Author Topic: Transducer Where  (Read 5836 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline inshorecatch

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Joined: Apr 2009
  • Location: Florida
  • Posts: 69
Transducer Where
« on: May 16, 2009, 08:35:37 PM »


so where should I put my ducer just under the motor bracket or on the small lip down by the plug.
if I put it by the motor bracket it will be under the water plenty but the water will pull from under the lip before it hits the ducer wont see ahead of the boat. do you understand what Im saying. help
« Last Edit: May 16, 2009, 11:42:01 PM by RGecy »
Born Southern Fish by the Grace of God


Offline RGecy

  • Administrator
  • *
  • Joined: Mar 2009
  • Location: Beaufort, SC
  • Posts: 1981
    • SideImagingSoft.com
  • Unit(s): 1197c SI, 997c SI & 785c2
  • Software: 4.950 & 4.510
  • Accessories: Interlink & GRHA
Re: Transducer Where
« Reply #1 on: May 16, 2009, 11:48:57 PM »
inshorecatch,

I fixed your post so the image would show.  To embed a picture, use the image BBC button (looks like a picture in a picture frame) then paste the url between the [img] tags. 

The cleanest water will be down by the drain plug.  The only problem is it is also the deepest part on the hull and you will have to be a little more conscious of not hitting anything and knocking the transducer off.

If you put it on the transom to the side of the motor mount, you are going to loose a little of your left side because of the turbulence.

Robert
Humminbird Guru and Forum Administrator

Offline inshorecatch

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Joined: Apr 2009
  • Location: Florida
  • Posts: 69
Re: Transducer Where
« Reply #2 on: May 17, 2009, 09:29:26 AM »
does it have to sit even or just lower than the lip down by the drain or can I push it up some so if the bottom were to drag it wouldnt hit it. thanks for fixing pic
Born Southern Fish by the Grace of God

Offline RGecy

  • Administrator
  • *
  • Joined: Mar 2009
  • Location: Beaufort, SC
  • Posts: 1981
    • SideImagingSoft.com
  • Unit(s): 1197c SI, 997c SI & 785c2
  • Software: 4.950 & 4.510
  • Accessories: Interlink & GRHA
Re: Transducer Where
« Reply #3 on: May 17, 2009, 11:41:30 AM »
I would not put it right by the plug, but half way up.  It will need to be below the hull line to get clean water.

Robert
Humminbird Guru and Forum Administrator

Offline Jolly Roger

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Joined: Mar 2009
  • Location: Germany, Lake Constance
  • Posts: 801
  • HB Addicted
  • Unit(s): 998Cx SI
  • Software: latest (mostly)
  • Accessories: AS GR50, custom towfish and: A boat!!
Re: Transducer Where
« Reply #4 on: May 17, 2009, 01:32:38 PM »
Slow down Robert,

let's see a Picture with the Outbord in Downposition first.
I once gave a similar advice in another Forum, but that didn't work as planed, because the Ducer started the Propeller to cavitate.
YES,......
WE SCAN!

Offline RGecy

  • Administrator
  • *
  • Joined: Mar 2009
  • Location: Beaufort, SC
  • Posts: 1981
    • SideImagingSoft.com
  • Unit(s): 1197c SI, 997c SI & 785c2
  • Software: 4.950 & 4.510
  • Accessories: Interlink & GRHA
Re: Transducer Where
« Reply #5 on: May 17, 2009, 03:15:25 PM »
Harald,

You are very right!  You need to avoid having the transducer within the flow of the prop.  The turbulence can cause cavitation!

Robert
Humminbird Guru and Forum Administrator

Offline inshorecatch

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Joined: Apr 2009
  • Location: Florida
  • Posts: 69
Re: Transducer Where
« Reply #6 on: May 18, 2009, 09:00:20 AM »
is it important to have it just below the lip or may I make it flush, I tend to chase fish in real skinny water and would hate to knock it off.
Born Southern Fish by the Grace of God

Offline inshorecatch

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Joined: Apr 2009
  • Location: Florida
  • Posts: 69
Re: Transducer Where
« Reply #7 on: May 18, 2009, 07:59:52 PM »


what do you think about here
« Last Edit: May 18, 2009, 08:47:52 PM by RGecy »
Born Southern Fish by the Grace of God

Offline RGecy

  • Administrator
  • *
  • Joined: Mar 2009
  • Location: Beaufort, SC
  • Posts: 1981
    • SideImagingSoft.com
  • Unit(s): 1197c SI, 997c SI & 785c2
  • Software: 4.950 & 4.510
  • Accessories: Interlink & GRHA
Re: Transducer Where
« Reply #8 on: May 18, 2009, 09:03:07 PM »
That looks like a great location.  The only problem is, you have a deep V hull and are probably going to lose a little of the right side because of turbulence coming off the bottom of the V.  The 455khz covers 84 degrees on each side.  Check out the image below.

It may work just fine, but to get the absolute best image, you may have to install a second transducer and use the AS SILR Y Cable.

Good Luck,

Robert
Humminbird Guru and Forum Administrator

Offline inshorecatch

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Joined: Apr 2009
  • Location: Florida
  • Posts: 69
Re: Transducer Where
« Reply #9 on: May 19, 2009, 05:08:38 PM »
still not understanding how to post pics. I hit the img button and then post my link.











hope these looks help
« Last Edit: May 19, 2009, 11:07:37 PM by RGecy »
Born Southern Fish by the Grace of God


Share me

Digg  Facebook  SlashDot  Delicious  Technorati  Twitter  Google  Yahoo

 

Related Topics

  Subject / Started by Replies Last post
5 Replies
4100 Views
Last post June 13, 2009, 03:44:25 AM
by Jolly Roger
8 Replies
7026 Views
Last post June 05, 2009, 11:39:51 AM
by Humminbird_Greg
2 Replies
4046 Views
Last post July 08, 2009, 09:35:07 PM
by George
2 Replies
6481 Views
Last post July 14, 2009, 03:50:43 PM
by keizerh
7 Replies
14318 Views
Last post February 10, 2010, 11:11:32 PM
by Sonshine Fishing
1 Replies
8011 Views
Last post May 06, 2013, 04:27:33 PM
by Humminbird_Greg
1 Replies
1971 Views
Last post February 18, 2014, 10:01:28 AM
by Humminbird_Greg
7 Replies
9690 Views
Last post May 02, 2014, 08:09:36 PM
by bobcoy


anything
SimplePortal 2.3.3 © 2008-2010, SimplePortal