Author Topic: made new braket  (Read 4008 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline jimf

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Joined: Mar 2010
  • location: nj
  • Posts: 65
  • Unit(s): 997ci si
made new braket
« on: April 05, 2010, 03:52:42 PM »
I have a997c si and I had a problem with my 2 elec motors hitting the trasducer line of sight. I try rasing the motors but they had to go up to high and I was getting prop wash and it was to slow.
So I desided to make my own braket for just under the boat in the back. I made it out of anodized metal and it is 3"x 3" and it only drops down about 2" under boat. I don't take the boat on any lakes with wood , just weedy lakes and I only have a15hp and maybe I can get up to 20miles per hour.
The company braket was in palce with 3M outdoors tape, Very sticky stuff ( home depot). I just used it to make sure thats were I want to put it. After I might use 2 part lockit expoy with 2,100 psi or JB weld 3,300psi when it drys. I think it will hold good on the boat. I don't want to screew it in the boat. never did with any of my trasducers.
Pictures are ttachedila_renderedila_renderedila_renderedila_rendered


Offline jimf

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Joined: Mar 2010
  • location: nj
  • Posts: 65
  • Unit(s): 997ci si
Re: made new braket
« Reply #1 on: April 05, 2010, 03:56:33 PM »
the braket was off setted because the bottum of boat is not flat.

Offline blharr4400

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Joined: Jan 2010
  • location: Kalamazoo, Mi
  • Posts: 30
  • Unit(s): 788Ci Combo 1197C SI COMBO
  • Software: 4.78 and 4.75
  • Accessories: Weathersense, Interlink
Re: made new braket
« Reply #2 on: April 05, 2010, 07:22:20 PM »
Nice mount for a home made job...  Just remember that even thought there is no wood in your lake there are plenty of other ways to "remove" the transducer from the bottom of the boat for you.  Things to keep in mind would be beaching the boat while loading and unloading if you fish by yourself, random floating stuff ( I passed a 55 gallon plastic drum the other day at 55 mph ), fishing real shallow water (bedded fish in the spring) and plenty of other unspected things.  Something else to keep in mind is I have ripped the tranducer for my 788ci off my trolling motor going 2 mph before by running the tranducer into the bottom while fishing shallow water.  Just some things to keep in mind.... I wish you luck

Ben
I wont always catch fish but they are never going to sleep through me being there!!!

Offline sonar2000

  • Chief
  • Global Moderator
  • *
  • Joined: May 2009
  • location: Kerr Lake NC
  • Posts: 5970
  • It is not lost ...it has been misplaced.
  • Unit(s): (1) 1197 (1) 1198
  • Software: 6.6
  • Accessories: Tow Fish
Re: made new braket
« Reply #3 on: April 06, 2010, 05:30:40 AM »
good job on mounting.  Related to several others posts, remember to not overtighten the mounting screw to hold the transducer in place.  Overtightening can crack the transducer hub.  You might use a couple of shock absorber washers.      chuck

Offline jimf

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Joined: Mar 2010
  • location: nj
  • Posts: 65
  • Unit(s): 997ci si
Re: made new braket
« Reply #4 on: April 06, 2010, 08:02:27 AM »
good job on mounting.  Related to several others posts, remember to not overtighten the mounting screw to hold the transducer in place.  Overtightening can crack the transducer hub.  You might use a couple of shock absorber washers.      chuck
Like those rubber washers ? Like the 1/4" ones. I did use one on each side.
That is the thing. I know I can rip the trasducer off if I run over something to fast but I use my boat with elec motors or gas motor 50/50 % of the time. I just hate knowing I can't use it when I'm in elec. only lakes.
Most of the time if my front trolling motor hit buttom I don't to any farer or my 2 back motors hit buttom before the boat dos.

Offline Humminbird_Greg

  • Humminbird Helper
  • Humminbird Staff
  • *
  • Joined: Mar 2009
  • location: Eufaula, AL.
  • Posts: 6546
  • I help because I can
    • Humminbird Web Site
Re: made new braket
« Reply #5 on: April 09, 2010, 09:21:30 AM »
Nice adapter mount there jimf.
What did you put in between the ‘ears’ of the transducer?
Would be nice to see a close up of the transducer and bracket itself so we could see this area.  If that is the VHB tape from 3M I think that you will find that it will hold more that well enough so you may not need to use anything else.  We use that same stuff here and it is very strong!

