Author Topic: So what would you do?  (Read 4686 times)

Offline BillM

So what would you do?
« on: May 09, 2013, 10:17:31 AM »
Recently picked up a HB 898c HD SI along with a Minn Kota Terrova 80lb w/ I-Pilot Link...   Currently the units aren't talking to each other due to the HB not having 6.610 installed.  Problem is from the reviews of this latest firmware update, I'd be crazy to install it.   However without it I've got $3300 worth of equipment I just purchased that doesn't communicate with each other.    From the limited use of the 898c, it's working awesome as is..   The last thing I want to do is hinder it's performance..   So the question is, if 6.610 is that bad, when should we expect HB to be providing us with a more stable release?    To say I'm disappointed is an understatement, I've been working in the IT field for almost 20 years.  If I deployed glitchy software to our production environment that actually affected the firm, I'd lose my job in an instant.    Regardless, 6.610 is out there and there's not much anyone can do about that now.   Does anyone have any idea on when HB will be releasing an update to 6.610 that fixes all the problems it's caused? 

Offline 4d-rock

• Unit(s): 997c SI, 778c, 570
  • Software: 6.30
Re: So what would you do?
« Reply #1 on: May 09, 2013, 12:55:20 PM »
Sorry about the issues you are having.  But I agree, it is truly mind boggling for a company the size of Humminbird, and the price of the products they sell. to not have the firmware fully de-bugged before it goes out.  It isn't even a huge deal if a bug does get through, but when that happens you need to be on it and fix it.  That's really makes a good company into a great company in terms of service.

Offline Gattlin

• Walking the shores of Galillee
  • Zebco 202 Musky hunters club:P
  • Unit(s): 898C SI & 858C Combo
  • Accessories: Lakemaster chips, Ethernet
« Reply #2 on: May 09, 2013, 01:08:06 PM »