Author Topic: how to identify large catfish?  (Read 26577 times)

Offline 1fireball

• Unit(s): 1198hd/ 385
  • Accessories: terrova 101 i pilot link
how to identify large catfish?
« on: January 07, 2014, 08:29:07 AM »
I have a 1198 and I fish for large catfish. I have some questions about identifying these on 2d sonar and side scan. I am new but I have hundreds of hours with my new unit. When looking for large cats I look for a hard red return on my unit witch I think is the skull of a large cat. A catfish to me looks like a red headed guppy. If there is yellow in front and behind the red ball. I assume its a carp or large striper. I think the sonar is reflecting the thick body of the other species. Now im no expert but alot of times im running over large arches witch show no red even with the sensitivity turned up to the point of clouding the screen.90% of the time I am on max mode. I have no issues identifying bait from fish. My question is am I in the right frame of mind looking for big cats? Can some of the large arches be big cats I dont run directly over and do not show the hard return? any help appreciated. I have some pics of what I identify as big cats I will post later.  I have been reading on here about the bladder showing up on large fish in down and side image. I have done no recordings and wonder if I am missing something here in my search. I know there are experts here on this subject and I would love to hear from you. Alot of times I do catch big cats I have identified my way. so I cant be all wrong but I wonder if I am missing seeing alot of Big Cats. thanks Mike

Offline Humminbird_Greg

• Humminbird Helper
  • Humminbird Staff
  • I help because I can
    • Humminbird Web Site
Re: how to identify large catfish?
« Reply #1 on: January 07, 2014, 02:16:04 PM »
Mike,