Author Topic: 997 update  (Read 4209 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline stillbear

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Joined: Nov 2009
  • Location: Decatur,Il.
  • Posts: 479
  • Stillbear
  • Unit(s): 997c SI - 1198 c SI - HDS-10
  • Software: 5.840 5.700- 4.0
  • Accessories: Barometer ,GRHA , 8gb 30 mb/ extreme III
997 update
« on: June 11, 2010, 04:32:45 PM »
Downloaded the new 4.950 update for my 997 on a SD card at 3:30 am this morn.  put it in my head it ask the two questions yes and no it said it was successful but the unit keep saying loading on the screen. I took a vac. day today to go fishing now i am pissed after 30 mins of the screen saying loading i unplugged it.What in the hell is going on with these HB. Units.The unit will not respond to anything so i get on the pc start HB program hook up my head up to the pc with cable get my 12volt power supply hooked up bring up bootstrap from our forum still can't make it work.So i seen the other bootstrap for 997 i keep trying finally got it to take the new update and it works now.I am very lucky to get it going because i am not very good with the pc started to late in life. But thanks to this forum i was able to go fishing today.The 997 shallow depth reading appears to be fixed.    Gary :) ;D :D

 


Offline RGecy

  • Administrator
  • *
  • Joined: Mar 2009
  • Location: Beaufort, SC
  • Posts: 1981
    • SideImagingSoft.com
  • Unit(s): 1197c SI, 997c SI & 785c2
  • Software: 4.950 & 4.510
  • Accessories: Interlink & GRHA
Re: 997 update
« Reply #1 on: June 11, 2010, 09:27:01 PM »
Gary,

Specifically how did you do the update, what steps? 

Was the unit powered on when you inserted the SD card?

Recommended Steps:
Power ON,
Restore Defaults
Insert SD Card
Follow Prompts and Let Unit Reboot
Remove Card
Restore Defaults

The Restore Defaults part should not be necessary any more and I am going to do some testing on this tonight with my unit and see how things work.  I did the update last week and still did the defaults out of habit.  Maybe it was fear!

Glad you got it working.

Robert
Humminbird Guru and Forum Administrator

Offline stillbear

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Joined: Nov 2009
  • Location: Decatur,Il.
  • Posts: 479
  • Stillbear
  • Unit(s): 997c SI - 1198 c SI - HDS-10
  • Software: 5.840 5.700- 4.0
  • Accessories: Barometer ,GRHA , 8gb 30 mb/ extreme III
Re: 997 update
« Reply #2 on: June 12, 2010, 08:17:28 AM »
Robert I did use a brand new sd card to update my 997. I read where you said to format
the card I did not do that.Question #1 How do you format the card.Question#2 yesterday
i used the bootstrap method to unlock my 997 finally got it going.Would it hurt to download
the new update on a sd card and put it in my 997.While it is still under warranty i want to
make sure it is good to go .The next update i would like trouble free.    Gary :) :) :)

Offline rnvinc

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Joined: Nov 2009
  • Location: Western KY
  • Posts: 3555
  • Unit(s): 1197c SI Combo, Onix 8ci SI Combo
  • Software: Dependent on whim
  • Accessories: AS GRHA, AS GPS HS, LowBird LSS 1 & 2
Re: 997 update
« Reply #3 on: June 12, 2010, 08:52:30 AM »
i use the format program found here...http://www.sdcard.org/consumers/formatter/

Offline stillbear

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Joined: Nov 2009
  • Location: Decatur,Il.
  • Posts: 479
  • Stillbear
  • Unit(s): 997c SI - 1198 c SI - HDS-10
  • Software: 5.840 5.700- 4.0
  • Accessories: Barometer ,GRHA , 8gb 30 mb/ extreme III
Re: 997 update
« Reply #4 on: June 12, 2010, 11:37:24 AM »
I will try it out.[ANYBODY] What are we formating the card for?Why don't they come formated?How can you tell if the card is formated? Sorry for all the questions just trying to learn.Thanks Gary

Offline RGecy

  • Administrator
  • *
  • Joined: Mar 2009
  • Location: Beaufort, SC
  • Posts: 1981
    • SideImagingSoft.com
  • Unit(s): 1197c SI, 997c SI & 785c2
  • Software: 4.950 & 4.510
  • Accessories: Interlink & GRHA
Re: 997 update
« Reply #5 on: June 12, 2010, 11:57:41 AM »
Gary,

You probably don't need to format the card, but the reasons would be:

Sometimes SD cards can get corrupted,
Maybe it was formatted by a different device that used a different format structure,
and last, just to get rid of any data that may be causing problems!

