Author Topic: 987  (Read 4356 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline wizzo86

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Joined: Jun 2009
  • Location: baltimore, Maryland
  • Posts: 111
  • diving in phillapenes
987
« on: June 04, 2010, 06:36:42 PM »
The ol 987 is stuck in a rut!!!! Keeps saying upgrading coprocessor then tries to start.
It says hit menu button to select start up options but it does not work and
i cant shut the machind down. Had to unplug it... Anyone ever seen this problem.... looks like i'll be side scan less for part of the summer again..... gezzzzzzzzz frustrating.


Offline Jolly Roger

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Joined: Mar 2009
  • Location: Germany, Lake Constance
  • Posts: 801
  • HB Addicted
  • Unit(s): 998Cx SI
  • Software: latest (mostly)
  • Accessories: AS GR50, custom towfish and: A boat!!
Re: 987
« Reply #1 on: June 05, 2010, 11:49:37 AM »
That s/&%s Whizzo,

haven't heard about that symptom, but have you tried to restore the unit with the "bootstrap" mode?

I wrote something here:

http://forums.sideimagingsoft.com/index.php?topic=661.msg2975#msg2975Hope you can get unit back running without sending it back to the factory!

Regards, good luck and best wishes

Harry
YES,......
WE SCAN!

Offline wizzo86

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Joined: Jun 2009
  • Location: baltimore, Maryland
  • Posts: 111
  • diving in phillapenes
Re: 987
« Reply #2 on: June 05, 2010, 05:27:53 PM »
Thanks Harry,,,, I'll try that.... Had to send it back last year.
it just wont run this year again..... Must be the cold winters around here..... lol

Offline wizzo86

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Joined: Jun 2009
  • Location: baltimore, Maryland
  • Posts: 111
  • diving in phillapenes
Re: 987
« Reply #3 on: June 05, 2010, 06:04:59 PM »
Harry I ordered the aspc2 cable from humminbird,,, should be here within a week.... If this wirks will be much better than sending it beck. What you describes as unit locking up sounds like what my machi8ne is doing.... I'm thinking this will fix the problem.....Will let you know on progress..... thanks again!
« Last Edit: June 05, 2010, 06:06:03 PM by wizzo86 »

Offline Jolly Roger

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Joined: Mar 2009
  • Location: Germany, Lake Constance
  • Posts: 801
  • HB Addicted
  • Unit(s): 998Cx SI
  • Software: latest (mostly)
  • Accessories: AS GR50, custom towfish and: A boat!!
Re: 987
« Reply #4 on: June 06, 2010, 05:10:14 AM »
Anytime Whizz,

I'll keep my fingers crossed that it will work that way.

Best wishes / Harry
YES,......
WE SCAN!

Offline wizzo86

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Joined: Jun 2009
  • Location: baltimore, Maryland
  • Posts: 111
  • diving in phillapenes
Re: 987
« Reply #5 on: June 09, 2010, 02:20:13 PM »
did not work... has to go back..... I'll NEVER update it again!!!!!

Offline RGecy

  • Administrator
  • *
  • Joined: Mar 2009
  • Location: Beaufort, SC
  • Posts: 1981
    • SideImagingSoft.com
  • Unit(s): 1197c SI, 997c SI & 785c2
  • Software: 4.950 & 4.510
  • Accessories: Interlink & GRHA
Re: 987
« Reply #6 on: June 09, 2010, 02:26:47 PM »
Sorry to hear that buddy!

Sounds like more than just an update issue if it says "updating coprocessor".  Hopefully it will get resolved quickly.

Good Luck,

Robert
Humminbird Guru and Forum Administrator

Offline Jolly Roger

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Joined: Mar 2009
  • Location: Germany, Lake Constance
  • Posts: 801
  • HB Addicted
  • Unit(s): 998Cx SI
  • Software: latest (mostly)
  • Accessories: AS GR50, custom towfish and: A boat!!
Re: 987
« Reply #7 on: June 09, 2010, 05:25:27 PM »
Aaargh!!

I hate to see that Whizzo. Hopefully you'll get it back soon!


Regards / Harry
YES,......
WE SCAN!

