Author Topic: Newbie here with a question about my new 898c HD SI unit  (Read 10548 times)

Offline btoia

• Unit(s): 898c HD SI
  • Accessories: ipilot Terrova
Newbie here with a question about my new 898c HD SI unit
« on: July 20, 2013, 12:55:35 PM »
Hello......new guy here (my name is Brian) and I just bought my first boat yesterday.  I purchased a new Crestliner Fish Hawk 1650 and loaded it up with a 898c HD SI and paired it with a Minn Kota 80/ Terrova iPilot.  I have the 898 mounted on the main console.  The marine tech that installed everything told me that the transducer from the Terrova was wired to the 898 as well as the transducer which came with the unit (that is mounted on the bottom of the transom.  I want to add another unit to the bow that will communicate with the 898 and would like to know which is my best options.  I will need to know which accessories I need to get to pair them up as well.

I mostly cast for Musky and bass and will be spending the majority of my time on the bow.  My budget is around $500 - $700 and I'm also getting a $200 credit from the dealer because it came with a 300 series Humminbird FF which I did not want. 

Thanks in advance for your help! 

Offline newkid4si

• Unit(s): 998c si
  • Software: v 5.70
Re: Newbie here with a question about my new 898c HD SI unit
« Reply #1 on: July 20, 2013, 11:27:45 PM »
Brian
   The first thing I would do is--- SLOW DOWN. I understand your excitement, but as this is your first boat
   and Side Image unit, you will find that there is a lot to learn.
   The 898 is a great unit, but it takes time to learn about the different parts ( 2D,DI and SI ) and how to best us them.
   During this time try to determine what you need for the bow unit. 2D or DI or SI or all three.
   You may find that moving the 898 to the bow and placing another unit at the console works.

Mike

Offline btoia

« Reply #2 on: July 21, 2013, 12:05:11 AM »
Brian