Author Topic: Error message while trying to start a recording  (Read 795 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Scampbell

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Joined: Mar 2016
  • location: Jay fl
  • Posts: 6
  • Unit(s): 899
Error message while trying to start a recording
« on: August 04, 2016, 07:42:34 PM »
The error says "error creating file" .  It will not allow me to record with the zero lines card in.  I have an 899 unit.  I have used it two other times prior.  Anyone have a solution.  Thanks


Offline sonar2000

  • Chief
  • Global Moderator
  • *
  • Joined: May 2009
  • location: Kerr Lake NC
  • Posts: 5970
  • It is not lost ...it has been misplaced.
  • Unit(s): (1) 1197 (1) 1198
  • Software: 6.6
  • Accessories: Tow Fish
Re: Error message while trying to start a recording
« Reply #1 on: August 05, 2016, 05:28:41 AM »
1. is the card full with previous recordings?
2. Does the card have a lock/unlock switch on its side? Should be in the unlocked position.
3. Does the card have corrupted data on it?
4. Is the card seated in the slot and not loose?
lets start with this....
Chuck

Offline Scampbell

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Joined: Mar 2016
  • location: Jay fl
  • Posts: 6
  • Unit(s): 899
Re: Error message while trying to start a recording
« Reply #2 on: August 05, 2016, 09:21:59 AM »
i just put the sd card in the computer and noticed it was in the lock position.  so i guess it's safe to assume that if it's locked it will not record.  valuable lesson learned.
i'll make sure today when i get home that i can record off the zero lines card, but i'm pretty sure that's what the issue was.
while i have your attention, is there a way to save my map on my computer so i can look at them w/o having to have the sd card inserted?  is there a tutorial out on this?

Online Bob B

  • Charter Member
  • *
  • Joined: Oct 2010
  • location: Creve Coeur, Il
  • Posts: 1537
  • Unit(s): 1197c si, 1198c si
  • Software: 6.310, 6.490
Re: Error message while trying to start a recording
« Reply #3 on: August 05, 2016, 10:42:28 AM »
The Lakeimages tutorial is very good ..... best deal is to get all 3  http://www.lakeimagestraining.com/

As mentioned on the other forum .... You don't want to do your recordings to the ZLC.  Use a blank class 10 SD card and record to that .... use the ZLC only with Autochart to generate the mapping.
It is a good idea to have the ZLC write protected while in the unit....You don't want the unit to try to save snapshots or recordings to it.
**Looking for the one that makes it all worthwhile**

Offline Scampbell

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Joined: Mar 2016
  • location: Jay fl
  • Posts: 6
  • Unit(s): 899
Re: Error message while trying to start a recording
« Reply #4 on: August 05, 2016, 01:54:06 PM »
okay, on using the ZLC i have a couple of recordings on it, can i delete those without loosing anything important.  i know i read something about not deleting a certain suffix file but i don't remember which one.  what can i delete and still be okay?
and how do i write protect the ZLC?
thanks so much for the help. 

Online Bob B

  • Charter Member
  • *
  • Joined: Oct 2010
  • location: Creve Coeur, Il
  • Posts: 1537
  • Unit(s): 1197c si, 1198c si
  • Software: 6.310, 6.490
Re: Error message while trying to start a recording
« Reply #5 on: August 05, 2016, 02:12:40 PM »
Been a while since I looked at the file structure of a recording .... You should still be able to import those files into Autochart and save them to a directory on your PC.  It probably isn't necessary to delete those files from the ZLC.....Just start using another class 10 SD card for future recordings....32Gig or less.

There is  little tab on the corner of the SD card.  If flipped one way, it is write protected, the other way writing is allowed..... see illustration here.... https://grassrootsmotorsports.com/forum/off-topic-discussion/any-of-you-jerks-know-how-to-format-a-write-protected-sd-card/57243/page1/

Always save the raw data to a directory on your computer.....and back that up to some other source such as as flash drive, even after creating a map......and if the water level varies on the lake you are fishing, make sure you keep some sort of log of the relative water level.
« Last Edit: August 05, 2016, 02:13:57 PM by Bob B »
**Looking for the one that makes it all worthwhile**

Offline Scampbell

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Joined: Mar 2016
  • location: Jay fl
  • Posts: 6
  • Unit(s): 899
Re: Error message while trying to start a recording
« Reply #6 on: August 05, 2016, 02:23:10 PM »
10-4, i'll give it a shot.  i'm pretty positive that the tab was in the wrong direction for recording yesterday, but i never got the lakemaster version to show either on the maps.  what setting does the nav or mapping have to set at on the unit to be able to see the map i have already created.
i have already recorded a couple of times and was just going to get more detail yesterday when everything went south.  this thing is process to get down all the steps, worth it but it's a learning curve to it as well for sure.


Share me

Digg  Facebook  SlashDot  Delicious  Technorati  Twitter  Google  Yahoo

 

Related Topics

  Subject / Started by Replies Last post
9 Replies
17640 Views
Last post September 17, 2010, 08:43:48 AM
by Humminbird_Greg
10 Replies
3500 Views
Last post September 28, 2010, 09:47:04 AM
by Jolly Roger
1 Replies
1024 Views
Last post January 01, 2012, 07:07:26 AM
by sonar2000
2 Replies
1271 Views
Last post April 10, 2013, 02:00:02 PM
by easysailor
2 Replies
1213 Views
Last post November 04, 2014, 10:53:10 AM
by DM
3 Replies
996 Views
Last post September 11, 2015, 09:57:37 AM
by Beaulieu80
6 Replies
506 Views
Last post January 27, 2017, 07:08:38 AM
by Minke
3 Replies
245 Views
Last post June 11, 2017, 05:12:16 PM
by fshndude


anything
SimplePortal 2.3.3 © 2008-2010, SimplePortal