transducer than you will have to use a TS3 Transducer Switch as it will physically connect and disconnect one transducer or the other to the unit.  When you switch it to connect to the inside-the-hull transducer you will only have 2D sonar capability on your unit as that is all that the inside-the-hull DualBeam transducer is capable of.  Your unit doe not need a menu change when you do this but it will show garbage readings for the Si and Di sonar as there is no Si transducer connected to it at that time.

Greg Walters at Humminbird
gwalters@johnsonoutdoors.com

Offline Humminbird_Greg

  • Humminbird Helper
  • Humminbird Staff
  • *
  • Joined: Mar 2009
  • location: Eufaula, AL.
  • Posts: 6546
  • I help because I can
    • Humminbird Web Site
Re: Shoot thru hull transducer selection?
« Reply #8 on: March 27, 2012, 08:37:29 AM »
Okay, I’m not following you guys on this menu selection thing.  What menu selection is it that you think we should have?
Greg Walters at Humminbird
gwalters@johnsonoutdoors.com

Offline Roddy

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Joined: Feb 2011
  • location: Mount Pleasant,Charleston Co,SC. USA
  • Posts: 607
  • Scan,scan and rescan
  • Unit(s): 797c2, 947c,987SI/DI,570di,1198,1155,Ip
  • Accessories: wx/Tow Fish,Drop Cam's,ROV''s
Re: Shoot thru hull transducer selection?
« Reply #9 on: March 27, 2012, 09:20:34 AM »
Greg, Example:     2D ON SI OFF
                           SI ON 2D OFF


Add this to the menu! Add to menu software change.

Roddy
« Last Edit: March 27, 2012, 09:24:52 AM by Roddy »
Scan,Scan and Rescan Roddy

Offline sonar2000

  • Chief
  • Global Moderator
  • *
  • Joined: May 2009
  • location: Kerr Lake NC
  • Posts: 5970
  • It is not lost ...it has been misplaced.
  • Unit(s): (1) 1197 (1) 1198
  • Software: 6.6
  • Accessories: Tow Fish
Re: Shoot thru hull transducer selection?
« Reply #10 on: March 27, 2012, 09:28:57 AM »
I understand the connection are wires.  However since the wires transmit data I really think the unit should allow for software direction.
Goodness these are computers..

Chuck

Offline Humminbird_Greg

  • Humminbird Helper
  • Humminbird Staff
  • *
  • Joined: Mar 2009
  • location: Eufaula, AL.
  • Posts: 6546
  • I help because I can
    • Humminbird Web Site
Re: Shoot thru hull transducer selection?
« Reply #11 on: March 28, 2012, 08:17:26 AM »
“Goodness these are computers”
That may be true but since the 2D portions of both transducers are not electrically connected to the unit at the same time, that menu wouldn’t do anything as there is nothing for it to electrically switch to.

We would have to design future units to add a second transducer connector to them or come up with an accessory that sent a signal to a new transducer switch that would switch from one transducer to another.  I don’t know that we can do that second option with our current products even with a software update.

Greg Walters at Humminbird
gwalters@johnsonoutdoors.com

Offline ITGEEK

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Joined: Aug 2009
  • location: Maryland
  • Posts: 1552
  • Unit(s): 1198c -Team Watters SS - Lexerd SP
  • Software: 7.670
  • Accessories: XM Weather - Weathersense
Re: Shoot thru hull transducer selection?
« Reply #12 on: March 28, 2012, 08:29:50 AM »
I can't see Humminbird adding an additional sonar connector and/or
modifying their software to handle such a situation.

I wonder how many users out there actually use two transducers for 2-D.

Offline sonar2000

  • Chief
  • Global Moderator
  • *
  • Joined: May 2009
  • location: Kerr Lake NC
  • Posts: 5970
  • It is not lost ...it has been misplaced.
  • Unit(s): (1) 1197 (1) 1198
  • Software: 6.6
  • Accessories: Tow Fish
Re: Shoot thru hull transducer selection?
« Reply #13 on: March 28, 2012, 08:33:12 AM »
I would think that software could handle the two transducers.
They are in effect using the same wire to send their data.
I would expect the sentence to identify the particular transducer.
It just cant be this difficult. Or limited to hardware.

Chuck

Offline Humminbird_Greg

  • Humminbird Helper
  • Humminbird Staff
  • *
  • Joined: Mar 2009
  • location: Eufaula, AL.
  • Posts: 6546
  • I help because I can
    • Humminbird Web Site
Re: Shoot thru hull transducer selection?
« Reply #14 on: March 28, 2012, 09:03:33 AM »
I would think that software could handle the two transducers.
They are in effect using the same wire to send their data.
I would expect the sentence to identify the particular transducer.
It just cant be this difficult. Or limited to hardware.

