Author Topic: new boater= no experience with new Helix 7 SI  (Read 6140 times)

Offline Lbranco

• Unit(s): Helix 7 SI
new boater= no experience with new Helix 7 SI
« on: April 25, 2016, 03:57:15 PM »
First off hello to all!  I am a new member to this community and hope to learn from the very best!  I am a new boat owner and converted a 2009 Glastron GT225 into a family leisure/ fishing boat.  Had my bottom painted for the salt water and sea dog flush rod mounts installed as well ans my brand new Helix 7 SI unit.  As you can imagine, I am totally amped about being able to use this and increase my fishing fun for this upcoming season.  I dropped the boat yesterday and only had about 2 hrs of practice with the gps unit.  One thing i noticed, and remember this is my first time so my settings might not be correct nor do i know the waters (normal clarity etc) was what looked like hazy image on the down image.  So I am here to ask for help.  I have been trying to do research on the ideal setting for my type of fishing and location (New Jersey- Raritan bay/ Sandy hook) but it seems to be user based by playing around with the unit.  So that's when i turn to you guys.  What are the best settings I should use?  Color pallete etc, distance to each side for SI, contrast etc etc etc.  Also some of my research has people going into advanced settings and doing things manually.  If the default is tough i can only imagine that way!  I hope i don't sound like such a noob but I am. Also I just hope there is nothing wrong with the transducer or would I know that immediately once I plugged it in if something was wrong?  Thank you all for all your help in advance! 

Offline rnvinc

• Unit(s): 1197c SI Combo, SOLIX G2 MSI
  • Software: Dependent on whim
  • Accessories: AS GRHA, MEGA 360, LowBird LSS 1 & 2
Re: new boater= no experience with new Helix 7 SI
« Reply #1 on: April 25, 2016, 11:21:37 PM »