Author Topic: 999 doesn't show bottom above 10 mph  (Read 905 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline brents89

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Joined: Dec 2016
  • location: Ontario, Canada
  • Posts: 2
  • Unit(s): 999
999 doesn't show bottom above 10 mph
« on: December 04, 2016, 05:10:28 PM »
I have just bought a boat with the 999 ci HD SI unit installed. I noticed that when I would go over about 8 mph the unit would lose the bottom. I was told it needed a second transducer to work at higher speeds so I had one installed. It was a little better, but still lose bottom after about 10 mph. SI, DI and 2d all seem very good at trolling speeds up to approx. 5 mph, but then deteriorate as speed increases.  I was told the transducer may need to be adjusted, but any additional thoughts would be appreciated.
Thanks


Offline Bob B

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Joined: Oct 2010
  • location: Creve Coeur, Il
  • Posts: 1547
  • Unit(s): 1197c si, 1198c si
  • Software: 6.310, 6.490
Re: 999 doesn't show bottom above 10 mph
« Reply #1 on: December 04, 2016, 06:43:37 PM »
What boat do you have .... pictures of the transom from various angle will help.

The transducer has to be located where it will have smooth water flow without bubbles .... sonar won't shoo thru the air in the bubbles.
**Looking for the one that makes it all worthwhile**

Offline newkid4si

  • Charter Member
  • *
  • Joined: Mar 2010
  • location: Meadville PA. 16335
  • Posts: 778
  • Unit(s): 998c si
  • Software: v 5.70
Re: 999 doesn't show bottom above 10 mph
« Reply #2 on: December 06, 2016, 12:42:14 PM »
Are you still viewing the SI or DI page at the higher speed when you lose bottom readings?   If so, switch to the 2D page and see if the bottom reading is still shown.  If the 2D isn't shown, a 
transducer adjustment is needed. The SI and DI are not designed to work at high speeds and those speeds are about when you stop seeing the images.


           Mike

Offline brents89

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Joined: Dec 2016
  • location: Ontario, Canada
  • Posts: 2
  • Unit(s): 999
Re: 999 doesn't show bottom above 10 mph
« Reply #3 on: December 06, 2016, 05:26:34 PM »
Sorry i didn't specify but the picture was taken with 2D on. I took another look at the transducer and believe that the back may need to be adjusted down one notch. As the snow is starting to fly, I think this won't get tested until next spring. Thanks for the replys.

Offline rnvinc

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Joined: Nov 2009
  • location: Western KY
  • Posts: 3131
  • Unit(s): 1197c SI Combo, Onix 8ci SI Combo
  • Software: Dependent on whim
  • Accessories: AS GRHA, AS GPS HS, LowBird LSS 1 & 2
Re: 999 doesn't show bottom above 10 mph
« Reply #4 on: December 06, 2016, 09:43:43 PM »
A transom mount xducer should be mounted as indicated in the diagram below ...


Rickie

Offline newkid4si

  • Charter Member
  • *
  • Joined: Mar 2010
  • location: Meadville PA. 16335
  • Posts: 778
  • Unit(s): 998c si
  • Software: v 5.70
Re: 999 doesn't show bottom above 10 mph
« Reply #5 on: December 09, 2016, 10:14:53 PM »
I would add that after leveling the bracket as in Rickie's illustration, I have found that my high speed images (2D) improve with the rear of the transducer slightly lower that the front edge.

         Mike


Share me

Digg  Facebook  SlashDot  Delicious  Technorati  Twitter  Google  Yahoo

 

Related Topics

  Subject / Started by Replies Last post
3 Replies
1774 Views
Last post May 29, 2009, 07:10:31 AM
by Humminbird_Greg
3 Replies
1461 Views
Last post July 26, 2017, 09:16:41 PM
by JOHN CASTELLUCCIO
1 Replies
951 Views
Last post September 22, 2012, 04:33:13 AM
by George
3 Replies
1436 Views
Last post January 07, 2014, 07:28:27 AM
by vik33
2 Replies
847 Views
Last post May 17, 2014, 04:59:42 PM
by sfw1960
4 Replies
1853 Views
Last post July 18, 2014, 06:10:12 PM
by nt slam
4 Replies
382 Views
Last post July 07, 2017, 09:00:00 PM
by rnvinc
6 Replies
588 Views
Last post July 24, 2017, 04:53:52 PM
by TnTaz


anything
SimplePortal 2.3.3 © 2008-2010, SimplePortal