Author Topic: SI layer ...contour mode?  (Read 2606 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline mmikos

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Joined: Jun 2014
  • location: United States
  • Posts: 37
  • Unit(s): 899ci HD
  • Software: 7.2
  • Accessories: autochart pro, ipilot
SI layer ...contour mode?
« on: August 14, 2014, 08:46:55 AM »
I am begining to create a SI layer for my lakemaster autochart map.  Was looking at first few recordings and realized that the normal recording is really not useful for the SI layer.  It would seem that creating recordings in contour mode would be more useful and provide a better background layer to the lakemaster chart.  Hopefully, the contour mode recordings do not lose the data in the cone angle under the boat but rather combine the data in both sides to create a bottom image for the area in the cone.  Does anyone know if this is true or how it actually works??


Offline Humminbird_Greg

  • Humminbird Helper
  • Humminbird Staff
  • *
  • Joined: Mar 2009
  • location: Eufaula, AL.
  • Posts: 6546
  • I help because I can
    • Humminbird Web Site
Re: SI layer ...contour mode?
« Reply #1 on: August 14, 2014, 10:03:29 AM »
I have not tried this myself but would expect to get the same results whether the Contour Mode was on or off.  The Sonar Recordings are a copy of the raw data so any menu settings in the unit will not affect it, so the data going to AutoChart would be the same.  Good idea though mmikos and Im hoping that Im wrong
Greg Walters at Humminbird
gwalters@johnsonoutdoors.com

Offline mmikos

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Joined: Jun 2014
  • location: United States
  • Posts: 37
  • Unit(s): 899ci HD
  • Software: 7.2
  • Accessories: autochart pro, ipilot
Re: SI layer ...contour mode?
« Reply #2 on: August 15, 2014, 07:52:37 AM »
Greg

You are so right.  The contour mode recording does not retain its image when imported into autochart.  it stays in the normal (raw).  It would be so much more useful as an autochart layer if it could be in contour mode.  In fact, i would almost think that this is a bug(fault) of autochart. as the use of the SI information as a layer in the program really does not want the down image portion of the recording other than the pure bottom information.  for example, this morning i ran over an old bridge base in our lake and took some snapshots and recordings.

below is a snapshot of the bridge base in normal SI mode

ila_rendered

next i took a run over the same area using contour mode

ila_rendered

I then recorded the same information in contour mode and imported into autochart

ila_rendered

the autochart program played the recording back in normal (raw) mode. 

it would have been so much more useful, if i had not lost the 100 or so feet of bottom not shown. It would have provided a seamless image for this layer of the map.  I would think that this would have been what the developers were trying to achieve. 

Perhaps a change request to the developers could incorporate the algorythm used to create the contour mode image into the autochart program.

thanks for your response

mmikos
Modify message

Offline D S

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Joined: Jun 2011
  • location: saskatchewan canada
  • Posts: 199
  • Unit(s): 1198 ,798hd ,798csi ipilot link
  • Software: 7.5
  • Accessories: HDSI reefmaster Dr Depth autocharts pro
Re: SI layer ...contour mode?
« Reply #3 on: August 15, 2014, 08:09:17 AM »
if u go into SI settings in AC .... i believe u can use slant range correction ?? or something to get rid of water column
....at work will check later
ds
stgr

Offline mmikos

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Joined: Jun 2014
  • location: United States
  • Posts: 37
  • Unit(s): 899ci HD
  • Software: 7.2
  • Accessories: autochart pro, ipilot
Re: SI layer ...contour mode?
« Reply #4 on: August 15, 2014, 09:02:10 AM »
dave

thanks for the help

I had slant range correction checked and this is the results i got

ila_rendered

without slant range checked.  the results are even worse

ila_rendered

so i guess the slant range works (sort of) or at least partially

Offline mmikos

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Joined: Jun 2014
  • location: United States
  • Posts: 37
  • Unit(s): 899ci HD
  • Software: 7.2
  • Accessories: autochart pro, ipilot
Re: SI layer ...contour mode?
« Reply #5 on: August 15, 2014, 09:03:07 AM »
perhaps it is a matter of depth...these shots were taken at 54 foot of depth.

Offline D S

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Joined: Jun 2011
  • location: saskatchewan canada
  • Posts: 199
  • Unit(s): 1198 ,798hd ,798csi ipilot link
  • Software: 7.5
  • Accessories: HDSI reefmaster Dr Depth autocharts pro
Re: SI layer ...contour mode?
« Reply #6 on: August 15, 2014, 09:59:09 AM »
looks like top image has water column removed but not second pic?
stgr

Offline Rotus623

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Joined: Dec 2012
  • location: Va
  • Posts: 313
  • Unit(s): 898c hd si, 798 hd si
  • Software: 6.49
Re: SI layer ...contour mode?
« Reply #7 on: August 15, 2014, 11:11:17 PM »
So am I hearing this right we can now layer our SI data into a chart format, like lowrances structurescan overlay?

Offline mmikos

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Joined: Jun 2014
  • location: United States
  • Posts: 37
  • Unit(s): 899ci HD
  • Software: 7.2
  • Accessories: autochart pro, ipilot
Re: SI layer ...contour mode?
« Reply #8 on: August 16, 2014, 05:38:54 AM »
Yes.. the PRO version of the software has the ability to create a SI layer


Share me

Digg  Facebook  SlashDot  Delicious  Technorati  Twitter  Google  Yahoo

 

Related Topics

  Subject / Started by Replies Last post
1 Replies
1596 Views
Last post May 14, 2010, 07:08:45 AM
by sonar2000
3 Replies
1625 Views
Last post August 14, 2010, 08:24:01 PM
by rnvinc
0 Replies
1119 Views
Last post March 11, 2012, 04:11:38 PM
by sonar2000
4 Replies
2555 Views
Last post May 17, 2012, 04:48:39 PM
by Prdbrissy
2 Replies
1430 Views
Last post August 11, 2012, 08:59:27 AM
by Roddy
1 Replies
737 Views
Last post December 04, 2014, 05:24:52 AM
by kvdc
2 Replies
589 Views
Last post April 16, 2015, 02:16:38 PM
by CamoHunter
1 Replies
188 Views
Last post August 16, 2017, 06:16:41 PM
by rnvinc


SimplePortal 2.3.3 © 2008-2010, SimplePortal