Author Topic: Ethernet  (Read 7148 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Trytoofish

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Joined: Aug 2009
  • Location: Minnesota
  • Posts: 216
  • Unit(s): Onix 8, 998HD, 798HD, Ice 55
  • Software: 2.0, 7.51,
  • Accessories: Cannonlink,Eithernet,Mag 20, Ipilot Link
Ethernet
« on: March 17, 2011, 03:20:58 PM »
Is there anyone here that has a working Ethernet??

I have a 1197 with firmware 5.43 networked to a 998 with 5.41. there is no
network tab. it has been stated  that once the network is complete,the
network tab will show. that is also what it says in the manual. But it ain't
happening here. So I'm wondering if it is anywhere?
Try Too Fish  Forced To Work


Offline Randeye

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Joined: Mar 2011
  • Location: Iowa
  • Posts: 4
  • Unit(s): 1197 998
  • Software: 5.43 5.41
Re: Ethernet
« Reply #1 on: March 17, 2011, 05:45:33 PM »
I also have an 1197 and a 998.  The 998 was just purchased and does have a network menu tab but the 1197 (from last year) does not have a network tab.  Both units have updated software (5.43 and 5.41).  The ethernet cable is connected firmly.  After a long discussion with Hbird support today, they decided to send me a new Ethernet cable to see if that is the problem.  In my opinion, it is highly unlikely that the problem is the cable.  Something tells me I might be sending both units in to have them looked at.  The support lady said she has not heard of this problem yet.........

Any suggestions?

Offline stillbear

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Joined: Nov 2009
  • Location: Decatur,Il.
  • Posts: 479
  • Stillbear
  • Unit(s): 997c SI - 1198 c SI - HDS-10
  • Software: 5.840 5.700- 4.0
  • Accessories: Barometer ,GRHA , 8gb 30 mb/ extreme III
Re: Ethernet
« Reply #2 on: March 17, 2011, 07:30:00 PM »
Both units need the same number update to work with ethernet. Gary

Offline Trytoofish

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Joined: Aug 2009
  • Location: Minnesota
  • Posts: 216
  • Unit(s): Onix 8, 998HD, 798HD, Ice 55
  • Software: 2.0, 7.51,
  • Accessories: Cannonlink,Eithernet,Mag 20, Ipilot Link
Re: Ethernet
« Reply #3 on: March 17, 2011, 08:35:14 PM »
Not according to Humminbird Greg here.

http://groups.yahoo.com/group/sideimaging/message/28376
Try Too Fish  Forced To Work

Offline stillbear

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Joined: Nov 2009
  • Location: Decatur,Il.
  • Posts: 479
  • Stillbear
  • Unit(s): 997c SI - 1198 c SI - HDS-10
  • Software: 5.840 5.700- 4.0
  • Accessories: Barometer ,GRHA , 8gb 30 mb/ extreme III
Re: Ethernet
« Reply #4 on: March 18, 2011, 07:42:45 AM »
I should say both units need the Hb ethernet upgrade to work. That is not as confusing.  Gary

Offline lucky14

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Joined: Feb 2011
  • Location: Texas
  • Posts: 4
  • Unit(s): 798C SI and 898C SI
  • Software: 5.210
Re: Ethernet
« Reply #5 on: March 18, 2011, 07:58:05 AM »
I have a 798 and 898 networked and both are at ver. 5.410.
The tab did NOT show up on either one in either demo mode when networked at home on my desk.
Once it was in "real" mode on the boat the network tab showed up on both units.
Now it shows up at home when in the demo mode where changes are saved.

Offline Trytoofish

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Joined: Aug 2009
  • Location: Minnesota
  • Posts: 216
  • Unit(s): Onix 8, 998HD, 798HD, Ice 55
  • Software: 2.0, 7.51,
  • Accessories: Cannonlink,Eithernet,Mag 20, Ipilot Link
Re: Ethernet
« Reply #6 on: March 18, 2011, 08:31:03 AM »
there are a few networks working out there,But no one has informed me of a 1197 and a 998  network working yet.there are many combination's possible. I'm glad some are working.
Try Too Fish  Forced To Work