Chuck

Chuck read this:
The 2D elements of both transducers are not electrically connected to the unit at the same time.  So no amount of fancy software will help.  There has to be a way to electrically connect both transducers to the unit at the same time for this to work.
The transducers are ‘dumb’ in that they do not communicate with the unit in any way other than to accept the sonar transmit signal and than send back the returned sonar signal.

The only way to make something like this work would be to design new units with this capability (as they would have the hardware to support it) or to design some new accessory that could accomplish this – that is saying that this could be done with our existing units.
Greg Walters at Humminbird
gwalters@johnsonoutdoors.com

Offline Humminbird_Greg

  • Humminbird Helper
  • Humminbird Staff
  • *
  • Joined: Mar 2009
  • location: Eufaula, AL.
  • Posts: 6546
  • I help because I can
    • Humminbird Web Site
Re: Shoot thru hull transducer selection?
« Reply #15 on: March 28, 2012, 09:05:18 AM »
I can't see Humminbird adding an additional sonar connector and/or
modifying their software to handle such a situation.

I wonder how many users out there actually use two transducers for 2-D.

I would guess that quite a few of the bass fishermen do ITG.  This is so that they can help protect the more expensive Si transducers or to have the best chance of getting a depth reading at higher boat speeds.  Those that want to select where the 2D sonar is coming from buy a transducer switch to do so.

Greg Walters at Humminbird
gwalters@johnsonoutdoors.com

Offline sonar2000

  • Chief
  • Global Moderator
  • *
  • Joined: May 2009
  • location: Kerr Lake NC
  • Posts: 5970
  • It is not lost ...it has been misplaced.
  • Unit(s): (1) 1197 (1) 1198
  • Software: 6.6
  • Accessories: Tow Fish
Re: Shoot thru hull transducer selection?
« Reply #16 on: March 28, 2012, 09:12:58 AM »
OK.  Let take this off line for the difference in the difference of opinion.
Chuck


Offline Humminbird_Greg

  • Humminbird Helper
  • Humminbird Staff
  • *
  • Joined: Mar 2009
  • location: Eufaula, AL.
  • Posts: 6546
  • I help because I can
    • Humminbird Web Site
Re: Shoot thru hull transducer selection?
« Reply #17 on: March 29, 2012, 07:05:54 AM »
It’s not a difference in opinion Chuck.  What you ask is impossible due to the design of our current units or those that we have manufactured in the past.  The only way that it could be made to work would be if our units could communicate to some sort of ‘smart switch’ as I stated above.  Even than there would have to be a demand for it that represented more than just a small handful of people.  Not sure what the cost of this accessory would be but I do know it would be way more than the current TS3 Transducer Switch that we make.
Greg Walters at Humminbird
gwalters@johnsonoutdoors.com

Offline sonar2000

  • Chief
  • Global Moderator
  • *
  • Joined: May 2009
  • location: Kerr Lake NC
  • Posts: 5970
  • It is not lost ...it has been misplaced.
  • Unit(s): (1) 1197 (1) 1198
  • Software: 6.6
  • Accessories: Tow Fish
Re: Shoot thru hull transducer selection?
« Reply #18 on: March 29, 2012, 07:08:32 AM »
 ::)
Chuck


Share me

Digg  Facebook  SlashDot  Delicious  Technorati  Twitter  Google  Yahoo

 

Related Topics

  Subject / Started by Replies Last post
6 Replies
5457 Views
Last post April 14, 2010, 11:45:32 AM
by Humminbird_Greg
1 Replies
3216 Views
Last post June 26, 2010, 09:04:16 PM
by RGecy
8 Replies
8582 Views
Last post March 13, 2011, 02:47:57 PM
by lolar3288
1 Replies
2031 Views
Last post October 30, 2012, 10:51:28 AM
by Humminbird_Greg
17 Replies
4529 Views
Last post September 12, 2014, 06:58:18 AM
by Humminbird_Greg
3 Replies
1535 Views
Last post February 20, 2015, 02:04:47 PM
by Humminbird_Greg
2 Replies
966 Views
Last post March 09, 2015, 01:10:44 PM
by TheSavant
1 Replies
727 Views
Last post March 20, 2016, 04:41:08 PM
by Bob B


SimplePortal 2.3.3 © 2008-2010, SimplePortal