Author Topic: Satellite Imagery custom made on Onix and Helix Can be done!!!  (Read 6358 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline allanrbaker

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Joined: Feb 2012
  • location: South Africa
  • Posts: 25
  • Unit(s): Onix 8 si Onix 8Combo
  • Software: 2.3
  • Accessories: 360 TM SM3000
« Last Edit: April 20, 2017, 01:19:08 AM by allanrbaker »


Offline Bill H

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Joined: Jan 2014
  • location: Moses Lake, WA
  • Posts: 28
  • Unit(s): 998c HD SI Combo , Helix 9 SI
  • Software: 7.670
  • Accessories: None
Re: Satellite Imagery custom made on Onix and Helix Can be done!!!
« Reply #1 on: April 20, 2016, 07:57:09 AM »
Very Nice. Is there a tutorial on how to do this? I'm afraid my helix 9 would have a hard time processing the imagery.

Offline allanrbaker

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Joined: Feb 2012
  • location: South Africa
  • Posts: 25
  • Unit(s): Onix 8 si Onix 8Combo
  • Software: 2.3
  • Accessories: 360 TM SM3000
Re: Satellite Imagery custom made on Onix and Helix Can be done!!!
« Reply #2 on: April 20, 2016, 08:02:46 AM »
No ways i put it on a helix 10 and it works great.!!

Check out the picture!!

Offline Bill H

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Joined: Jan 2014
  • location: Moses Lake, WA
  • Posts: 28
  • Unit(s): 998c HD SI Combo , Helix 9 SI
  • Software: 7.670
  • Accessories: None
Re: Satellite Imagery custom made on Onix and Helix Can be done!!!
« Reply #3 on: April 20, 2016, 08:29:23 AM »
Currently my Helix 9 SI is back at the factory for repairs, the temperature setting drops 4-10 degrees. As the day progresses, water gets colder. But I've had times where the map gets "glitchy" and seems like the unit struggles to keep up, sometimes the little boat icon on the map completely goes off the bottom of the map and then jumps back up in the middle of the screen where it should be and I would assume adding an overlay would slow it down even more. I've even seen the 2d sonar get glitchy then go real fast and catch up, kinda pulsates back and forth. After the recent firmware upgrade, Autochart live does not draw on the screen until I start looking into the menu's to see if it's turned on and exit back out, hopefully that gets fixed soon. I would still like to know how to do it though.

Offline Bob B

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Joined: Oct 2010
  • location: Creve Coeur, Il
  • Posts: 1544
  • Unit(s): 1197c si, 1198c si
  • Software: 6.310, 6.490
Re: Satellite Imagery custom made on Onix and Helix Can be done!!!
« Reply #4 on: April 20, 2016, 01:46:07 PM »
I'm pretty sure that is a new feature with the Autochart Pro update.
**Looking for the one that makes it all worthwhile**

Offline lancepeterson

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Joined: Mar 2015
  • location: South Dakota
  • Posts: 23
  • Unit(s): 999ci HD SI
Re: Satellite Imagery custom made on Onix and Helix Can be done!!!
« Reply #5 on: April 21, 2016, 09:23:48 PM »
Allan, what were the dimensions of the images you converted to Lakemaster IMG layers.  I am having issues with program crashes on anything greater than approx. 4500x1500.  Did you notice any issues with redrawing on the satellite image as you moved along?

Offline Rpadar

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Joined: Feb 2016
  • location: Canada
  • Posts: 31
  • Unit(s): 1198HD si Helix 10, helix 9, helix 10
  • Software: Always the newest
  • Accessories: Ethernet box, 360, I pilot link
Re: Satellite Imagery custom made on Onix and Helix Can be done!!!
« Reply #6 on: April 22, 2016, 06:22:53 AM »
Well this is excellent.   However I don't have autochart pro, just the regular version.  Is it possible to get these images on my zero lines card. I spent the better part of the evening last night attempting to do this and researching. I'm at a dead end.