Greg Walters at Humminbird
gwalters@johnsonoutdoors.com

Offline jimf

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Joined: Mar 2010
  • location: nj
  • Posts: 65
  • Unit(s): 997ci si
Re: made new braket
« Reply #6 on: April 12, 2010, 07:33:31 AM »
Hi Greg
I know the package says 3M Heavy duty Exter tape. It has a red packaging. The tape is a grey color. Do you think I need to exopy it ? I'm looking for it to stay on for a longtime. I wasn't sure if it wil hold up that long. If I like the spot I have it at I like to expoy it with marine 2 part expoy from (lockit) or use JB weld expoy. What do you think ?

 I can take a better picture for you.
I used two rubber thick washer so the ears will not crack on the braket. I heard on this site guys ears were breaking off there side image trasducers.
I did go out fishing Sunday and the new braket works very good. It doesn't hit my elec. motors. Now I have to try running the outboard to see what the image will look like. because the braket is under the boat.

Offline jimf

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Joined: Mar 2010
  • location: nj
  • Posts: 65
  • Unit(s): 997ci si
Re: made new braket
« Reply #7 on: September 07, 2018, 07:31:09 AM »
the bracket is still going strong. 3m marine epoxy

Offline rnvinc

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Joined: Nov 2009
  • location: Western KY
  • Posts: 3437
  • Unit(s): 1197c SI Combo, Onix 8ci SI Combo
  • Software: Dependent on whim
  • Accessories: AS GRHA, AS GPS HS, LowBird LSS 1 & 2
Re: made new braket
« Reply #8 on: September 08, 2018, 06:06:00 AM »
the bracket is still going strong. 3m marine epoxy

I'm curious as to what scenario you use 2 electric motors on the transom  ...??

Rickie
« Last Edit: September 08, 2018, 06:07:14 AM by rnvinc »

Offline jimf

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Joined: Mar 2010
  • location: nj
  • Posts: 65
  • Unit(s): 997ci si
Re: made new braket
« Reply #9 on: September 09, 2018, 02:03:12 PM »
In NJ a lot of are lakes are elec. motors only so I use the two in back to go from A to B then motor in front to fish. Then when I go to a gas lake I just use the gas motor to to A to B.   

Offline rnvinc

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Joined: Nov 2009
  • location: Western KY
  • Posts: 3437
  • Unit(s): 1197c SI Combo, Onix 8ci SI Combo
  • Software: Dependent on whim
  • Accessories: AS GRHA, AS GPS HS, LowBird LSS 1 & 2
Re: made new braket
« Reply #10 on: September 10, 2018, 05:02:14 PM »
In NJ a lot of are lakes are elec. motors only so I use the two in back to go from A to B then motor in front to fish. Then when I go to a gas lake I just use the gas motor to to A to B.   

Very good  ... Cool Setup  ...

Rickie


Share me

Digg  Facebook  SlashDot  Delicious  Technorati  Twitter  Google  Yahoo

 

Related Topics

  Subject / Started by Replies Last post
6 Replies
2859 Views
Last post September 10, 2018, 05:01:09 PM
by rnvinc
8 Replies
4801 Views
Last post June 27, 2010, 07:47:36 PM
by calli1
12 Replies
4987 Views
Last post April 29, 2015, 09:52:04 AM
by ITGEEK
3 Replies
1563 Views
Last post May 10, 2013, 12:04:44 PM
by matt@reefmaster
10 Replies
4257 Views
Last post July 26, 2013, 11:03:27 AM
by diver651
7 Replies
3261 Views
Last post September 17, 2013, 11:27:05 AM
by Humminbird_Greg
4 Replies
1190 Views
Last post September 30, 2015, 06:14:15 AM
by CamoHunter
30 Replies
10101 Views
Last post May 06, 2017, 05:01:02 PM
by jachristensen3


SimplePortal 2.3.3 © 2008-2010, SimplePortal