Author Topic: 987 power up problem  (Read 2381 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline okiehenry

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Joined: Mar 2011
  • Location: Hulbert Oklahoma
  • Posts: 1
  • Unit(s): 987c si, matrix 17
987 power up problem
« on: March 23, 2011, 12:38:25 AM »
i have a 987c si when I go to power it on it has small vertical lines then goes back to a blank screen like its powwered off, if  i pull the fuse (3 amp) and put it back in some times it starts up. also it locks up when i start the motor, how do i fix these problems?

I'm going to move the power source from the start battery to the trolling motor battery, shouldn't that fix my freeze up problem?

How many amps does this unit pull ?, is a 3 amp fuse big enough ?, i've got 16 or 18 gage wire to power this unit do i need bigger wire?

This is my first si unit, i bought it used and love it when i can get it to work.


Thanks in advance for any help.


Offline sonar2000

  • Chief
  • Global Moderator
  • *
  • Joined: May 2009
  • Location: Kerr Lake NC
  • Posts: 5970
  • It is not lost ...it has been misplaced.
  • Unit(s): (1) 1197 (1) 1198
  • Software: 6.6
  • Accessories: Tow Fish
Re: 987 power up problem
« Reply #1 on: March 23, 2011, 02:46:41 PM »
Use 16 guage wire.

dont hook to the trolling battery you may get interference.

Check your ground connection also.

Check unit plugs in the back..

Check fuse for corrosion.  3 amp fuse is fine..  do not go bigger..

Chuck


Offline Jolly Roger

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Joined: Mar 2009
  • Location: Germany, Lake Constance
  • Posts: 801
  • HB Addicted
  • Unit(s): 998Cx SI
  • Software: latest (mostly)
  • Accessories: AS GR50, custom towfish and: A boat!!
Re: 987 power up problem
« Reply #2 on: March 26, 2011, 04:44:57 AM »
Hello okiehenry and wellcome to the forum!

First of all: Did the unit ever run normally? I mean did you ever see it going through the regular boot up sequence and did it work on your boat?

Your description sounds like the unit isn't going through the boot up sequence correctly and locks up. I had the same symptoms on my 981 two years ago and it turned out that my battery was faulty. After I bought a new battery, the problem didn't occur any more, but I had to reboot the unit using the "bootstrap" mode:

http://forums.sideimagingsoft.com/index.php?topic=661.0

So first off, test if your battery delivers enough power under load. If the battery is OK, check the wiring for bad connections.
If this is all OK and the unit doesn't go through the boot up sequence, reboot it with the "bootstrap" mode.

I hope this will help you!

Good luck / Harry
YES,......
WE SCAN!


Share me

Digg  Facebook  SlashDot  Delicious  Technorati  Twitter  Google  Yahoo

 

Related Topics

  Subject / Started by Replies Last post
12 Replies
6105 Views
Last post April 26, 2010, 11:08:17 PM
by majflyboy
1 Replies
3428 Views
Last post December 20, 2010, 10:21:35 AM
by Humminbird_Greg
8 Replies
6054 Views
Last post August 02, 2011, 01:10:37 PM
by sonar2000
2 Replies
2025 Views
Last post May 05, 2012, 08:11:19 PM
by depark1
4 Replies
1745 Views
Last post September 13, 2012, 08:44:07 PM
by calli1
3 Replies
1231 Views
Last post October 22, 2012, 12:05:14 PM
by sonar2000
3 Replies
1553 Views
Last post February 26, 2013, 10:16:28 AM
by Humminbird_Greg
1 Replies
796 Views
Last post June 01, 2018, 11:09:29 PM
by rnvinc


SimplePortal 2.3.3 © 2008-2010, SimplePortal