Author Topic: 798 ci HD SI with US 2  (Read 9554 times)

Offline leoniru

798 ci HD SI with US 2
« on: February 22, 2011, 10:53:47 AM »
Extremely green newbie here (waiting for my 798 to be delivered today). I am currently on the fence with regards to getting a trolling motor with (Terrova) or without (Riptide ST) Universal Sonar 2.
I've been searching this forum a bit and haven't seen any posts directly related to utilizing a bow mount TM with US2 tied into an SI sonar unit.
So, is this combo of any value at all, or would this money be better spent elsewhere?
Primary use will be shallow (<20') water fishing on small lakes and rivers.
Thanx,
leoniru

Offline RGecy

• Administrator
    • SideImagingSoft.com
  • Unit(s): 1197c SI, 997c SI & 785c2
  • Software: 4.950 & 4.510
  • Accessories: Interlink & GRHA
Re: 798 ci HD SI with US 2
« Reply #1 on: February 22, 2011, 02:44:28 PM »
leoniru,

Welcome to the forum.  The downside it you would lose your Side imaging and Down Imaging when you switch over to the TM Transdcuer.

Why not save your money and buy an extra SI transdcuer for your unit to mount on the Trolling Motor?

Robert

Humminbird Guru and Forum Administrator

Offline leoniru

« Reply #2 on: February 22, 2011, 03:50:42 PM »
Roger;
Thanx for the welcome.
Your suggestion is what I was also thinking. I also wondered if a motor already having the built-in US2 transducer might somehow prevent one from installing another SI transducer onto it. I don't know if the US2 transducer could be removed and replaced or if the motor's housing is modified such that there's no room left to clamp on another transducer properly. As far as I can tell, the Terrova 55 with factory-installed iPilot is not available WITHOUT US2, and as I want both a foot pedal and the iPilot, I'll have to get the saltwater Riptide ST 55 as this is available with factory installed iPilot and no US2. The Riptide however, does not come standard with the footpedal but one is available as an accessory.