Author Topic: Mega 360 question  (Read 2465 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Sam K

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Joined: Mar 2013
  • Location: Ohio
  • Posts: 26
  • Unit(s): 787c2i,1198c SI
  • Accessories: Interlink
Mega 360 question
« on: March 09, 2023, 06:27:58 PM »
Helix 12 MDI g4n at bow connected to mega 360 transducer and built in trolling motor transducer via y cable. Works flawlessly. Helix 12 MSI g3n at console connected to side imaging transducer and thru hull transducer via y cable. Also works flawlessly. Bow and console graphs are linked for sharing waypoints and such. Functions as it should. 360 is wired to it's own power switch. Here's my issue. When I run 360 at the bow it becomes the selected transducer for the console graph as well. Meaning, when I pull the trolling motor to make a move with the big motor, I don't have side imaging at the console. How do I stop this from happening? I want 360 at the bow and side imaging at the console. I should be able to run and gun with full use of my graphs without powering down the 360 every time.


Offline ezfishn

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Joined: Jun 2013
  • Location: CA
  • Posts: 115
Re: Mega 360 question
« Reply #1 on: March 09, 2023, 11:29:47 PM »
Have you verified your console unit's network settings for SI source?

Offline Sam K

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Joined: Mar 2013
  • Location: Ohio
  • Posts: 26
  • Unit(s): 787c2i,1198c SI
  • Accessories: Interlink
Re: Mega 360 question
« Reply #2 on: March 10, 2023, 10:52:20 AM »
In network settings for SI source, it shows 360 transducer for bow graph and SI transducer for console graph like I think it should. But when the 360 is on, in or out of the water, I can't get SI view on console graph. Just says 360 out of water. Go to sonar settings in the menu on console graph. Only option for selected transducer is 360 even though it shows SI transducer is selected in network settings. If I power off the 360 I can then go to sonar settings on the console graph and select "forget 360". Power off console graph then power back on and everything is good until I turn the 360 back on. Has to be something simple. I just added the 360 this year. Live scope with Garmin so there isn't some kind of mystery issue with other devices connected to the Birds

Offline danlaboucane

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Joined: Mar 2017
  • Location: quebec
  • Posts: 77
  • Unit(s): ,798 hd onix8 ct , solix 12 msi
  • Software: 7.6 ,3.03
  • Accessories: sm3000+eth 5 port to get SI on onix CT,
Re: Mega 360 question
« Reply #3 on: March 11, 2023, 01:01:00 PM »
I beleive there is a way to separate the two graphs settings , set ''GLOBAL'' to off .

Offline Sam K

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Joined: Mar 2013
  • Location: Ohio
  • Posts: 26
  • Unit(s): 787c2i,1198c SI
  • Accessories: Interlink
Re: Mega 360 question
« Reply #4 on: March 12, 2023, 12:31:26 AM »
Thanks. I'll give it try this week

Offline Sam K

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Joined: Mar 2013
  • Location: Ohio
  • Posts: 26
  • Unit(s): 787c2i,1198c SI
  • Accessories: Interlink
Re: Mega 360 question
« Reply #5 on: March 12, 2023, 01:40:17 AM »
Also, does the Helix have global settings or is it a Solix thing?

Offline danlaboucane

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Joined: Mar 2017
  • Location: quebec
  • Posts: 77
  • Unit(s): ,798 hd onix8 ct , solix 12 msi
  • Software: 7.6 ,3.03
  • Accessories: sm3000+eth 5 port to get SI on onix CT,
Re: Mega 360 question
« Reply #6 on: March 12, 2023, 09:08:19 AM »
Not shure , sorry , i forgot to say its in the network settings .
« Last Edit: March 12, 2023, 09:10:00 AM by danlaboucane »

Offline ezfishn

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Joined: Jun 2013
  • Location: CA
  • Posts: 115
Re: Mega 360 question
« Reply #7 on: March 19, 2023, 08:36:58 PM »
Helix models do not have global settings as do Solix and APEX models.

Offline Sam K

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Joined: Mar 2013
  • Location: Ohio
  • Posts: 26
  • Unit(s): 787c2i,1198c SI
  • Accessories: Interlink
Re: Mega 360 question
« Reply #8 on: March 19, 2023, 11:39:17 PM »
Still not sure why this is happening

Offline rnvinc

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Joined: Nov 2009
  • Location: Western KY
  • Posts: 4338
  • Unit(s): 1197c SI Combo, SOLIX G2 MSI
  • Software: Dependent on whim
  • Accessories: AS GRHA, MEGA 360, LowBird LSS 1 & 2
Re: Mega 360 question
« Reply #9 on: March 20, 2023, 08:40:52 PM »
Have you renamed the units to something more discernible than their serial numbers to make it less likely to get confused which unit is which in Network settings  ... ??

