Author Topic: 788ci data card and PC cord question  (Read 4392 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline dubosegriffin

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Joined: Jul 2012
  • Location: Charleston, SC
  • Posts: 8
  • Unit(s): 788 ci combo
  • Software: unknown
  • Accessories: unknown
788ci data card and PC cord question
« on: August 02, 2012, 04:52:02 PM »
Greetings,

I just bought a sea pro and it came with a 788ci. It has the navionics fish and chips eastern card in it. It did not come with a PC cord. I would like to accomplish three goals:

1. Update the firmware on the humminbird
2. Update the software on the humminbird and card
3. Upload some tracks, routes and waypoints that I downloaded from my garmin.

So, I have done a little reading and my questions are as follows:

1. Do I absolutely need a PC cord or can I accomplosh all of this by putting it on a card and inserting the card into the unit? If not all, can some of this done be done with the card?

Final independent questions -

2. Is the data on the Fish and Chips card the same as what is provided on nautical charts. I do not like those contours and would prefer to just have the depth values but I cannot seem to get it to display that. Any suggestions. Can you add nautical charts to the Humminbird.
6. When I have my humminbird powered up and I turn my boat motor off and then turn it back on, my Humminbird cuts off. I have to actually remove it from the mount and then insert it again to get it to power back on. Any thoughts?

Thank you for your guidance.


Offline sonar2000

  • Chief
  • Global Moderator
  • *
  • Joined: May 2009
  • Location: Kerr Lake NC
  • Posts: 5970
  • It is not lost ...it has been misplaced.
  • Unit(s): (1) 1197 (1) 1198
  • Software: 6.6
  • Accessories: Tow Fish
Re: 788ci data card and PC cord question
« Reply #1 on: August 03, 2012, 08:55:18 AM »
#1...you can download to an sd card and put on the unit.

Chuck

Offline dubosegriffin

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Joined: Jul 2012
  • Location: Charleston, SC
  • Posts: 8
  • Unit(s): 788 ci combo
  • Software: unknown
  • Accessories: unknown
Re: 788ci data card and PC cord question
« Reply #2 on: August 03, 2012, 09:00:42 PM »
Thank you Chuck!

Offline Humminbird_Greg

  • Humminbird Helper
  • Humminbird Staff
  • *
  • Joined: Mar 2009
  • Location: Eufaula, AL.
  • Posts: 6546
  • I help because I can
    • Humminbird Web Site
Re: 788ci data card and PC cord question
« Reply #3 on: August 06, 2012, 02:56:56 PM »
1. Chuck is correct; you can do this by using a memory card only.

2. I donít know about not showing the contour lines while also showing the digital values.  I donít think that it can be done but than I do not have a Fish-n-Chips map card to experiment with.  I do know that you cannot add maps (charts) to the Humminbird units unless it is by map card. 

6. Sounds like you need a better power connection from your 788ci unit to the battery or you are in need of a larger more powerful battery or the battery is just wearing out and needs to be replaced.  I would start with getting the battery load tested and speaking with a qualified boat mechanic to see if it is large enough.  When all that checks out I would run a new set of wires from the battery up to the 788ci unit.  Use an in-line 3-Amp fuse and new fuse holder, new 16 to 14 gauge multi-stranded copper wire and be sure to solder and seal all connections.

Greg Walters at Humminbird
gwalters@johnsonoutdoors.com

Offline dubosegriffin

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Joined: Jul 2012
  • Location: Charleston, SC
  • Posts: 8
  • Unit(s): 788 ci combo
  • Software: unknown
  • Accessories: unknown
Re: 788ci data card and PC cord question
« Reply #4 on: August 11, 2012, 01:22:05 PM »
Here is another possibility:

I have a Guest battery switch (2100). On their web site it states:
"To select the proper battery switch size, make sure your engine's cold cranking amperage is lower than the momentary rating of the switch."

Yamaha F115HP CCA = 380A
Guest Battery Switch Momentary Rating = 345A

Could this be the problem with the GPS shutting off when I start the motor?

If what the web site says is true, why does the engine start at all?

Offline dubosegriffin

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Joined: Jul 2012
  • Location: Charleston, SC
  • Posts: 8
  • Unit(s): 788 ci combo
  • Software: unknown
  • Accessories: unknown
Re: 788ci data card and PC cord question
« Reply #5 on: August 11, 2012, 03:27:19 PM »
Problem solved. It was the lugs. The rust and corrosion was shorting the current. Hope this helps someone else troubleshoot the same problem! Thanks to all for your input and help!


Share me

Digg  Facebook  SlashDot  Delicious  Technorati  Twitter  Google  Yahoo

 

Related Topics

  Subject / Started by Replies Last post
7 Replies
5093 Views
Last post February 21, 2011, 05:46:19 AM
by txcrappie
4 Replies
6193 Views
Last post April 22, 2012, 08:31:25 PM
by cfleague
6 Replies
6067 Views
Last post April 23, 2012, 08:52:05 AM
by sonar2000
3 Replies
6987 Views
Last post May 09, 2012, 09:31:44 AM
by chaley1964
4 Replies
4131 Views
Last post December 05, 2013, 11:01:25 AM
by 6speedy3
3 Replies
4830 Views
Last post April 15, 2014, 10:59:10 AM
by Humminbird_Greg
2 Replies
12951 Views
Last post April 28, 2014, 03:18:58 PM
by aholzhausen01
2 Replies
4073 Views
Last post July 07, 2014, 01:00:07 PM
by crappie60


anything
SimplePortal 2.3.3 © 2008-2010, SimplePortal