Offline Bob B

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Joined: Oct 2010
  • location: Creve Coeur, Il
  • Posts: 1544
  • Unit(s): 1197c si, 1198c si
  • Software: 6.310, 6.490
Re: Satellite Imagery custom made on Onix and Helix Can be done!!!
« Reply #7 on: April 22, 2016, 09:36:46 AM »
Well this is excellent.   However I don't have autochart pro, just the regular version.  Is it possible to get these images on my zero lines card. I spent the better part of the evening last night attempting to do this and researching. I'm at a dead end.

Right now, this feature is only for the Autochart Pro software.  You would have to call them and see if they intend to provided that update for the non-pro version at a later date.
**Looking for the one that makes it all worthwhile**

Offline Rpadar

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Joined: Feb 2016
  • location: Canada
  • Posts: 31
  • Unit(s): 1198HD si Helix 10, helix 9, helix 10
  • Software: Always the newest
  • Accessories: Ethernet box, 360, I pilot link
Re: Satellite Imagery custom made on Onix and Helix Can be done!!!
« Reply #8 on: April 22, 2016, 12:59:43 PM »
I did find this in the new software version for autochart.  Would this be it. 

Offline Bill H

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Joined: Jan 2014
  • location: Moses Lake, WA
  • Posts: 28
  • Unit(s): 998c HD SI Combo , Helix 9 SI
  • Software: 7.670
  • Accessories: None
Re: Satellite Imagery custom made on Onix and Helix Can be done!!!
« Reply #9 on: April 24, 2016, 08:53:02 AM »
I have autochart pro and updated it and am not having any luck getting the satellite imagery to work. It would be nice if Humminbird had a tutorial on how to do this. I'm sure it's pretty straight forward, but not to everyone. Any tips you can share Allan?

Offline Bill H

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Joined: Jan 2014
  • location: Moses Lake, WA
  • Posts: 28
  • Unit(s): 998c HD SI Combo , Helix 9 SI
  • Software: 7.670
  • Accessories: None
Re: Satellite Imagery custom made on Onix and Helix Can be done!!!
« Reply #10 on: April 26, 2016, 07:52:28 AM »
I downloaded SAS Planet and successfully converted the imagery to a .kml file and uploaded to my Zeroline Card. Took about 1/2 day to figure it out but finally got it to work. On your humminbird unit you select one overlay to be AC and the other to IMG. Everytime you "mess up" while uploading the image, it makes an IMG folder on your zeroline card, so if you try to make another image, you have to rename the first one to something like IMG2, it appears you can delete the IMG folder and start over. Not sure if you can select multiple IMG files on the unit, such as IMG, IMG2 etc

Offline Rpadar

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Joined: Feb 2016
  • location: Canada
  • Posts: 31
  • Unit(s): 1198HD si Helix 10, helix 9, helix 10
  • Software: Always the newest
  • Accessories: Ethernet box, 360, I pilot link
Re: Satellite Imagery custom made on Onix and Helix Can be done!!!
« Reply #11 on: April 27, 2016, 01:00:38 PM »
Well I went and dropped the 270 bucks for the pro.  3 weeks after I purchased the regular version.   Image also spent a lot of time looking around to try and accomplish this.  I have bassically made zero ground. 

Offline Rpadar

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Joined: Feb 2016
  • location: Canada
  • Posts: 31
  • Unit(s): 1198HD si Helix 10, helix 9, helix 10
  • Software: Always the newest
  • Accessories: Ethernet box, 360, I pilot link
Re: Satellite Imagery custom made on Onix and Helix Can be done!!!
« Reply #12 on: April 27, 2016, 02:48:06 PM »
I have made my polygon and saved it.  The sas planet stumps me.  And the local humminbird reps have absolute zero information.   They don't know jack.  .  I've read the instructions about 30 times and they just don't make sense to me.  Not my forte.   Humminbird support wasn't much help. After a 20 min wait on hold she came back and told me side imaging mosaic doesn't require I cal file.   I hung up.   So if anyone would like help a dumb guy like me figure this out I'd really appreciate it.   
How large can the images be? As in miles would u have a separate image file for each lake. Can a image file be 400x400 miles and be zoomed in and look good?  It's all new.  And quite expensive considering my unfortunate results as of this point.   

