Author Topic: 997c keeps going to loading screen and no GPS  (Read 1750 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Shank

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Joined: Dec 2022
  • Location: Chesapeake virginia
  • Posts: 1
  • Unit(s): 997c and 997c
  • Software: latest
  • Accessories: Gps antenna
997c keeps going to loading screen and no GPS
« on: December 21, 2022, 10:06:58 AM »
So,  I'm have a problem that I hope someone has had before that can help me out.  I have a 997c on the bow with no gps puck and another 997c at the console with a gps puck attached.  A month ago while fishing my gps quit so I swapped head units and still no gps.  I ordered a new puck figuring that I had isolated the problem but when I installed the new puck I still have no gps with either head unit.  While I was waiting for the new puck I downloaded and installed the latest software because they told me I had to for the new puck to work.  I now have no gps and only at the console no matter what head unit I have they work(no gps) but after about a minute both units keep going back to the loading and then the screen that I have to hit exit.  I'm now thinking maybe I have a power problem at the console because both units work on the bow with no puck attached.  Does anyone have any recommendations?
Thanks in advance!


Offline rnvinc

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Joined: Nov 2009
  • Location: Western KY
  • Posts: 4338
  • Unit(s): 1197c SI Combo, SOLIX G2 MSI
  • Software: Dependent on whim
  • Accessories: AS GRHA, MEGA 360, LowBird LSS 1 & 2
Re: 997c keeps going to loading screen and no GPS
« Reply #1 on: December 21, 2022, 08:13:51 PM »
If the units work on the bow power cable but not on the console power cable - it sounds like the console power cable is damaged or not making a good connection (at one end of the cable or the other end of the cable)  ...

Rickie

Offline Mark Saikaley

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Joined: Jun 2010
  • Location: Ottawa, Canada
  • Posts: 113
  • Unit(s): Helix12MegSI 3GN
  • Accessories: I-PilotLink,digitrol 5
Re: 997c keeps going to loading screen and no GPS
« Reply #2 on: March 09, 2023, 10:06:05 AM »
I spent an entire fishing weekend convinced my GPS was inoperational as it was connected to the back of my 997 CSI  never realizing that there was a second connection under my console that had come unplugged when someone pulled a life jacket from that area which pull the extension apart.  I had a y cable to supply GPS coordinates to my marine radio and forgot about the second connection. This doesnt sound like your issue but maybe it will help someone avoid a weekend of frustration or at least makes someone's day with a good chuckle. By the way I had gotten a new GPS and went through the trouble of drilling a new hole to install the new GPS in a more ideal location then the current GPS, one and wasnt until I was ready to reconnect the newly installed one that I discovered the y cable!


Share me

Digg  Facebook  SlashDot  Delicious  Technorati  Twitter  Google  Yahoo

 

Related Topics

  Subject / Started by Replies Last post
2 Replies
10198 Views
Last post July 14, 2009, 01:08:15 PM
by Humminbird_Greg
4 Replies
5145 Views
Last post March 24, 2010, 12:48:18 PM
by sonar2000
1 Replies
6291 Views
Last post July 15, 2010, 04:25:49 PM
by raricker
5 Replies
5759 Views
Last post May 17, 2011, 09:20:22 AM
by FuzzyGrub
2 Replies
4048 Views
Last post February 16, 2011, 02:57:38 PM
by RGecy
2 Replies
5100 Views
Last post July 12, 2011, 09:04:25 PM
by jaywdee
4 Replies
4187 Views
Last post September 03, 2013, 11:26:03 AM
by Humminbird_Greg
8 Replies
9485 Views
Last post June 04, 2014, 09:30:02 PM
by rpro


SimplePortal 2.3.3 © 2008-2010, SimplePortal