Offline wizzo86

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Joined: Jun 2009
  • Location: baltimore, Maryland
  • Posts: 111
  • diving in phillapenes
Re: 987
« Reply #8 on: June 09, 2010, 06:05:40 PM »
Thanks guys.... Put a note with it asking them to expadite it. We'll see.... sent it off today

Offline dybvad417

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Joined: Apr 2009
  • Location: Dybvad, Denmark
  • Posts: 91
  • Wreckhunter in the Kattegat, Denmark
  • Unit(s): 987 Cx SI
  • Software: 4.750
Re: 987 update ?
« Reply #9 on: August 09, 2010, 02:28:05 PM »
No update for my 987Cx this time   :'(

Offline Jolly Roger

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Joined: Mar 2009
  • Location: Germany, Lake Constance
  • Posts: 801
  • HB Addicted
  • Unit(s): 998Cx SI
  • Software: latest (mostly)
  • Accessories: AS GR50, custom towfish and: A boat!!
Re: 987
« Reply #10 on: August 09, 2010, 07:34:31 PM »
Since my 981 is doing fine, I don't update it. Never change a running system.....

Regards / Harry
YES,......
WE SCAN!

Offline dybvad417

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Joined: Apr 2009
  • Location: Dybvad, Denmark
  • Posts: 91
  • Wreckhunter in the Kattegat, Denmark
  • Unit(s): 987 Cx SI
  • Software: 4.750
Re: 987
« Reply #11 on: August 22, 2010, 07:06:26 AM »
Since my 981 is doing fine, I don't update it. Never change a running system.....

Regards / Harry

No, but i have the dept problem between 0,8 - 2.5 meter.  My 987C cant find the correct dept.   >:( >:(

I updated a 1197 for one of my friends, and it in now perfect between 0,8 - 2.5 meter.

There  are  updates for 981C,  but not for 987C  :'(

Regards
Gert

Offline Humminbird_Greg

  • Humminbird Helper
  • Humminbird Staff
  • *
  • Joined: Mar 2009
  • Location: Eufaula, AL.
  • Posts: 6546
  • I help because I can
    • Humminbird Web Site
Re: 987
« Reply #12 on: August 23, 2010, 04:02:15 PM »
Gert,
I just checked on this and the same level of software for the 987 has not been approved yet.  No word on when it will be.

Greg Walters at Humminbird
gwalters@johnsonoutdoors.com

Offline Jolly Roger

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Joined: Mar 2009
  • Location: Germany, Lake Constance
  • Posts: 801
  • HB Addicted
  • Unit(s): 998Cx SI
  • Software: latest (mostly)
  • Accessories: AS GR50, custom towfish and: A boat!!
Re: 987
« Reply #13 on: August 25, 2010, 06:01:36 AM »
Now that you mentioned the shallow water problem Gert, I remember that I had an issue last week end where the depth was displayed incorrect. It showed 2 meters under the keel, where it was just 70 cm. I adjusted it and the depth was fine.
I'll be out on the boat this afternoon and check if the depth is shown correctly  at the mooring.
If not, I'll think about the update.......

Regards / Harry
YES,......
WE SCAN!

Offline dybvad417

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Joined: Apr 2009
  • Location: Dybvad, Denmark
  • Posts: 91
  • Wreckhunter in the Kattegat, Denmark
  • Unit(s): 987 Cx SI
  • Software: 4.750
Re: 987
« Reply #14 on: August 25, 2010, 04:45:41 PM »
Now that you mentioned the shallow water problem Gert, I remember that I had an issue last week end where the depth was displayed incorrect. It showed 2 meters under the keel, where it was just 70 cm. I adjusted it and the depth was fine.
I'll be out on the boat this afternoon and check if the depth is shown correctly  at the mooring.
If not, I'll think about the update.......

Regards / Harry

On the normal (old type) sonar picture, i can see ex. 1 m dept where the dept is actual 1 meter.

But on the sidescan picture the dept can change betwen 1 an 6 meters. 

It goes up and down, up and down, up a..........................

Regards
Gert


Share me

Digg  Facebook  SlashDot  Delicious  Technorati  Twitter  Google  Yahoo

 


SimplePortal 2.3.3 © 2008-2010, SimplePortal