Thanks in adnavce

Offline Bill H

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Joined: Jan 2014
  • location: Moses Lake, WA
  • Posts: 28
  • Unit(s): 998c HD SI Combo , Helix 9 SI
  • Software: 7.670
  • Accessories: None
Re: Satellite Imagery custom made on Onix and Helix Can be done!!!
« Reply #13 on: April 27, 2016, 04:59:27 PM »
When you open SAS Planet, Zoom down to the lake you would like to obtain the satellite image of. Then open the selection manager tool on the top left of menu items next to the cursor icon and select Rectangular selection, now make a rectangular box around the lake satellite image you want, I've found keeping it small (10miles square?) works better than trying to do 1/2 the state. Once you have your area selected, a Selection Manager window pops up, select the "Stitch" tab and change the output format to PNG, change your save to path to where you want the file saved; under MAP, i have selected Satellite (google Maps), overlay layer, I selected Google (Hybrid), then under PROJECTION: select "Geographic (Latitude/Longetude) / WGS84 / EPSG:4326 and the last thing is to check .kml file under Create georeferencing file. Now click the start button. After that is done, open Autochart Pro program, and be sure to have your zeroline card plugged in to your PC, then click on the Map menu item on the top bar and then select Create Lakemaster IMG Layer and it will prompt you for the file you saved from SAS Planet, click on that file and it will upload the the map card. I would start with a single lake first as your image file. I tried doing 4-5 lakes all at the same time and had problems with it finishing updating the zeroline card. As far as satellite image clarity, the clarity will be the image you created and as you zoom down, clarity will get more grainy and not as clear, i would assume to get very good clarity, you would have to use an image when your zoomed all the way in, it's just a picture your overlaying, not the actual satelite image that zooms better clarity each time like on google earth.

Hope this helps?

Offline Rpadar

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Joined: Feb 2016
  • location: Canada
  • Posts: 31
  • Unit(s): 1198HD si Helix 10, helix 9, helix 10
  • Software: Always the newest
  • Accessories: Ethernet box, 360, I pilot link
Re: Satellite Imagery custom made on Onix and Helix Can be done!!!
« Reply #14 on: April 27, 2016, 05:47:22 PM »
Left for work this evening.  Will try out ASAP. 
Thanks !

Offline Rpadar

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Joined: Feb 2016
  • location: Canada
  • Posts: 31
  • Unit(s): 1198HD si Helix 10, helix 9, helix 10
  • Software: Always the newest
  • Accessories: Ethernet box, 360, I pilot link
Re: Satellite Imagery custom made on Onix and Helix Can be done!!!
« Reply #15 on: April 28, 2016, 01:15:11 PM »
Success.  I was unable to see a point where u could name te files whatever I wanted.  Example LMLS. For last mountain lake south. Etc.  as I beleive if I have smaller areas I can reduce the pixelation when zoomed.   If anyone one has the answer to making the image larger as in more detail that would be nice. 
I must thank you Bill H.  Your instructions were excellent and there's no way I could have done it without them.  Next I'll be working on getting some paper maps I have uploaded

Offline Rpadar

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Joined: Feb 2016
  • location: Canada
  • Posts: 31
  • Unit(s): 1198HD si Helix 10, helix 9, helix 10
  • Software: Always the newest
  • Accessories: Ethernet box, 360, I pilot link
Re: Satellite Imagery custom made on Onix and Helix Can be done!!!
« Reply #16 on: April 28, 2016, 02:29:06 PM »
Yup.  Stuck. Autochart wants me to rename file as I can't overwrite or add to IMG.  But where do I do this.  How.

Offline lancepeterson

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Joined: Mar 2015
  • location: South Dakota
  • Posts: 23
  • Unit(s): 999ci HD SI
Re: Satellite Imagery custom made on Onix and Helix Can be done!!!
« Reply #17 on: April 28, 2016, 05:36:10 PM »
On the zero line card rename the IMG folder to IMG1, IMG2, IMG3, on and on. Not sure how many we can have.  You have to do this each time to add a new IMG layer.  On SAS Planet, adjust the zoom level on the stitch tab to get more detail.  I used SAS Planet a bit the other evening and not all of the zoom levels worked properly when I created my images.