Rickie

Offline ezfishn

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Joined: Jun 2013
  • Location: CA
  • Posts: 115
Re: Mega 360 question
« Reply #10 on: March 20, 2023, 10:35:30 PM »
Are both units upto current software?  There was a feature added in a prior update to Disable 360 Detection that might be of help on your console unit.  It sounds like your MSI console unit is detecting the 360 because your default Connected Transducer setting should be for the connected MSI transducer on transom not for the 360. 

Offline Sam K

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Joined: Mar 2013
  • Location: Ohio
  • Posts: 26
  • Unit(s): 787c2i,1198c SI
  • Accessories: Interlink
Re: Mega 360 question
« Reply #11 on: March 20, 2023, 11:51:45 PM »
Units have names and are different generations so no confusion there. The software is current. Disabling 360 detection sounds like what I'm looking for but I can't find that option in the settings. I'll get it eventually. Thanks guys

Offline Sam K

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Joined: Mar 2013
  • Location: Ohio
  • Posts: 26
  • Unit(s): 787c2i,1198c SI
  • Accessories: Interlink
Re: Mega 360 question
« Reply #12 on: March 20, 2023, 11:58:03 PM »
I see disable 360 detection now with the boat sitting in the garage but I swear it hasn't been there while on the water. Or maybe I've somehow managed to overlook it. Either way, think I'm on the right track. Thanks

Offline Sam K

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Joined: Mar 2013
  • Location: Ohio
  • Posts: 26
  • Unit(s): 787c2i,1198c SI
  • Accessories: Interlink
Re: Mega 360 question
« Reply #13 on: March 23, 2023, 07:50:03 AM »
Got it. Thanks!

Offline Minnesota_Joe

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Joined: Apr 2023
  • Location: Northern Minnesota
  • Posts: 2
  • Unit(s): Helix 12's G4. Solix G3's. 12's, 15's
  • Software: Always the latest
  • Accessories: M360/M Live/ Target lock
Re: Mega 360 question
« Reply #14 on: April 07, 2023, 09:01:24 AM »
Rather than going in to the why, sounds simple, but have you simply reset factory defaults yet?

There are no global settings on helix, that's a solix/apex  thing.
Avid fisherman, PSD team, rigger.

Offline Sam K

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Joined: Mar 2013
  • Location: Ohio
  • Posts: 26
  • Unit(s): 787c2i,1198c SI
  • Accessories: Interlink
Re: Mega 360 question
« Reply #15 on: April 07, 2023, 02:18:45 PM »
I did reset factory defaults but that was not the issue. I was able to turn off 360 detect on console graph. I think that option wasn't showing up originally because I was trying to do it after the bow graph and 360 were already powered on, and the console graph had already detected tte 360. I powered on only the console graph and found the option to disable 360 detect. All is well now. Thanks

Offline fishreed

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Joined: Mar 2015
  • Location: Byron, Michigan
  • Posts: 153
  • fishreed
  • Unit(s): 899CI SI HD,1199SI HD, Helix 12 SI GEN3
  • Software: current
  • Accessories: ALL, and a HW ducer for the Helix 12 2D
Re: Mega 360 question
« Reply #16 on: April 25, 2023, 06:10:48 AM »
everyone,

Here is solution but I'm sure you will not like it. I run a Helix 12 Mega+ Gen 3  Si with 2 transducers off the transom. On the bow I run a Garmin 106Ultra with the  GT 56 high def transducer  ...so I don't worry about cross-talk or compatibility time wasting games between trying to figure out why  2 Humminbird units don't work. . Works for me and now I have the best of both worlds.

J Reed


Share me

Digg  Facebook  SlashDot  Delicious  Technorati  Twitter  Google  Yahoo

 

Related Topics

  Subject / Started by Replies Last post
3 Replies
5164 Views
Last post March 08, 2017, 11:06:34 AM
by Whistler
4 Replies
7755 Views
Last post May 21, 2017, 03:22:19 AM
by Woz
0 Replies
13424 Views
Last post September 16, 2018, 03:15:09 AM
by cade
1 Replies
3753 Views
Last post November 28, 2019, 08:16:06 PM
by rnvinc
3 Replies
13546 Views
Last post June 06, 2020, 09:52:35 PM
by rnvinc
1 Replies
4475 Views
Last post April 14, 2022, 10:09:49 PM
by rnvinc
2 Replies
1874 Views
Last post May 23, 2023, 08:14:23 PM
by rnvinc
1 Replies
2538 Views
Last post December 30, 2023, 07:54:09 PM
by rnvinc


anything
SimplePortal 2.3.3 © 2008-2010, SimplePortal