Author Topic: Greetings All. New 581i DI user here.  (Read 5980 times)

Offline ZamoraFishin

• Unit(s): Humminbird 581i DI
  • Software: 6.250
Greetings All. New 581i DI user here.
« on: April 09, 2013, 11:33:35 AM »
Greetings all,

My name is Ernest and I live in the San Antonio, TX area, my fishing spots are mostly Calaveras Lake and Braunig Lake. Its great to see a forum just for Humminbird product users, I have been using a Humminbird 200DX for several years until recently it just gave out. So then I went an researched and bought a 581i DI as it was right around the budget I had set. It seems really new in the market since I can not seem to find many people with this product but it seems to be up to par with the 587ci DI as the only difference I saw was this unit was B&W and the 587ci was all color.

I have yet to take this unit out into the water but here are some issues I have been facing.

Humminbird PC is great but I wish it could be better. Unless someone has found a way to do this. Using Google Earth I pinned some points I would like to fish, but I have yet to find a reasonable way to import those saved pins into Humminbird PC.

Another thing is using the GPS, I am not too sure if I have to actually load a map of the lake or if it is already pre-loaded into the unit.

It's quite a big jump from a simple 200DX to a 581i DI that has much more features that I plan to use but I heard a lot of good reviews about this family of units.

Thank you in advance for any pointers and help.

Offline Humminbird_Greg

• Humminbird Helper
  • Humminbird Staff
  • I help because I can
    • Humminbird Web Site
Re: Greetings All. New 581i DI user here.
« Reply #1 on: April 09, 2013, 12:30:20 PM »