Offline Bill H

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Joined: Jan 2014
  • location: Moses Lake, WA
  • Posts: 28
  • Unit(s): 998c HD SI Combo , Helix 9 SI
  • Software: 7.670
  • Accessories: None
Re: Satellite Imagery custom made on Onix and Helix Can be done!!!
« Reply #18 on: April 28, 2016, 06:43:56 PM »
I'm glad that helped you Rpadar, I'm still learning myself so hopefully we can put all our knowledge together and learn even more on this.

Offline lancepeterson

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Joined: Mar 2015
  • location: South Dakota
  • Posts: 23
  • Unit(s): 999ci HD SI
Re: Satellite Imagery custom made on Onix and Helix Can be done!!!
« Reply #19 on: May 03, 2016, 08:16:51 AM »
Got everything loaded on my 999.  Everything looks to be accurate but the quality of the image is not nearly what the source image I converted was.  Are you guys seeing that too?

Offline D S

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Joined: Jun 2011
  • location: saskatchewan canada
  • Posts: 200
  • Unit(s): 1198 ,798hd ,798csi ipilot link
  • Software: 7.5
  • Accessories: HDSI reefmaster Dr Depth autocharts pro
Re: Satellite Imagery custom made on Onix and Helix Can be done!!!
« Reply #20 on: May 03, 2016, 10:52:18 AM »
i think its 5 images we can use on AC will double check later
DS
stgr

Offline D S

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Joined: Jun 2011
  • location: saskatchewan canada
  • Posts: 200
  • Unit(s): 1198 ,798hd ,798csi ipilot link
  • Software: 7.5
  • Accessories: HDSI reefmaster Dr Depth autocharts pro
Re: Satellite Imagery custom made on Onix and Helix Can be done!!!
« Reply #21 on: May 03, 2016, 11:39:59 AM »
actually more ...
see from AC help file........
Note 1: You cannot add more data to an IMG layer in the same way you can add data to your 2D map (AC), or BT/SI layers. If you want to use more than one image layer, you can rename the folder name of the first IMG layer to IMG1, IMG2 or IMG3. You will still be able to select to display any one of them on your Humminbird unit. If you want to create more than four IMG layers you can also use unsued AC/BT/SI folder names, eg BT2.
DS
stgr

Offline allanrbaker

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Joined: Feb 2012
  • location: South Africa
  • Posts: 25
  • Unit(s): Onix 8 si Onix 8Combo
  • Software: 2.3
  • Accessories: 360 TM SM3000
Re: Satellite Imagery custom made on Onix and Helix Can be done!!!
« Reply #22 on: June 20, 2016, 07:13:35 AM »
Hi Guys Sorry I haven't been back on the forum for a while since i posted that video!! I see that most of the questions have been answered. The screen on the core units and Helix 5 and 7 don't have true color that's why they don't show up that great but on the units above the image is great.

Offline palbirds

  • My wife said she'll leave me if I go fishing, hell I''ll miss her
  • Newbie
  • *
  • Joined: Apr 2011
  • location: Secunda
  • Posts: 2
  • Unit(s): 797c2i SI Combo
Re: Satellite Imagery custom made on Onix and Helix Can be done!!!
« Reply #23 on: July 01, 2016, 12:48:52 AM »
Thanks work great.  I just had to download a newer version of the software.

Is there any limitation on chart/file size or amount of different  maps.  Also I had to change the IMG folder on the zero line card to IMG1 to load the second lake/map.  Will I be able to see all the dams on my Helix 9 without renaming the folders before every trip to get the correct dam.

Tx
Paul
M

Offline allanrbaker

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Joined: Feb 2012
  • location: South Africa
  • Posts: 25
  • Unit(s): Onix 8 si Onix 8Combo
  • Software: 2.3
  • Accessories: 360 TM SM3000
Re: Satellite Imagery custom made on Onix and Helix Can be done!!!
« Reply #24 on: August 07, 2016, 08:29:17 AM »
Hi Guys just some updates>>>>>>>
In The SAS software you can only make a map in Zoom level 19 if it is a small dam and Zoom level 18 with a larger dam??
The Zoom level 19 is really the one you want to use as it is much clearer than the Z18.

