Author Topic: nmea in ?  (Read 4035 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline leeloo

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Joined: Mar 2009
  • Location: sweden
  • Posts: 9
  • My boat
  • Unit(s): 981
nmea in ?
« on: May 15, 2011, 03:43:40 PM »
981 nmea in ??from plotter ?cable red,yello.white .black?I nead gps signal.Sorry f the spelling.


Offline sonar2000

  • Chief
  • Global Moderator
  • *
  • Joined: May 2009
  • Location: Kerr Lake NC
  • Posts: 5970
  • It is not lost ...it has been misplaced.
  • Unit(s): (1) 1197 (1) 1198
  • Software: 6.6
  • Accessories: Tow Fish
Re: nmea in ?
« Reply #1 on: May 15, 2011, 04:04:38 PM »
The white wire should be the nema xmit to the next device.
 Green Rec
 White Xmit
 Red + 12V
 Drain or Ground

Chuck

Offline Rüdiger

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Joined: Feb 2011
  • Location: Hjältevad Sweden
  • Posts: 433
  • He who seeks finds
  • Unit(s): 898 CX SI ;EAGLE 500CDF
  • Software: DrDepth BT+SS
  • Accessories: Towfish and Towcam
Re: nmea in ?
« Reply #2 on: May 16, 2011, 03:10:03 AM »
Hey leeloo  :)

The manual give´s only information's about NMEA-out, so i think HB support not NMEA-in.

mvh
Rüdiger
Sorry
English is not my first language !
http://suchen-orten-bergen.xobor.de/

Offline Humminbird_Greg

  • Humminbird Helper
  • Humminbird Staff
  • *
  • Joined: Mar 2009
  • Location: Eufaula, AL.
  • Posts: 6546
  • I help because I can
    • Humminbird Web Site
Re: nmea in ?
« Reply #3 on: May 16, 2011, 03:22:32 PM »
Rudiger is correct: NMEA Output only.  No NMEA Input.
You should be able to take the NMEA output off of the NMEA pigtail wire.  This is the shorter cable that comes out of the GPS Receiver’s cable connector.  Take the black plastic cap off and you should have a Red, White and Black wire.  Terminate the Red wire so it does not make an electrical connection to anything else.  The White wire is the NMEA Output (NMEA +) and the Black wire is the NMEA Ground (NMEA -).  Set the NMEA Output menu to “On” and you should be ready.

Greg Walters at Humminbird
gwalters@johnsonoutdoors.com

Offline leeloo

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Joined: Mar 2009
  • Location: sweden
  • Posts: 9
  • My boat
  • Unit(s): 981
Re: nmea in ?
« Reply #4 on: May 23, 2011, 12:40:54 PM »
i put together greencable 981, and white from plotter and black to black.Now i have gps data in my 981.is it not nmea in to 981.Using the nmea com cable.

Offline leeloo

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Joined: Mar 2009
  • Location: sweden
  • Posts: 9
  • My boat
  • Unit(s): 981
Re: nmea in ?
« Reply #5 on: May 23, 2011, 12:45:08 PM »
ps My plotter is furuno.

Offline Humminbird_Greg

  • Humminbird Helper
  • Humminbird Staff
  • *
  • Joined: Mar 2009
  • Location: Eufaula, AL.
  • Posts: 6546
  • I help because I can
    • Humminbird Web Site
Re: nmea in ?
« Reply #6 on: May 24, 2011, 03:04:20 PM »
Think I understand now: you are using the NMEA Output from your Furuno to go to the 981c Si unit.  Yes, that would be NMEA In to the 981 unit.  Sounds like you are using the AS-HHGPS cable for this as well.  Sorry, thought you were trying something else.
Greg Walters at Humminbird
gwalters@johnsonoutdoors.com


Share me

Digg  Facebook  SlashDot  Delicious  Technorati  Twitter  Google  Yahoo

 

Related Topics

  Subject / Started by Replies Last post
2 Replies
2120 Views
Last post May 04, 2011, 04:17:29 AM
by SonarTRX
15 Replies
7719 Views
Last post August 12, 2011, 02:08:51 PM
by Humminbird_Greg
3 Replies
1987 Views
Last post September 12, 2011, 06:17:29 PM
by RGecy
11 Replies
5044 Views
Last post February 03, 2012, 04:24:23 PM
by sonar2000
9 Replies
4253 Views
Last post April 11, 2012, 10:22:08 AM
by Humminbird_Greg
4 Replies
3264 Views
Last post February 27, 2012, 12:27:36 AM
by depark1
17 Replies
6321 Views
Last post April 10, 2012, 07:38:45 PM
by sonar2000
20 Replies
14186 Views
Last post July 21, 2012, 10:46:47 AM
by erocks4u


SimplePortal 2.3.3 © 2008-2010, SimplePortal