Offline Trytoofish

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Joined: Aug 2009
  • Location: Minnesota
  • Posts: 216
  • Unit(s): Onix 8, 998HD, 798HD, Ice 55
  • Software: 2.0, 7.51,
  • Accessories: Cannonlink,Eithernet,Mag 20, Ipilot Link
Re: Ethernet
« Reply #7 on: March 18, 2011, 10:46:52 AM »
Well after 2 hour of changing firmware up and down,messing with cables,settings,Interlink,Cannonlink, the problem is solved. And I think I did it to my self.
 On the 1197 in firmware version 5.32 there is a option to create a IP address.( Leave It Alone.). I Created one prior to upgrading to firmware 5.43. While the creation of the address ,I dont think was at fault,what was ,is I changed the setting from Dynamic to Static. And this was the problem. I went back in firmware to 5.32,changed Static to Dynamic. saved the address. then Upgraded to 5.43. Wala. I have tabs on the 1197 and the 998. and all sources are shown. So if you have changed anything in 5.32 concearning the IP address,and cant get Ethernet to work,It might be worth a check. If you havent touched it,Leave it Alone.
 By the way,the option to create a IP address disapears, when you upgrade to 5.43,So it is My guess that they (Humminbird)  changed there mind on having the public do this. The 5.43 firmware does it on its own.
Any way my 1197 and 998 are networked.
Try Too Fish  Forced To Work

Offline sonar2000

  • Chief
  • Global Moderator
  • *
  • Joined: May 2009
  • Location: Kerr Lake NC
  • Posts: 5970
  • It is not lost ...it has been misplaced.
  • Unit(s): (1) 1197 (1) 1198
  • Software: 6.6
  • Accessories: Tow Fish
Re: Ethernet
« Reply #8 on: March 18, 2011, 12:31:01 PM »
TryToo.....do you think youi can remember :o the steps you took to write a sequenced step by step for the forum.
If you do Post it in the FAQ section.
This seems to be a big help with the issues of ethernet and other connected "stuff" and how to.   
Great job....
Chuck

Offline Trytoofish

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Joined: Aug 2009
  • Location: Minnesota
  • Posts: 216
  • Unit(s): Onix 8, 998HD, 798HD, Ice 55
  • Software: 2.0, 7.51,
  • Accessories: Cannonlink,Eithernet,Mag 20, Ipilot Link
Re: Ethernet
« Reply #9 on: March 18, 2011, 12:46:59 PM »
I could, but I'm thinking I'm the only one that has a over abundance of curiosity and would mess with something that should be left alone?? LOL
 I guess my issue will only be a issue for those that messed with the Create a IP in the 5.32 version of firmware and can if the need arises .
 I would also add,that Ethernet network should be a plug and play deal. If your unts have the newest firmware to enable the Ethernet,and the cable with good connections between them. It should work. and did once I reversed, what I screwed up.
« Last Edit: March 18, 2011, 12:55:40 PM by Trytoofish »
Try Too Fish  Forced To Work

Offline sonar2000

  • Chief
  • Global Moderator
  • *
  • Joined: May 2009
  • Location: Kerr Lake NC
  • Posts: 5970
  • It is not lost ...it has been misplaced.
  • Unit(s): (1) 1197 (1) 1198
  • Software: 6.6
  • Accessories: Tow Fish
Re: Ethernet
« Reply #10 on: March 18, 2011, 03:21:13 PM »
OK, thanks,  Software being what it is seems to make a lot of problems these days. Sonar or otherwise. Everything is so dependent on the last step. Som,etimes I think we are moving backwards..
Thanks for the post and maybe that will still help some of the guys...
Chuck


Share me

Digg  Facebook  SlashDot  Delicious  Technorati  Twitter  Google  Yahoo

 

Related Topics

  Subject / Started by Replies Last post
6 Replies
5138 Views
Last post December 17, 2010, 10:55:17 AM
by Humminbird_Greg
3 Replies
3244 Views
Last post July 24, 2012, 04:27:54 AM
by wolfs4evr
3 Replies
3474 Views
Last post February 09, 2011, 06:58:53 AM
by FuzzyGrub
7 Replies
6453 Views
Last post March 11, 2011, 11:45:22 AM
by bobby
1 Replies
2767 Views
Last post March 13, 2011, 10:08:16 AM
by Trytoofish
3 Replies
3622 Views
Last post March 22, 2011, 05:34:04 PM
by sonar2000
7 Replies
14038 Views
Last post May 11, 2011, 12:59:02 PM
by sonar2000
0 Replies
3243 Views
Last post June 11, 2011, 09:09:23 PM
by edwardpic


anything
SimplePortal 2.3.3 © 2008-2010, SimplePortal