Author Topic: Two SI transducers and Y cable needed?  (Read 3365 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline smokemetallic

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Joined: May 2014
  • Location: Syracuse, NY
  • Posts: 2
  • Accessories: Terrova/iPilot/US2
Two SI transducers and Y cable needed?
« on: May 22, 2014, 08:57:04 PM »
Looking to install a 999 or 1199 on my 16.5' aluminum boat. Only 5" between motor and hull In the trimmed down position. Is that enough or will I need two transducers and the AS-SI-LR-Y cable.  I do a lot of trolling with the motor trimmed all the way down, and steer with terrova in front. Running with motor trimmed up isn't really what I want to do.  I have a small humminbird on the bow, and the transducer on the transom in the pics goes to a old school humminbird that died and I am replacing.
Also confused on what the options would be for high speed running, will continue searching as I am just learning. Thanks for any advice.







Offline newkid4si

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Joined: Mar 2010
  • Location: Meadville PA. 16335
  • Posts: 830
  • Unit(s): 998c si
  • Software: v 5.70
Re: Two SI transducers and Y cable needed?
« Reply #1 on: May 22, 2014, 09:34:29 PM »
smokemetallic

    Looks like your getting forced into the two SI transducers and cable. That 5" is really only 3" as you need to subtract 2" for the water intake.
    I am able to get 2D at 20mph (my WOT) using the SI transducer, but it is located in a somewhat vulnerable area.

          Mike

     

Offline Humminbird_Greg

  • Humminbird Helper
  • Humminbird Staff
  • *
  • Joined: Mar 2009
  • Location: Eufaula, AL.
  • Posts: 6546
  • I help because I can
    • Humminbird Web Site
Re: Two SI transducers and Y cable needed?
« Reply #2 on: May 23, 2014, 09:26:19 AM »
Welcome to the Humminbird Side Imaging Forums smokemetallic.

I agree with Mike.  To use the the 999/1199 as you intend to with your boat you will need a two HDSi transducer set-up using the AS-Si-LR-Y cable.  Not sure on the high-speed depth readings as this is a flat bottom alum. boat and they are hard to get high-speed depth readings on plus the size of the HDSi transducers doesn't help.  Any place you install one for high-speed depth readings will also expose it more to possible damage.  You could go with a third transducer but I don;t know if you want to go to that expense with no guarantee of results.

What transducer/old school Humminbird is on the boat now and how well does that transducer work at high boat speeds?
Greg Walters at Humminbird
gwalters@johnsonoutdoors.com

Offline smokemetallic

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Joined: May 2014
  • Location: Syracuse, NY
  • Posts: 2
  • Accessories: Terrova/iPilot/US2
Re: Two SI transducers and Y cable needed?
« Reply #3 on: May 23, 2014, 10:14:27 AM »
Thanks for the advice so far. I'm unsure on the model humminbird and transducer but will check later. Before the transducer and head unit failed it worked adequately at high and low speeds.


Share me

Digg  Facebook  SlashDot  Delicious  Technorati  Twitter  Google  Yahoo

 

Related Topics

  Subject / Started by Replies Last post
40 Replies
28378 Views
Last post July 13, 2013, 06:51:56 AM
by rnvinc
4 Replies
4368 Views
Last post April 23, 2012, 01:11:57 PM
by sonar2000
13 Replies
7346 Views
Last post July 14, 2012, 11:04:09 PM
by stevemc
0 Replies
5675 Views
Last post September 11, 2012, 07:30:05 AM
by gros21
6 Replies
7988 Views
Last post November 03, 2014, 09:41:00 PM
by sfw1960
3 Replies
3263 Views
Last post July 14, 2014, 03:01:27 PM
by FlyFisher SLC
3 Replies
2475 Views
Last post November 19, 2014, 12:29:11 PM
by sonar2000
0 Replies
1910 Views
Last post May 03, 2020, 07:08:44 PM
by Dave Sutton


SimplePortal 2.3.3 © 2008-2010, SimplePortal