Author Topic: Helix 5 si multiple tranducers  (Read 970 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Tracker22

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Joined: Aug 2016
  • location: Marion, Illinoid
  • Posts: 4
  • Unit(s): Helix 5 si gps; 597ci hd di
Helix 5 si multiple tranducers
« on: August 17, 2016, 10:05:09 AM »
Newb here.
I have a xnt 9 di t mounted in the front of my kayak and I just got the helix5 transducer xnt 9 si 180t which will be transom mounted.

Can I connect both transducers via a y cable?

Why? I'm just trying to eliminate the delay on sonar/di while maintaining the si.
If I'm not fishin, I'm wishin


Offline Bob B

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Joined: Oct 2010
  • location: Creve Coeur, Il
  • Posts: 1541
  • Unit(s): 1197c si, 1198c si
  • Software: 6.310, 6.490
Re: Helix 5 si multiple tranducers
« Reply #1 on: August 17, 2016, 11:57:16 AM »
There are 2 types of Y cables .... one is intended to get the 2D from a secondary transducer, and the other is intended to connect 2 SI transducers to use one on each side of the boat.

I don't know for sure if the pin-out of the DI transdcuer cable would allow getting the 2D from it with a Y cable, it probably will, but I'm not sure if that's your goal.....Rickie will probably check in later to let you know for sure.

Rickie and some others have gotten a lot more creative with transducer connections than I have.
**Looking for the one that makes it all worthwhile**

Offline rnvinc

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Joined: Nov 2009
  • location: Western KY
  • Posts: 3114
  • Unit(s): 1197c SI Combo, Onix 8ci SI Combo
  • Software: Dependent on whim
  • Accessories: AS GRHA, AS GPS HS, LowBird LSS 1 & 2
Re: Helix 5 si multiple tranducers
« Reply #2 on: August 17, 2016, 08:27:51 PM »
I'm not sure what you mean by "delay on Sonar/DI while maintaining SI" ...

There are certain circumstances where the DI xducers can be used on a SI unit ...all are unconventional ...

Please explain further what you are trying to accomplish ...

Rickie
« Last Edit: August 17, 2016, 08:29:31 PM by rnvinc »

Offline Tracker22

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Joined: Aug 2016
  • location: Marion, Illinoid
  • Posts: 4
  • Unit(s): Helix 5 si gps; 597ci hd di
Re: Helix 5 si multiple tranducers
« Reply #3 on: August 17, 2016, 09:07:56 PM »
What I've been told is that when using di/sonar/2d on a transom the image your seeing has already passed. I already have a di/sonar/2d transducer mounted near the front of my kayak. Due to the fact that I don't have a safe place for the si transducer near the front I am placing it on the transom. And since I already have the forward mounted transducer I want to utilize it, thus eliminating some of the di/sonar/2d lag.
Am I wrong?
If I'm not fishin, I'm wishin

Offline rnvinc

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Joined: Nov 2009
  • location: Western KY
  • Posts: 3114
  • Unit(s): 1197c SI Combo, Onix 8ci SI Combo
  • Software: Dependent on whim
  • Accessories: AS GRHA, AS GPS HS, LowBird LSS 1 & 2
Re: Helix 5 si multiple tranducers
« Reply #4 on: August 18, 2016, 07:22:15 PM »
I understand now ... The delay you mention is that the Sonar reading from the transom is already behind you ...

There are a couple of possible scenarios to use the XNT 9 DI T on the HELIX SI unit ...

Scenario 1 ...: Use the AS SIDB Y cable that Bob mentioned ...
*SI/blended DI from the SI xducer/ and Temp would come from the transom mounted XNT 9 SI 180 T ...

*2d would come from the front mounted XNT 9 DI T (only the 200kHz 2d would give any acceptable 2d returns because the 455kHz 2d frequency capability of the XNT 9 DI T is not supported by the HELIX SI 2d transmitter) ...
-----

Scenario 2 ...: Use the HB TS3 switch ...
https://www.google.com/url?q=http://www.humminbird.com/Products/TS3/&sa=U&ved=0ahUKEwjy35jQtszOAhXGIsAKHVFwD50QFggEMAA&client=internal-uds-cse&usg=AFQjCNFSsEa5y1xn1OhXmCtI5d3XYzJIpA

*2d/SI/blended DI from the SI xducer/ and Temp would come from the transom mounted XNT 9 SI 180 T when the HB TS3 switch is set to position 1 ...