To DS can you elaborate on making multiple maps using the BT2 and other folders??



Allan

Offline D S

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Joined: Jun 2011
  • location: saskatchewan canada
  • Posts: 200
  • Unit(s): 1198 ,798hd ,798csi ipilot link
  • Software: 7.5
  • Accessories: HDSI reefmaster Dr Depth autocharts pro
Re: Satellite Imagery custom made on Onix and Helix Can be done!!!
« Reply #25 on: August 07, 2016, 05:54:43 PM »
I only have 4 on my unit  Irenamed IMG file
 but if u read the help file in autocharts pro.... it says u can rename BT and SI as well ....haven't actualy tried it myself yet
DS
stgr

Offline LittleGazoo

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Joined: Jan 2011
  • location: Big Sandy, TX
  • Posts: 211
  • Unit(s): 1197cSI, 998cSI
  • Software: 6.310, 6.490
  • Accessories: Ethernet, WeatherSense
Re: Satellite Imagery custom made on Onix and Helix Can be done!!!
« Reply #26 on: August 10, 2016, 12:07:54 AM »
Could someone post some screen-shots?  Can one do an entire lake or just a small area?

Offline gimez

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Joined: Dec 2014
  • location: Portugal
  • Posts: 20
  • Unit(s): matrix97 797
Re: Satellite Imagery custom made on Onix and Helix Can be done!!!
« Reply #27 on: November 30, 2016, 04:05:05 AM »
This is great! This will work on old units? like 899 or 859?

Offline Captain Cook

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Joined: Feb 2016
  • location: NQ
  • Posts: 3
  • Unit(s): Helix 10 SI Helix 12 SI
Re: Satellite Imagery custom made on Onix and Helix Can be done!!!
« Reply #28 on: April 19, 2017, 08:03:28 PM »
I have Autochart and have loaded a Satellite map using SAS planet Oziexplorer.map file, and works fine on Autochart but this is as far as I can get. How do i get in on the zreolines card / Helix unit?
Do I have to get the Pro version to make the image layer or is there a way to do this by creating a base map?

Offline allanrbaker

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Joined: Feb 2012
  • location: South Africa
  • Posts: 25
  • Unit(s): Onix 8 si Onix 8Combo
  • Software: 2.3
  • Accessories: 360 TM SM3000
Re: Satellite Imagery custom made on Onix and Helix Can be done!!!
« Reply #29 on: April 20, 2017, 01:16:02 AM »
Captain Hook
yes you do have to have the Pro version as that is the one that allows overlays only!!
I will be posting a video that allows you to make Google Earth History versions in the next few days
Allan

Offline jachristensen3

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Joined: Apr 2017
  • location: iowa
  • Posts: 1
  • Unit(s): onix10
  • Software: chartselect pro
Re: Satellite Imagery custom made on Onix and Helix Can be done!!!
« Reply #30 on: May 06, 2017, 05:01:02 PM »
Thanks ALLENRBAKER
Took me a couple trys but got it now even older sat pics at different pool levels!!!
Works great!!!


Share me

Digg  Facebook  SlashDot  Delicious  Technorati  Twitter  Google  Yahoo

 

Related Topics

  Subject / Started by Replies Last post
1 Replies
860 Views
Last post December 23, 2015, 01:54:27 PM
by rnvinc
6 Replies
1099 Views
Last post January 23, 2016, 04:57:34 AM
by N9Phil
3 Replies
1466 Views
Last post January 28, 2016, 08:26:38 AM
by Bob B
1 Replies
1209 Views
Last post February 15, 2016, 08:13:11 PM
by rnvinc
4 Replies
1252 Views
Last post February 22, 2016, 01:11:48 AM
by Bob B
1 Replies
666 Views
Last post March 07, 2016, 09:46:31 AM
by rnvinc
3 Replies
989 Views
Last post April 11, 2016, 07:35:39 PM
by rnvinc
1 Replies
333 Views
Last post August 16, 2017, 06:16:41 PM
by rnvinc


anything
SimplePortal 2.3.3 © 2008-2010, SimplePortal