Author Topic: New member with new stuff!  (Read 2825 times)

Offline 1eyefishing

• Unit(s): Gen2 Solix 12, Gen2 Solix 10, Hbird 360
New member with new stuff!
« on: November 28, 2018, 10:24:07 AM »
Hello all, new member here with a couple of questions about my new set up. I'm about to take delivery on a new bay boat with a literal boatload of Humminbirds! I'm switching from previous Lowrance setups in order to run my new Minn Kota Ulterra with the I-pilot link.I have zero experience networking multiple units together.
I have ordered a helix 12 g3n for the console and a helix 10 g3n (transducer on the trolling motor) for the nose of the boat. I also have a transom mounted 360 unit ordered and since it doesn't have its own screen, I added another helix that I would like to be able to move back and forth from the bow to the console (RAM mounts). I have four units to network and the I pilot link connected to my 5 Port network box. Other than running wires to both locations and physically switching them out at the network box each time I want to change positions, what are my options? Wishing there was a network box with more ports, or that I could somehow get a split wiring going to each location.
Any ideas? Maybe adding a second network box?
My second question is what to do with the transducer associated with the third Helix. I was thinking of mounting it inside the hull hoping that I would be able to hold bottom better at speed than with my transom mounted transducer. Since I'm networking units together, I'm assuming I will have no problem switching views on any machine to see the signal from any transducer? No interference problems to be expected?