You never did answer my post above about the steps you took.  Did you insert the SD card before you powered the unit on?  I just want to know because there have been issues with this in the past.

Good Luck,

Robert
Humminbird Guru and Forum Administrator

Offline stillbear

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Joined: Nov 2009
  • Location: Decatur,Il.
  • Posts: 479
  • Stillbear
  • Unit(s): 997c SI - 1198 c SI - HDS-10
  • Software: 5.840 5.700- 4.0
  • Accessories: Barometer ,GRHA , 8gb 30 mb/ extreme III
Re: 997 update
« Reply #6 on: June 12, 2010, 01:38:15 PM »
Robert I am not sure if I had the unit on or off when I inserted the card.Doe's it make a
difference?   Gary

Offline RGecy

  • Administrator
  • *
  • Joined: Mar 2009
  • Location: Beaufort, SC
  • Posts: 1981
    • SideImagingSoft.com
  • Unit(s): 1197c SI, 997c SI & 785c2
  • Software: 4.950 & 4.510
  • Accessories: Interlink & GRHA
Re: 997 update
« Reply #7 on: June 12, 2010, 11:01:32 PM »
Well, there has been some debate on which way is best.  There are just some units that will not take the update correctly if you insert the SD card first and then power on. 

I started to notice a trend in the units that were getting locked up. They would not take the update inserting the sd card first, but would take it just fine if you powered on the unit and then inserted the sd card.  The number of units affected was relatively small, but why take the chance your unit was one. 

So about a year ago, I started advising people to power on first and have noticed a lot less units getting locked up.

I think most people are recommending this method now.

Robert
Humminbird Guru and Forum Administrator

Offline stillbear

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Joined: Nov 2009
  • Location: Decatur,Il.
  • Posts: 479
  • Stillbear
  • Unit(s): 997c SI - 1198 c SI - HDS-10
  • Software: 5.840 5.700- 4.0
  • Accessories: Barometer ,GRHA , 8gb 30 mb/ extreme III
Re: 997 update
« Reply #8 on: June 13, 2010, 06:24:46 AM »
OK In the future i will power up for sure.Robert you never answered my second question.
Friday on my 997 i bootstraped and updated to new 4.950 with pc cable and power supply
I would like to update it with the SD card to make sure it will work before my warranty runs out.
What do you think? Do i need to put a later update in first or what? Gary :) 
« Last Edit: June 13, 2010, 05:51:43 PM by stillbear »

Offline RGecy

  • Administrator
  • *
  • Joined: Mar 2009
  • Location: Beaufort, SC
  • Posts: 1981
    • SideImagingSoft.com
  • Unit(s): 1197c SI, 997c SI & 785c2
  • Software: 4.950 & 4.510
  • Accessories: Interlink & GRHA
Re: 997 update
« Reply #9 on: June 13, 2010, 09:03:58 PM »
Yes, in order to put 4.950 on via an SD card, you would first have to go back to a previous update, and then do the 4.950.

Robert
Humminbird Guru and Forum Administrator


Share me

Digg  Facebook  SlashDot  Delicious  Technorati  Twitter  Google  Yahoo

 

Related Topics

  Subject / Started by Replies Last post
5 Replies
3711 Views
Last post July 22, 2009, 05:14:19 PM
by Humminbird_Greg
1 Replies
1756 Views
Last post September 10, 2010, 01:10:50 AM
by RGecy
4 Replies
2819 Views
Last post December 03, 2010, 07:17:36 AM
by jrhoneycutt1@yahoo.com
6 Replies
3954 Views
Last post February 12, 2011, 01:00:33 PM
by Humminbird_Greg
19 Replies
7155 Views
Last post August 02, 2011, 01:01:03 PM
by sonar2000
1 Replies
1488 Views
Last post August 15, 2011, 08:31:18 AM
by ITGEEK
2 Replies
2366 Views
Last post March 08, 2012, 06:29:06 AM
by alnash
36 Replies
7073 Views
Last post February 20, 2018, 11:16:06 AM
by marknfish


SimplePortal 2.3.3 © 2008-2010, SimplePortal