*2d/right SI/dedicated DI/ and Temp would come from the front mounted XNT 9 DI T when the HB TS3 switch is set to position 2 ... (Note: left SI would be blank because the XNT 9 DI T does not have a wire channel to line up with the left SI transmitter in the HELIX SI) ...
-----
-----

Here is more info of our experiments with the HB dedicated DI xducer used on a HB SI unit and the results of those experiments ...

http://forums.sideimagingsoft.com/index.php?topic=5388.0

Rickie
« Last Edit: August 18, 2016, 07:26:14 PM by rnvinc »

Offline Tracker22

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Joined: Aug 2016
  • location: Marion, Illinoid
  • Posts: 4
  • Unit(s): Helix 5 si gps; 597ci hd di
Re: Helix 5 si multiple tranducers
« Reply #5 on: August 18, 2016, 07:38:50 PM »
That's it! Thank you. The first scenario is exactly what I wanted.
If I'm not fishin, I'm wishin

Offline rnvinc

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Joined: Nov 2009
  • location: Western KY
  • Posts: 3114
  • Unit(s): 1197c SI Combo, Onix 8ci SI Combo
  • Software: Dependent on whim
  • Accessories: AS GRHA, AS GPS HS, LowBird LSS 1 & 2
Re: Helix 5 si multiple tranducers
« Reply #6 on: August 19, 2016, 07:13:28 PM »
That's it! Thank you. The first scenario is exactly what I wanted.

Just to expound on scenario 1 again ... With the AS SIDB Y cable ...

*SI/ blended DI from the SI xducer/ and Temp will come from the transom mounted XNT 9 SI 180 T ...

*2d will come from the front mounted XNT 9 DI T ...
  -a. Only the 200kHz Beam Frequency setting under the SI unit's Sonar tab will give acceptable 2d image results (do not use the 83kHz nor the 83kHz/200kHz Beam Frequency setting under the SI unit's Sonar tab) ...
  -b. The DI piezo in the front mounted XNT 9 DI T will not be connected in any function (because the AS SIDB Y cable has no wire connection for this DI piezo) ...

Rickie
« Last Edit: August 19, 2016, 07:15:28 PM by rnvinc »

Offline Tracker22

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Joined: Aug 2016
  • location: Marion, Illinoid
  • Posts: 4
  • Unit(s): Helix 5 si gps; 597ci hd di
Re: Helix 5 si multiple tranducers
« Reply #7 on: August 19, 2016, 07:33:47 PM »
Oh, I see....I don't know if it's really worth doing.
If I'm not fishin, I'm wishin

Offline rnvinc

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Joined: Nov 2009
  • location: Western KY
  • Posts: 3114
  • Unit(s): 1197c SI Combo, Onix 8ci SI Combo
  • Software: Dependent on whim
  • Accessories: AS GRHA, AS GPS HS, LowBird LSS 1 & 2
Re: Helix 5 si multiple tranducers
« Reply #8 on: August 20, 2016, 06:54:42 PM »
If the DI imaging in the front is main interest in the front mounted XNT 9 DI T = scenario 2 with the HB TS3 switch will give you that ...

The limitation being the HB TS3 switch connects only 1 xducer at a time ...so when the front mounted XNT 9 DI T is selected with the HB TS3 switch = there will be no SI ...

Rickie


Share me

Digg  Facebook  SlashDot  Delicious  Technorati  Twitter  Google  Yahoo

 

Related Topics

  Subject / Started by Replies Last post
0 Replies
1130 Views
Last post February 16, 2011, 07:16:48 PM
by lcookie
2 Replies
1638 Views
Last post October 28, 2011, 10:14:04 PM
by Doc Stressor
3 Replies
2001 Views
Last post November 09, 2011, 02:33:25 PM
by Humminbird_Greg
11 Replies
4535 Views
Last post August 20, 2012, 12:33:56 PM
by Rough House
3 Replies
1295 Views
Last post September 02, 2013, 09:41:17 AM
by LittleGazoo
9 Replies
3623 Views
Last post October 09, 2013, 09:45:06 AM
by Humminbird_Greg
10 Replies
1876 Views
Last post May 22, 2015, 10:32:46 AM
by rnvinc
1 Replies
311 Views
Last post June 07, 2017, 08:25:19 PM
by rnvinc


anything
SimplePortal 2.3.3 © 2008-2010, SimplePortal