Author Topic: 788ci HD di Navionics + map issue  (Read 3546 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline gadgettr1

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Joined: May 2014
  • Location: Mass
  • Posts: 3
  • Unit(s): 788ci HD DI
788ci HD di Navionics + map issue
« on: August 26, 2014, 09:52:12 PM »
I recently got a Navionics + map chip for my 788. I thought it was working fine until I got it on the water. The GPS seems to be working fine but as you'll see in my screenshots the map detail doesn't show on my location. But, if I scroll to the side you get full detail. This is no matter what the zoom and even on split screen with sonar. Any ideas? Is it the chip or an issue with my unit?  The unit only has 35 hours on it (it's mounted on my kayak).

Chip
gadgettr1@yahoo.com



Offline eric.belinda

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Joined: Jul 2014
  • Posts: 16
Re: 788ci HD di Navionics + map issue
« Reply #1 on: August 27, 2014, 05:19:26 AM »
Fist thing I would do is to go to Navionics site and update the chip. Also you can email support ,they are good about getting back to you ithin 48 hrs.

Offline gadgettr1

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Joined: May 2014
  • Location: Mass
  • Posts: 3
  • Unit(s): 788ci HD DI
Re: 788ci HD di Navionics + map issue
« Reply #2 on: August 27, 2014, 07:37:53 AM »
I just downloaded the chip two days before I used it. I emailed Navionics and they basically said to contact Humminbird.

Chip

Offline eric.belinda

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Joined: Jul 2014
  • Posts: 16
Re: 788ci HD di Navionics + map issue
« Reply #3 on: August 27, 2014, 10:29:10 AM »
I have downloaded corrupt files in the past so I would try again. What does it take if you are waiting for answers from other sources anyway, your map shows other information about area and is missing Navionic information. I could be wrong but would start there. Eric

Offline Humminbird_Greg

  • Humminbird Helper
  • Humminbird Staff
  • *
  • Joined: Mar 2009
  • Location: Eufaula, AL.
  • Posts: 6546
  • I help because I can
    • Humminbird Web Site
Re: 788ci HD di Navionics + map issue
« Reply #4 on: August 28, 2014, 10:17:24 AM »
Which Navionics mapping card are you using?
When you spoke with Navionics, did they state that the location(s) you are having problem with is actually covered on the map card you have?  I ask because on some other map cards (for another area) there are areas with blank data like this by design.
Greg Walters at Humminbird
gwalters@johnsonoutdoors.com

Offline gadgettr1

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Joined: May 2014
  • Location: Mass
  • Posts: 3
  • Unit(s): 788ci HD DI
Re: 788ci HD di Navionics + map issue
« Reply #5 on: August 28, 2014, 11:50:42 AM »
It's a new Navionics + and I was using it in a very popular saltwater area. I doubt it's an area not mapped (it shows up in my Navionics in my phone). But, I will ask when I hear from them next.

Thanks

Chip


Share me

Digg  Facebook  SlashDot  Delicious  Technorati  Twitter  Google  Yahoo

 

Related Topics

  Subject / Started by Replies Last post
0 Replies
2461 Views
Last post March 14, 2011, 04:29:27 PM
by CMorg
5 Replies
4072 Views
Last post October 26, 2011, 05:08:36 AM
by BazzaD
1 Replies
4366 Views
Last post June 05, 2012, 08:39:53 AM
by ITGEEK
5 Replies
3913 Views
Last post June 25, 2012, 12:17:13 PM
by Humminbird_Greg
19 Replies
10206 Views
Last post June 29, 2012, 10:41:58 AM
by Humminbird_Greg
6 Replies
2945 Views
Last post July 31, 2012, 07:04:42 AM
by Petersaban
4 Replies
3475 Views
Last post May 23, 2013, 08:29:01 PM
by backlashed
4 Replies
3343 Views
Last post February 23, 2017, 08:05:05 PM
by rnvinc


SimplePortal 2.3.3 © 2008-2010, SimplePortal