Author Topic: Transducer for Helix 10 DI  (Read 1311 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline LocoD

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Joined: Feb 2011
  • location: East. AL
  • Posts: 26
  • Unit(s): 798ci HD SI Combo
  • Software: 6.610
Transducer for Helix 10 DI
« on: April 17, 2016, 04:44:23 PM »
I am ready to purchase a Helix 10 DI unit to replace an older unit on my trolling motor.  I have read several posts from other forums suggesting a different HB transducer with better RF protection is required for trolling motor installation. I am confused. Do I use the standard DI transducer that comes with the Helix ? Do I send the transducer to Humminbird for a swap to a TM friendly transducer? What about the new wide DI transducer ? Thanks for any advice.


Offline rnvinc

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Joined: Nov 2009
  • location: Western KY
  • Posts: 3114
  • Unit(s): 1197c SI Combo, Onix 8ci SI Combo
  • Software: Dependent on whim
  • Accessories: AS GRHA, AS GPS HS, LowBird LSS 1 & 2
Re: Transducer for Helix 10 DI
« Reply #1 on: April 17, 2016, 08:44:52 PM »
The HELIX 10 DI will come with the transom mount XNT 9 DI T ...you may want to call HB and exchange this xducer for the XTM 9 Di 25 T (200kHz/455kHz 2d and 455kHz/800kHz DI) or the XTM 9 WIDE DI 20 T (83kHz/200kHz 2d and 455kHz/800kHz DI) ...

Both of these xducers are puck style for TM application and have extra shielding for possible RFI issues ...

The XTM 9 WIDE DI 20 T is the most common for a TM application because it has the familiar wider 83kHz 60 capability in 2d ...

You will need to call HB before you open the transom mounting hardware bag for the xducer exchange ...

1-800-633-1468

Rickie
« Last Edit: April 17, 2016, 08:46:51 PM by rnvinc »

Offline LocoD

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Joined: Feb 2011
  • location: East. AL
  • Posts: 26
  • Unit(s): 798ci HD SI Combo
  • Software: 6.610
Re: Transducer for Helix 10 DI
« Reply #2 on: April 18, 2016, 03:43:20 AM »
Thanks for the help. I will probably opt for the WIDE transducer. What are possible issues if I use the transom transducer on the TM ?

Offline rnvinc

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Joined: Nov 2009
  • location: Western KY
  • Posts: 3114
  • Unit(s): 1197c SI Combo, Onix 8ci SI Combo
  • Software: Dependent on whim
  • Accessories: AS GRHA, AS GPS HS, LowBird LSS 1 & 2
Re: Transducer for Helix 10 DI
« Reply #3 on: April 18, 2016, 08:22:12 PM »
Thanks for the help. I will probably opt for the WIDE transducer. What are possible issues if I use the transom transducer on the TM ?

The TM puck style xducers have extra shielding for possible RFI issues ...

So the transom mount xducer with the adapter bracket would be more likely to have RFI ...

Rickie

Offline Kicker2905

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Joined: Apr 2016
  • location: Texas
  • Posts: 2
  • Unit(s): Helix 9 di and helix 9 si
Re: Transducer for Helix 10 DI
« Reply #4 on: April 28, 2016, 07:18:14 PM »
I bought a helix 9 di. The di is on the trolling motor and works fine until I use my trolling motor.  I keep getting erratic depths and interference on the screen.  Anyone have a clue?  Not sure where to start.

Offline Rpadar

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Joined: Feb 2016
  • location: Canada
  • Posts: 31
  • Unit(s): 1198HD si Helix 10, helix 9, helix 10
  • Software: Always the newest
  • Accessories: Ethernet box, 360, I pilot link
Re: Transducer for Helix 10 DI
« Reply #5 on: April 28, 2016, 11:55:38 PM »
The wide ducer is te way to go. 83k beam is pretty mandatory in my books.  And I always check all grounds and put a power cable with the noise reducer on.  The factory power cables for the helix don't have that isolater on them.  It will help for sure best 30 bucks u wil spend. 

Offline LocoD

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Joined: Feb 2011
  • location: East. AL
  • Posts: 26
  • Unit(s): 798ci HD SI Combo
  • Software: 6.610
Re: Transducer for Helix 10 DI
« Reply #6 on: April 29, 2016, 01:57:05 AM »
Can you give me some info on the power cable needed ? I'm about to install a Helix 10DI up front with the transducer on the Terrova.Thanks.

Offline fishreed

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Joined: Mar 2015
  • location: Byron, Michigan
  • Posts: 114
  • fishreed
  • Unit(s): 899CI SI HD,1199SI HD,
  • Software: current
  • Accessories: Both Quadrabeam & twin HD SI ducers
Re: Transducer for Helix 10 DI
« Reply #7 on: April 29, 2016, 03:53:30 AM »
humminbird PC-11 Power cord  this one has the inline  "choke" filter to reduce electrical line noise.

Offline Kicker2905

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Joined: Apr 2016
  • location: Texas
  • Posts: 2
  • Unit(s): Helix 9 di and helix 9 si
Re: Transducer for Helix 10 DI
« Reply #8 on: April 29, 2016, 05:25:08 AM »
Thanks, I'll give it a shot. 


Share me

Digg  Facebook  SlashDot  Delicious  Technorati  Twitter  Google  Yahoo

 

Related Topics

  Subject / Started by Replies Last post
3 Replies
3406 Views
Last post February 28, 2015, 04:51:54 AM
by mako101
1 Replies
877 Views
Last post April 10, 2015, 05:43:57 AM
by Humminbird_Greg
5 Replies
1775 Views
Last post January 10, 2016, 07:15:53 PM
by leonardk
1 Replies
1174 Views
Last post November 25, 2015, 05:43:38 PM
by Bob B
5 Replies
862 Views
Last post January 18, 2016, 12:29:04 PM
by turbovsix
2 Replies
859 Views
Last post February 15, 2016, 08:01:01 PM
by rnvinc
1 Replies
683 Views
Last post March 07, 2016, 09:14:58 AM
by rnvinc
5 Replies
1155 Views
Last post April 04, 2016, 07:15:28 PM
by rnvinc


SimplePortal 2.3.3 © 2008-2010, SimplePortal