Author Topic: Transducer depth  (Read 6208 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline CharlieC

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Joined: Oct 2010
  • Posts: 2
Transducer depth
« on: October 06, 2010, 01:47:58 PM »
I have a v shaped hull and last night I mounted the transducer for my 898c SI to my hull following the instructions. My question is the transducer is level and mounted on the Starboard side. The right side is about 1/2" below the water line and the left side is about 1/4" below due to the angel of the v shape. Is this too low I am worried about the drag at 40mph. Does this sound correct to you guys?


Wayne P.

  • Guest
Re: Transducer depth
« Reply #1 on: October 06, 2010, 02:05:52 PM »
That sounds about right for a V-hull if those measurements are with the hull bottom and not the "water line". The most important thing about transducers is they have to be wet to provide a pulse for the unit to display the returns.

Offline CharlieC

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Joined: Oct 2010
  • Posts: 2
Re: Transducer depth
« Reply #2 on: October 06, 2010, 02:50:32 PM »
I was just looking at some other posts and someone asked if someone else had a stepped hull. There was no reply to that but I have a steped hull. Would it be better to mount in on the steped porton lower on the keel (basicly the bottom by the plug? The step is inset about 8" and would provide a great view of the bottom. Is there a problem with doing that?

Offline FuzzyGrub

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Joined: Apr 2009
  • Location: NY -Susky
  • Posts: 159
    • Joe Fish
  • Unit(s): 999ci HD, 798ci HD, 597ci HD DI
  • Software: Latest
  • Accessories: TSW,
Re: Transducer depth
« Reply #3 on: October 06, 2010, 07:28:25 PM »
I have always stayed away from the step/strake.  I thought it was not recommended because of the water turbulance that can come of the side of the step/strake. 
If it bends my rod, I'm a happy fisherman.

JohnS

http://joefishin.com/

Wayne P.

  • Guest
Re: Transducer depth
« Reply #4 on: October 06, 2010, 07:42:01 PM »
Yes, Charlie you can put it there if you have room. There will be no more turbulance there than the ones installed on a jack plate. You may get 2D at a slighly higher speed but not when on plane.
It surely will be more exposed to object strikes in that position though.

Offline FuzzyGrub

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Joined: Apr 2009
  • Location: NY -Susky
  • Posts: 159
    • Joe Fish
  • Unit(s): 999ci HD, 798ci HD, 597ci HD DI
  • Software: Latest
  • Accessories: TSW,
Re: Transducer depth
« Reply #5 on: October 08, 2010, 09:50:13 AM »
I probably mis-understood what you meant by a stepped hull.  From Wayne, it sounds more like there is a step front to back by the transom.  HB does recommend not installing behind a strake, as what I thought you were describing.   

Most jack plate installations use a splitter cable and a 2D transducer to get good returns while on plane. 
If it bends my rod, I'm a happy fisherman.

JohnS

http://joefishin.com/


Share me

Digg  Facebook  SlashDot  Delicious  Technorati  Twitter  Google  Yahoo

 

Related Topics

  Subject / Started by Replies Last post
7 Replies
15983 Views
Last post February 10, 2010, 11:11:32 PM
by Sonshine Fishing
1 Replies
5133 Views
Last post November 28, 2011, 12:52:18 PM
by Humminbird_Greg
14 Replies
7500 Views
Last post November 14, 2012, 03:09:53 PM
by RivRunR
6 Replies
5381 Views
Last post May 30, 2013, 04:11:34 AM
by yvautrin
4 Replies
3020 Views
Last post December 06, 2013, 11:50:56 PM
by newkid4si
0 Replies
1812 Views
Last post April 24, 2014, 04:42:32 PM
by Alcyone
1 Replies
2705 Views
Last post June 05, 2016, 11:18:04 PM
by rnvinc
3 Replies
5792 Views
Last post November 30, 2018, 02:11:46 PM
by Kving


anything
SimplePortal 2.3.3 © 2008-2010, SimplePortal